17th November 2012, 02:11 AM
Thuppaki Movie Review in The Times of India
It is also good that filmmakers are dedicating movies to the army men(and also their families), but it would be even better if they move beyond tokenism, do their research properly and don't port...ray members of the armed forces as caricatures. Most Hollywood films hire military experts to get their act right, but obviously none was on board for this film. And so, there are bloopers galore, the best example being the interactions between Vijay and his senior, played by Jayaram. A little more attention to detail and a little research could have helped avoid such mistakes, which are jarring in a movie by such a senior director.
But if you are ready to ignore goofs like these and some gaps in logic, the movie is an enjoyable watch because of Vijay's powerhouse performance. The movie has already taken a stupendous opening, and is the next in his ever growing list of hits after 'Kaavalan', 'Velayutham' and 'Nanban'. He dances like a dream in song sequences (watch out for 'Google, Google') and packs quite a punch in action sequences. There is a quiet confidence in the way he delivers his dialogues and in the way he carries himself throughout the movie.
The other strong point of the movie is the screenplay by Murugadoss and the tight editing by Sreekar Prasad. Not for one minute do they allow the movie to sag nor do they allow any dull scenes to impede its flow. And with the superb work behind the camera by Santosh Sivan, the audience will find it difficult to move their eyes away from the screen.
Kajal Agarwal has a light role and makes the best use of it. Her chemistry with Vijay in the comic sequences adds to the fun component of the movie.
The ending of the movie has been left open, and it may have been intentional with Murugadoss eyeing a sequel. That may or may not be so, but one thing is sure: 'Thuppakki' will definitely be picked up by a big Bollywood star for a remake. For, the gun was bang on target.
SOURCE : http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/e...w/17225166.cms
17th November 2012 02:11 AM
17th November 2012, 04:12 AM
Devoted Hubber

Selva, I have also planned for tomorrow 3 30 show. PMed my number. Call me when you reach the theater

Vinod,
I have PMed my mobile number.
Is it possible for u to come for 1:20 show. Because we have to drive back 2 hrs. If not possible, we will surely meet there 
-Selva
Love & Love Only
-Selvakumar M.
17th November 2012, 05:34 AM
Senior Hubber
Just came back from the movie. All I can say is
and
What a flick. Can't believe 3 hours passed by so fast. The movie and vijay both were stylish and smart. It did not treat the audience as stupid. The villain was really smart. That made him even more dangerous. There were quiet a few scenes with the villain I was thankful for. Kudos for keeping the villain intelligent and not your average baddie.
I am also a muslim, I did not find anything that was offensive in that movie. They did not even say they were muslims. You only know that by their names. I dont know what their problem is.
It is difficult to say what is impossible, for the dream of yesterday is the hope of today and the reality of tomorrow.
- Robert H. Goddard
17th November 2012, 06:35 AM

Exactly. Climax hindi dialogue pesumbothu yenthirichi ninnu kai thattalamnu irunthuchu. People who tried to mock Vijay when he speaks hindi for the first time in Thuppaki got back "better luck next time".
absolutely right..
/Sunoo... Thumara Maalik ne Mujhehaath Baandh ke Maara. Kholne ko boloon tho Soch Rahe hai..Thune Mera Haath Thoda Aurr Thera Saath Ithney Loag Hain Phir Bhi Tho Darrrr Raha Hainahhh.. ANDHA BAYAM IRUKANUM DAAAAAAAAA! 8)
In Tamil: Kelunga Da, Unga Thalaivan Ena Kati Potu Adichan,Avuthu vida Sona yosikrann, Ne En Kai ah Odaicha,Un Kuda Ithana Peru Irukanga Analum Ne Bayapadra!
ANDHA BAYAM IRUKANUM DAAAAAAAAA! 8)
17th November 2012, 07:02 AM

Exactly. Climax hindi dialogue pesumbothu yenthirichi ninnu kai thattalamnu irunthuchu. People who tried to mock Vijay when he speaks hindi for the first time in Thuppaki got back "better luck next time".
Heloo, anban vantharaporaru
neenga droghi-nu sollaporaru
Usurae Poguthey Usurae Poguthey..Othada Nee Konjam Suzhikayila
17th November 2012, 11:40 AM
Devoted Hubber
4 days share in AP is around 2 crores
17th November 2012, 12:01 PM

powerprince
4 days share in AP is around 2 crores
Hope it should be 3days as it released on 14th only...
17th November 2012, 12:19 PM
Special morning shows for sunday are screened in all the 6 screens of Sathyam cinemas starting by 7:20am , 5 screens are already housefull (Sathyam, Santham, Serene, studio5 & 6degrees)
17th November 2012, 12:22 PM
Devoted Hubber

Samajith
Hope it should be 3days as it released on 14th only...
it was released on 13th but no noon(morning) shows in few places..
Last edited by powerprince; 17th November 2012 at 12:47 PM.
17th November 2012, 01:22 PM
Regular Hubber

Samajith
Special morning shows for sunday are screened in all the 6 screens of Sathyam cinemas starting by 7:20am , 5 screens are already housefull (Sathyam, Santham, Serene, studio5 & 6degrees)
Not just Sathyam.Spl mrning shows in all screens of Sathyam,Escape,S2P and S2T from diwali till tomo 
By tomo night nearly 300 shows will have been completed in Sathyam cinemas.