Page 23 of 127 FirstFirst ... 1321222324253373123 ... LastLast

Thread: ~~ Gadgets - Performance, Looks, Apps, Hottest Models ~~

How Many devices does Smartphones & Tablets Replace?

Phones and tablets will take over from single-purpose gadgets, iSuppli says

Who wants to buy a PMP (portable media player), PND (portable navigation device), or digital camera when their smartphone can already handle all those functions? Fewer and fewer people, according to findings released July 28 by research firm IHS iSuppli.

The notion that smartphones and tablets are taking over from more specialized pieces of portable equipment might seem obvious to longtime LinuxDevices.com readers, who have seen what was once a flood of PMPs and PNDs get reduced to a mere trickle. But it actually runs counter to another recent trend in which tasks that once required a PC -- serving up web pages, playing Internet radio, or streaming Netflix video, for example -- have been taken over by embedded devices.

"The success of multipurpose electronic equipment, often coming at the expense of devices dedicated to a single task, is reshaping the landscape of the consumer electronics industry, says Jordan Selburn, principal analyst, consumer platforms, for IHS.

"For example, the once-ultra-hot MP3 player market has commenced an irreversible decline, not because consumers are no longer interested in music, but because other systems, primarily smartphones like the iPhone, also include audio functionality as part of a much broader suite of features," Selburn adds.

According to iSuppli, shipments of smartphones and media tablets will rise at compound annual growth rates (CAGRs) of 28.5 percent and 72.1 percent, respectively, for the years 2010 to 2015. In contrast, shipments of PNDs, PMPs, and DSCs (digital still cameras) will either decline or remain flat during the same period of time, the firm adds.

"Media tablets, predominantly the Apple iPad at present, are truly a jack of all trades -- and master of most," Selburn said. Although not directly acting as a replacement for pocket-sized equipment, the tablet will increasingly play more roles for consumers, acting as an e-book reader, media player, browser, calendar, alarm clock, gaming platform, GPS, and camera all in one box, he added.

Ironically, the programmable, versatile desktop PC was responsible for marginalizing any number of special-purpose devices, including typewriters, dedicated word processors, and electronic calculators. Now, smartphones and tablets -- which are merely very portable PCs, after all -- are causing yet another round of disruption.

When's the last time you saw someone wearing a wrist watch for any reason other than fashion?

Last edited by sakaLAKALAKAlaa Vallavar; 31st July 2011 at 05:57 PM.

Excellent funny article about e-readers, e-book scenario! - http://solvanam.com/?p=16136

Follow the author Ravi Natarajan to read his other superb articles! He also writes and runs http://geniusraja.blogspot.com/

Senior Member Veteran Hubber 19thmay's Avatar

Senior Member Diamond Hubber ajaybaskar's Avatar
    Sri,

ngpay and bookmyshow have android applications which are cool. Newshunt gives access to Dinamalar mobile paper. U can also download zedge for ringtones and wall papers.
    I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.

- Bernard Shaw

Senior Member Veteran Hubber 19thmay's Avatar
    Oh ok thanks Ajay. Let me try.

Btw bought HTC Wilfdire two months ago, slowly am falling in love with my mobile...ultimate Android rocks!

Nokia market out pola?

Senior Member Diamond Hubber ajaybaskar's Avatar
    Yes.. Apple first. Samsung second. Nokia pushed to 3rd.
    I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.

- Bernard Shaw

Quote Originally Posted by 19thmay View Post
    Can some one let me know more and useful apps for Android?
    Hi, this is the list of apps installed on my phone right now!
    http://www.appbrain.com/user/vijeeth

appbrain is an excellent app to backup, share ur apps. there are many other useful funtions too. i recommend all Android users this app

btw, what kind of app u want? games/productivity/fun/student-app/music etc?!?

Android pushes Apple iPhone to 3rd Place!

The above figure for iOS includes both iPhone (3 & 4) and iPad (1 & 2).

Android figure includes the phone and tablet. If you count the unofficial china tablets then the figure will triple!

Android Rocks!!!
    Last edited by sakaLAKALAKAlaa Vallavar; 12th August 2011 at 02:21 AM.

Solar powered $72 tablet PC from Bharat Electronics Ltd
    BANGALORE: Defence focused electronics company Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL) is expanding its non-defence or civilian businesses. The PSU major, which is the leading supplier of radar, communication and electronic warfare equipments to the armed forces, is foraying into areas like tablet PCs and solar energy .

Over the last four-five months BEL's central research lab designed a basic tablet PC costing $72 that will be used by the rural development ministry to conduct a census study on people below the poverty line. A consortium consisting of BEL, Electronics Corporation of India and Industrial Training Institute will conduct the study.

The tablet is powered by Android version 2.2, and runs on a solar battery. Data can be stored and uploaded to a central server in real time. It can also be used as an e- reader. BEL has received orders for 6 lakh of these tablet PC units valued at Rs 250 crore, which it will deliver by November. BEL CMD Ashwani Kumar Datt said that the human resources ministry has also expressed interest in the tablet; the ministry's idea is to make available low-cost PCs to boost education in lower-income areas.