Page 240 of 400 FirstFirst ... 140190230238239240241242250290340 ... LastLast
Results 2,391 to 2,400 of 3993

Thread: The Golden Era of Dr.IR and Dr.SPB

Senior Member Senior Hubber
    V_S ji
    Speechless after reading your post on Ada Machamulla .
    You just keep getting better and better
    Youve added some masala too with an Erotic touch
    Really liked your division of the song into the categories Dance and Drama , Poetry and Sex and Finally Music
    Keep up the brilliant work.

I really liked the way you ended
    "If Visual forms like Dance, Film, Drama, Painting, Sculpting etc invoking visual imagination in us is such a great thing, a non-visual form like Music, especially Maestro's music invoking visual imagination in us is not a superior form of creative art?
    How very true , this is one song (and there are many others too) which makes you admire Music and the creativity behind such a hallmark composition.

Going to the song , this was one number i didnt hear till too long ago and it got my pulse racing when i listened to it.
    This is a song which has everything you want - The Bass lines , Counterpoints between melody and bass and also melody and melody and also Harmony with the Trumpets playing over 2 octaves , absolutely jaw dropping singing by SPB and S Janaki , to add to the magic TVG pitches in with some Nadhruthaana humming and elevating the song to another level.
    Also the song follows Adi Thalam , but there seems to be an Anaagatha Eduppu (the Pallavi Ada Machamulla starting after the beat). Its just half a beat difference and evalo assault a SPB and S Janaki pick that part and manage the challenge . And i also think there is a minor rhythm change only in the Charanam with the notes playing Ni Sa Ni Sa Ni Sa Ri Ma Ri Sa Ni ~ moving from Chatushram to Tisram just for a brief while and then its back to trademark Adi Thalam.
    A Keeravani Spectacle
    You just cannot but admire this song .

Man of the Match to V_S for decoding this landmark composition.
    Take a bow
    Last edited by skr; 1st December 2011 at 06:35 PM.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber V_S's Avatar
    Thanks a lot skr for your superb comments.

Quote Originally Posted by skr View Post
    Going to the song , this was one number i didnt hear till too long ago and it got my pulse racing when i listened to it.
    This is a song which has everything you want - The Bass lines , Counterpoints between melody and bass and also melody and melody and also Harmony with the Trumpets playing over 2 octaves , absolutely jaw dropping singing by SPB and S Janaki , to add to the magic TVG pitches in with some Nadhruthaana humming and elevating the song to another level.
    Also the song follows Adi Thalam , but there seems to be an Anaagatha Eduppu (the Pallavi Ada Machamulla starting after the beat). Its just half a beat difference and evalo assault a SPB and S Janaki pick that part and manage the challenge . And i also think there is a minor rhythm change only in the Charanam with the notes playing Ni Sa Ni Sa Ni Sa Ri Ma Ri Sa Ni ~ moving from Chatushram to Tisram just for a brief while and then its back to trademark Adi Thalam.
    A Keeravani Spectacle
    You just cannot but admire this song .
    This is why I am reiterating, you should write more. Amazing insights on the taalam aspect! Please keep pouring!!

Senior Member Platinum Hubber
    Awesome post, V_S-ji!

ungaL paNi thodarattum!

adikkadi inimEl ungaLukku vENdukOLkaL varum

Nice insight to thALam, skr!

Quote Originally Posted by groucho070 View Post
    My fav of the album
    That's quite interesting.

neenga melody-priyar enRu thOnRukiRathu

#215 நான் பாடும் மௌன ராகம் கேட்கவில்லையா?
    (இதயக்கோயில், 1985 )

The sOgam pizhiyum song, the last one getting posted from IK on this thread as we close out the year 1985 for this glorious IR-SPB combo.

Another year with 38 hit songs - thus equalling the top spot held by the year 1983 so far. (1985 had 178th to 215th #s in this series that had a couple of days break for the demise of Mrs Ilayaraja and a longer break for the hub-hack but otherwise running a number daily).

A song of melancholy with a fantastic first interlude that can pizhinjify the hearts of even kal-nenju people. SPB singing with very appropriate, adakki vAsikkum emotions with hardly any dramatism. Whenever such controlled emotion is deployed, it keeps doing something to the heart. That is, it keeps one depressed for a longer duration because of the 'inam puriyAtha sOga uNarvukaL'. Best song to listen during night times (the prelude possibly got an "extended play" version in NBW). The oxymoron term that occurs in the first line of the pallavi is possibly an inspiration from a whole bunch of such usage in the 80's by people like KBR-TR, especially w.r.t. the luvvu thingy. (oru kai Osai, suvar illAtha siththirangaL, mouna geethangaL, kuzhandhai pAdum thAlAttu, iravu nEra bhoopALam, mErkil thOnRum udhayam, nadhi illAtha Odam).

Interestingly, the term was so catchy that the director chose that as the name of his next movie - a historic success and a critically acclaimed one - which repeated the SPB-IR-Mohan-MR combo. (We'll probably begin the year 1986 with that one )

The azhudhu vadiyum sOgam brings back the memory of 110V bulbs that had to be used in Palakkad those days. (The regulation was so poor, so many old transformers, tube-light won't start until midnight etc...for brightness's sake people used 110V bulbs even though the "rated" line voltage was 230V Interestingly, the voltage was so reliably low that blowing-off of 110V bulbs wasn't so frequent.)

In addition, there were power-cuts too and one incident quickly comes to mind.

When the Palakkad company did campus interview, 10 of us got selected and at least 6 of us joined. One was commuting from Cbe, me from TN-Kerala border and the rest wanted to rent a house in Pkd. The personnel department frightened them that 'nobody will rent house for bachelors' (nonsense, there were simply too many renters willing to give, as we found out much later) and pushed them into "monthly rental hotels". It was so difficult to get good rooms in that small, dull, dark, 110V, 9 PM sleeping town - but they managed to get one room that could take all of them in. ("Babu lodge").

One evening I too went with them to town, had tiffin in the HariharaputhrA hotel near private bus stand (the only place where one could get TN-like sambAr for dOsai those days) and thought of spending some time in their room / possibly going to a movie. Well, the room was as such dark (despite a gundu bulb), I was tired / sleepy / gloomy but both the twin beds had others sitting on them.

Then there was power cut and one fellow got up from the cot. I did a foolish thing then, dived to the bed Alas, where I expected the pillow to be, there was this dark edge of the wooden cot. Sharp cut so close to the right eye, just below the eyebrow and I was bleeding profusely. Following some chaotic moments, I was in the auto to Kerala Nursing home and moments later in the room to get repaired. (I froze when one of the nurses shouted to another 'is that small needle not around?')

Well, for a few days I had that big bandage close to right eye and caught the attention of every girl in the factory who said 'tsO-tsO'

Senior Member Veteran Hubber baroque's Avatar
    sorry, app_eng for your eye injury, padikkum podhey bhayamaa erundhadhu.

ketteengala, IR vin manadhai uruga vaikkum sogap paadal.

haunting flute and grieving singular violin with strings counterpoint, Vairamuthuvin varigal, Bala's soulful singing... my favorite!

vinatha

Senior Member Devoted Hubber genesis's Avatar
    80களில் இப்படி இருந்த காதல் சோகம்/தோல்வி , இன்று "கொலைவெறி" யில் வந்து நிற்கிறது.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber V_S's Avatar
    Thankyou very much App sir for your nice appreciation. You are most welcome, anytime.

As vinatha mentioned, I could feel, how much pain you would be in that time.
    Very nice observation on MR using the title for his next film from this song. Very nice and even tempo for such a sad song. The starting echoing flute still echoes in my mind along with that birds chirping sounds. These are the songs, me and our friends were mad to sing like SPB and not even 1% of that depth/soul we can meet, what that legend has given. The way he sings 'vanthu povathundu' in second charanam, is just top class. Second interlude flute is more light with breezy guitar and high flute. Both the interludes are exquisite portions of the song!

Manathai uruga vaikkum soga geetham. the exact reason I always tend to skip this song frm listening, kekkum pothe manasukulle appadi ore sogam varum, kal manasaiyum karaiya vaikkum... orutharoda vaazhkai thunaiye izhanthu nikkarappo vara koodiya tanimai unarvaiyum, valiyaiyum romba azhagaa kuduthurukange.

The way the song has been orchestrated , and the way SPB sung it.

Senior Member Diamond Hubber groucho070's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by al_gates View Post
    Groucho Sir, I am wondering what team is this and why is this not 1992(when Malaysia won the Thomas Cup. Or are you referring to 86 Merdeka Cup? )
    Just saw this, sorry for late response. I was referring to the world cup and my favourite team.
    " நல்ல படம் , சுமாரான படம் என்பதையெல்லாம் தாண்டியவர் நடிகர் திலகம் . சிவாஜி படம் தோற்கலாம் ..சிவாஜி தோற்பதில்லை." - Joe Milton.