Page 123 of 154 FirstFirst ... 2373113121122123124125133 ... LastLast
Results 1,221 to 1,230 of 1538

Thread: Hindi songs of Emotional Impact - nostalgic, favorites etc

"Maine kaha tha aanaa Sunday ko" - peppy number featuring Johny Walker & Helen. Thnx Raj, for posting the original English version "Never On Sunday" by Connie Francis. I'm not sure whether I've heard this one before, but I've definitely heard "Lipstick on your collar".

Thnx Madhu, for posting "Teri Pyari Pyari Surat Ko" featuring Rajendra Kumar & Saroja Devi.

Senior Member Veteran Hubber rajraj's Avatar

One tune -three languages

From Bombai ka Babu(1960):

Dekhne Mein Bhola hai Dil ka Salona......

From Kaalam Maari Pochchu(1955/56)(Tamil):

Yaeru Pootti Povaaye ANNe ChiNNaaNNe.....

From Rojulu Maaraayi(1955)(Telugu):

Eruvaaka Sagaroo....

Rice crop cycle begins in June in Tamilnadu. The Tamil and Telugu songs are about being a farmer. I used to visit my ancestral village during summers of my school/college days. In one of those visits I was asked to initiate the ploughing season. The handle of the plough was about as tall as I was. I held it with both hands. Another person held it firmly to make sure I did not let it go when the plough hit a bump in the field. I went one round in the field and others took over! That was a long time back. Now, the ploughs are gone. You see tractors and other equipment. Bullock carts are gone. Now it is automobiles and motor cycles. Progress has a price. The simple rustic life is gone. The songs (Tamil/Telugu) are about simple rustic life.
    Yaeru in Tamil means plough !

My attractions in the village were tender coconuts, tender palms, mango and tamarind fruit !
    And also the percussion used in the songs known as 'thappu' in Tamil. The farm workers used to play the instrument and dance on special occasions. I think that practice is gone too!

Last edited by rajraj; 9th June 2013 at 08:42 PM.
    " I think there is a world market for may be five computers". IBM Chairman Thomas Watson in 1943.

"Dekhne Mein Bhola hai" - lovely song well sung by Asha Bhonsle to Sachin Dev Burman's tune.

"yEru pootti pOvaayE" - was surprised to see Waheeda Rehman dancing in this song; probably the only Tamil song she has featured in.

Nice to read about your reminiscence, Raj. It's been ages since I visited my ancestral village - no chance of that happening now as my relatives have themselves shifted to Chennai.

"Sau Baar Janam Lenge" from USTADON KE USTAD (1963) sung by Mohammad Rafi starring
    Ashok Kumar, Pradeep Kumar, Shakila

------

"Or Aayiram Paarvayile" from VALLAVANUKKU VALLAVAN (1965) sung by TMS, lyrics by
    Kannadasan. Starring Gemini Ganesan, Manimala, Asokan, R.S.Manohar, Savithri

Senior Member Senior Hubber
    Designer:There seems to be one more Tamil movie of Waheeda Rehman 'Alibabavum 40 Thirudargalum'.

Senior Member Senior Hubber
    Saw this a few days ago, a duet with chorus of Anil Biswas-Lata based on a Bengali folk song
    http://atulsongaday.me/2013/06/10/pa...hori-chori-aa/

Senior Member Diamond Hubber madhu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by rajraj View Post
    My attractions in the village were tender coconuts, tender palms, mango and tamarind fruit !
    மேலைத் திசையிலே வானவில் பாராய்
    இடியும் மின்னலும் மழையும் பாராய்
    ஓடையில் கால்கள் பாய்வதைப் பாராய்
    உலர்ந்த பொட்டலில் அருகினைப் பாராய்

வாத்தியாரையா... உழவு செய்ய வேண்டிய சீசன் வந்தாச்சு என்பதற்கு எப்படி எல்லாம் அடையாளம் சொல்றாங்க பாருங்க.

இப்போ எல்லாம் வானிலை ஆராய்ச்சி நிலையம் என்ன சொல்லுதுன்னு கேட்க வேண்டிய நிலைமை

Quote Originally Posted by gaddeswarup View Post
    Designer:There seems to be one more Tamil movie of Waheeda Rehman 'Alibabavum 40 Thirudargalum'.
    Thnx for the info, gaddeswarup. Yes, Wikipedia says that, Waheeda Rehman made her debut in this film as a dancer, appearing in the club music number "Salaam Babu Salaam Babu ennai parunga".

Senior Member Diamond Hubber madhu's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Designer View Post
    Thnx for the info, gaddeswarup. Yes, Wikipedia says that, Waheeda Rehman made her debut in this film as a dancer, appearing in the club music number "Salaam Babu Salaam Babu ennai parunga".
    yes... yes..