7th March 2012, 06:53 AM
Landmarks in Chennai disappear--Star Talkies in Triplicane
The Hindu article says that Star Talkies in Triplicane is set to be demolished. The article also says that Madhumati ran for 50 weeks and Yaadon ki Baarat ran for 100 weeks in that theatre.
http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper...cle2965317.ece
I think I posted a song from Madhumati. Here is a song from Yaadon Ki Baaraat(1973)
I understand that the movie was remade in Hindi,Tamil and Telugu. Here are the songs from the remakes:
I chose this song (old version) because of the dress worn by the kids. It brought back memories of Deepavali as a kid. You notice that the kids are wearing similar shirts and trousers. That was what we had. My father used to get yards of cloth a couple of weeks before Deepavali. The next day a tailor would show up at our home to take measurements for all of us brothers. A few days later the tailor would deliver the shirts and half trousers and collect his charges. On Deepavali day we would appear in similar clothing!
A yard cost between one and a half rupees to two rupees depending on whether it was Binny Mill or a mill from Bombay state.
Same thing happened with haircuts. On a Sunday a barber would show up and give haircuts for all of us starting with my father! 
It is sad to see landmarks disappear. In Bangalore I used to frequent Opera Theatre for English movies. Now it is a shopping centre!
" I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.
7th March 2012 06:53 AM
7th March 2012, 09:09 AM
I can't forget Bol re pappi, as my niece won first prize singing this song. Ultimate and one of the best by Vani Jayaram. Thanks sir for raaga info, but surprise to hear the raaga name, 'Miyan ki Malhar'. Ippadi oru raagamA? 
Nice to read your dress memories with appropriate Yaadon Ki Baarat song. I too had similar experience during many festival seasons, wearing similar dresses. Hilarious to hear the haircut sessions. Yes, I too remember this. But we had much bigger line as we lived together. It will start with my grandfather, his three sons (including my father), my brother and cousin.
Thanks, you brought back all good memories through your posts and songs. 
Regarding Yaadon Ki Baarat song, I feel happy that Thamizh version did not copy the hindi version, like the telugu version did. MSV changed it significantly and localized it perfectly.
7th March 2012, 09:19 AM
Another of my very favorite of Kishore Kumar ji and R D Burman ji, Raat kali Ek Khwab Mein Aayi from the film Buddha mil gaya (1971). I really love the dialogue between Naveen Nischol and Archana.
What a voice and singing! Very seducing!!
This version does not have the dialogue but we have the visuals.
7th March 2012, 10:50 AM
raj and vs
for yaadon ki baarat, raat kali ek kwaab
//On Deepavali day we would appear in similar clothing! A yard cost between one and a half rupees to two rupees depending on whether it was Binny Mill or a mill from Bombay state.
Same thing happened with haircuts. On a Sunday a barber would show up and give haircuts for all of us starting with my father!
It is sad to see landmarks disappear. In Bangalore I used to frequent Opera Theatre for English movies. Now it is a shopping centre! //
7th March 2012, 10:50 AM
I like yaadon ki baarat than, "naaLai namathe"
somehting abotu yaadon ki baarat is more........ realistic.
rdb, never fails to impress me.
Last edited by Shakthiprabha; 7th March 2012 at 10:54 AM.
7th March 2012, 10:28 PM
You are welcome SP.
Yes, original is always the best. RDB is a magician, added with Kishore ji voice, nothing like that. Listening to 'Oh Majhi re'. Best song in any angle, be the lyrics (by Gulzar), voice, tune, pain, visuals; fanastic! The pain in Kishore ji voice gets a lump in my throat. Wonderful Composition!
8th March 2012, 02:43 AM
R.I.P Ravi Sharma Ji!
One of my personal favourites is Chalo Ek Baar Phir Se from Gumrah (1963) http://youtube.com/watch?v=cE5q9kst-Zc
8th March 2012, 05:32 AM
A sad day indeed, for all music lovers. Here is another classic from Ravi Ji:
Asha Bhosle singing "tora mann darpan kehlaaye..."
From KAAJAL (1965)
8th March 2012, 06:20 AM
Oh No! Can't believe, Ravi ji is not with us. No one can forget this song, 'Chaudhvin Ka Chand' whenever we think of Ravi ji. May his soul rest in peace. 
9th March 2012, 10:45 AM
sad indeed!
pahadi composition from Neel Kamal.
Swing composition from China town......baar baar....Rafi
a comedy, wacky song from dilli ka thug.
Waltz romance from the same movie
sajna saath nibhana....early Asha with Rafi-pathos part.
children song from the composer, Lataji's wonderful composition.
vinatha.
Last edited by baroque; 9th March 2012 at 11:38 AM.