2nd March 2011 03:30 PM
3rd March 2011, 03:45 AM

V_S
Listening to Zubeida - Wonderful tracks from Rahman.
Dheeme Dheeme Gaon - Flute delight - Stunning song!. The beauty of this song lies in keeping the melody line tight with precision. I love the tune. Starts slowly. This song gives me a feeling like travelling in a train non-stop dissolving into that rhythm with that occasional flute acting as a siren. The magical flute especially in the interlude is very captivating. Kavitha at her best. Best time to hear this song is at night.
Mehndi Hai Rachne Wali - Beautiful song! The way Rahman starts this song is amazing!. How the starting synth bass rhythm changes to percussion based rhythm when 'oh hariyaali' is sung by Alka, Wow! That shenai piece is very seducing. I thought this song is a joyous moment of bride getting prepared for marriage (but only before watching the video,

they could have picturized it better). Piano in the second interlude is suprising for this song. The last piece on piano which races with the percussion which is the ultimate. Shenai adds as a great ornament to this song.
Chhodo more baiyyan - Excellent classical song with the sarangi. Classical songs are always special. Is it Darbari? Beautifully sung by Richa Sharma.
Need to catch up with other tracks once I get out of above songs, especially that haunting orchestration in 'So Gaye Hain'
I’ve been wanting to write about this song for time now and only now have found the opportunity and reasoning.
This song is about an individual who feels they’ve forgotten how to fall in love and so set on journey hoping to resurrect their lost love feelings.
So gaye hain - A song that has a very lonely feel to it. Songs like this are very emotional and I think very hard to convey through music, however no one could of depicted those emotions better than Lata ji. It is indeed a very wise choice by Rahman ji for opting for Lata ji.
After Lata ji ARR has only given importance to the oboe, choral humming and strings. I would like to say that the oboe just penetrates right through the heart and mind of the listener. The simple arrangement of this song is what grabs my inner sentiments. Indeed a very haunting piece. In addition to the former instruments ARR has also used dulcimer, taiko, cello and ghatam. IMO The taiko is the best instrument at replicating a heartbeat. I believe the ghatam was inserted experimentally and not intentionally. But as it brought a fresh air of rural India, I guess thalaivar proceeded with it anyway, though he has only used it fractionally as it would of changed the real tone and essence of the song
Part 2 of the song has a slight higher tempo. The strings are not present in the prelude. But that haunting humming is present. When the strings join the chorus, they merge in to the interlude which I would put in my top favourite ARR interludes. Part two also sees employment of the piano. You get a choir singing the chorus and the song gains momentum.
The progression of sounds from the light oboe to the culmination of various beats is the most laudable musical progression pieces of all time.
Sunil
3rd March 2011, 08:56 AM
Yes Sunil, So gaye hain and part2 are haunting ones! Wonderfully put!
3rd March 2011, 12:11 PM

I’ve been wanting to write about this song for time now and only now have found the opportunity and reasoning.
This song is about an individual who feels they’ve forgotten how to fall in love and so set on journey hoping to resurrect their lost love feelings.
So gaye hain - A song that has a very lonely feel to it. Songs like this are very emotional and I think very hard to convey through music, however no one could of depicted those emotions better than Lata ji. It is indeed a very wise choice by Rahman ji for opting for Lata ji.
After Lata ji ARR has only given importance to the oboe, choral humming and strings. I would like to say that the oboe just penetrates right through the heart and mind of the listener. The simple arrangement of this song is what grabs my inner sentiments. Indeed a very haunting piece. In addition to the former instruments ARR has also used dulcimer, taiko, cello and ghatam. IMO The taiko is the best instrument at replicating a heartbeat. I believe the ghatam was inserted experimentally and not intentionally. But as it brought a fresh air of rural India, I guess thalaivar proceeded with it anyway, though he has only used it fractionally as it would of changed the real tone and essence of the song
Part 2 of the song has a slight higher tempo. The strings are not present in the prelude. But that haunting humming is present. When the strings join the chorus, they merge in to the interlude which I would put in my top favourite ARR interludes. Part two also sees employment of the piano. You get a choir singing the chorus and the song gains momentum.
The progression of sounds from the light oboe to the culmination of various beats is the most laudable musical progression pieces of all time.
Sunil
:O
A very informative post !
4th March 2011, 12:36 AM

Rahmanji,
All that we fans want from you is one song like
every year..
The list would be enormous. But sincerely I have been longing for a song like Udhaya Udhaya Ularugiren. Hope ARR recreates that magic sometime in near future.
4th March 2011, 01:14 AM

Rahmanji,
All that we fans want from you is one song like
every year..
That's a super song!
BTW did anyone notice the first comment in the video and what is @2:50. I could not stop
. How did they shoot like this, was it intentional? But it looked oversight to me.
4th March 2011, 03:28 AM

V_S
That's a super song!
BTW did anyone notice the first comment in the video and what is @2:50. I could not stop

. How did they shoot like this, was it intentional? But it looked oversight to me.

That dude who spotted it should work for the CIA, he's got excellent observation skills! 
I won't be able to watch this song seriously ever again when that bit comes up.
4th March 2011, 08:55 AM

Theeyil vizhuntha thena....underrated gem of ARR....more than music the soulfull rendition of ARR is in perfect sync with lyrics
parthy...epidi?
i was going to post abt this song...what a song...most underrated..one of the best of AR..pullarikum..haunting tune..amazing singing
5th March 2011, 12:51 AM
Devoted Hubber
We will be talking about Aromale from VV for years to come.. Rahman should incorporate that song into the next Hollywood movie, i guarantee an Oscar for that.. have not heard such serene/diving music...
6th March 2011, 09:50 AM
Narumugaye Narumugaye - Top class composition from ARR.
ARR's best I would say.
Unni Krishnan and Bombay Jayashree singing, heavenly.
The picturisation by MR is beautiful. B&W shots for Madhubala and Color shots for Aishwarya. Beautiful locations, and foggy background makes it one of Best of MR as well. Vairamuthu's lyrics makes this song a complete one. Excellently written.
Top class stuff! I need more such classical songs from ARR. We can forget ourselves.