21st August 2012, 05:35 PM
Devoted Hubber

oh got it... so the hindi satellite rights alone for 18 crores??

The advertising rate for 10 seconds in sony channel is 2 lakhs. Considering 60 minutes of advertisements will be aired during the telecast of movie, the revenue accounts to be 7.2 crores. So when they telecast the movie for 2 times, they can get their investment back....
Know something about everything and go deeper in one thing
21st August 2012 05:35 PM
21st August 2012, 05:43 PM

oh got it... so the hindi satellite rights alone for 18 crores??

rendu padamE indha kaasula edutthudalAmE...
" The real triumph in life is not in never getting knocked down, but in getting back up everytime it happens".
21st August 2012, 07:23 PM
When he is talking generically, how you decide the 18C sat.rights only for hindi? considering the total theatrical collection of hindi endhiran itself is 10C(thats a record for TFM, athu vera vishayam) appo regular hindi movies sat.rights mattume oru 40C kku sale pannuvaangaLaa?!?
I guess he is saying the hindi + telugu + tamil(estimated, becos its not sold!)
21st August 2012, 07:25 PM
DVD rights 5.5C, just thinking, how they(the DVD sellers) will take this investment out, leave profits, interests, other costs.
21st August 2012, 07:58 PM
sakala...

easygoer
Saxena opens up about Robot-Hindi collections...
Theathrical collection-42 crores
u mean, he did not mean this and easygoer has interpreted it wrong?
i did not watch the video yet...
21st August 2012, 09:22 PM
i didn't post anything abt the overall Theatrical collections. But i took the 10C figure which was said as hindi enthiran's Collections. I am not sure this 10C is collections or net or profit
21st August 2012, 10:12 PM
Devoted Hubber
Saxena talks about how good he was at marketing and the revenue he generated for the movie. How he can market his product to his own company?Some 2nd party should be involved. so definitely it should be hindi satellite rights alone...
40c worth satellite rights for bollywood movies is quite possible. The advertising cost would go upto Rs.500000/10 sec during peak hours. If the movie has got good recall value, sure they can make good profits...
21st August 2012, 10:17 PM
Devoted Hubber

DVD rights 5.5C, just thinking, how they(the DVD sellers) will take this investment out, leave profits, interests, other costs.
I use to have the some doubt on music companies too. Today how many are buying music cd's? 95% are just downloading. Once a music company buy rights, they have to do promotional activities and inspite of that how they are making profits and surviving? I have been searching for the revenue models of these companies for a long time but couldn't find any stuff...
Last edited by easygoer; 21st August 2012 at 10:21 PM.
21st August 2012, 10:18 PM
Rather than going into details, I was very surprised by endhiran's performance in north hindies. Because north hindies bash superstar all the time. Endhiran is by far the best performance of superstar in this alien territory.
22nd August 2012, 04:16 AM

easygoer
I use to have the some doubt on music companies too. Today how many are buying music cd's? 95% are just downloading. Once a music company buy rights, they have to do promotional activities and inspite of that how they are making profits and surviving? I have been searching for the revenue models of these companies for a long time but couldn't find any stuff...
I don't know about Audio CD sales but If you think it as Audio rights then there are many ways to make money. I am not getting into the details but with Audio, either the MD or Producer or the company which buys rights has many ways to make money. Sites like thiraipaadal.com streams audio(won't allow download, but only listen online) and they don't have any ADs so there is no revenue for them.But Raaga.com which does similar thing is ad supported site and thus there is revenue model which they could share with MD/Producer/Audio Rights owner. Same goes to many websites like saavn.com, and FM channels, Music channels in TV and very imp, mobile ringtones.
James Vasanthan sold his kangal irandaal mobile ringtone rights for just 5 lakhs but the mobile co's made many lakhs/crores profit out of that and he felt he missed the chance! Like wise, Audio has multiple channels and more/quick money to make, than DVD rights. How many buy blu ray discs and that too, there you need some investment in preparing that high quality disc whereas audio, the source material is already there and with slight modifications, its ready for doing business in multiple methods. Audio CDs is just one among them.