20th November 2014, 05:32 PM
Bill,
1. Did anyone here claim that Kaththi is the #1 Tamil film ever made? Pls quote the post here so that we together can educate the person that its not true.
2. Is it a crime to compare Kaththi with the likes of Endhiran? Hardly few films have grossed 100 C and its quite inevitable to bring those films while compiling BO charts.
3. You were not very happy when the BO thread was bombarded with news related to Kaththi. Now you are not happy when the same is done in a thread dedicated to Kaththi. So what next? You want to share the BO data via PMs?
I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.
- Bernard Shaw
20th November 2014 05:32 PM
20th November 2014, 09:02 PM

Bill,
1. Did anyone here claim that Kaththi is the #1 Tamil film ever made? Pls quote the post here so that we together can educate the person that its not true.
2. Is it a crime to compare Kaththi with the likes of Endhiran? Hardly few films have grossed 100 C and its quite inevitable to bring those films while compiling BO charts.
3. You were not very happy when the BO thread was bombarded with news related to Kaththi. Now you are not happy when the same is done in a thread dedicated to Kaththi. So what next? You want to share the BO data via PMs?
Ok I'll try to go over your points :
- Yes, there were a couple of posts probably sounded like trolls that said Kaththi has smashed Endiran's records in just 5 days and one said its the best ever in terms of quality.
- Another one said only 2 movies has crossed 100 cr. mark which are Kaththi and Endiran. Come on 100 crs. is not a big number at all these days. Ajith fans have said couple of his movies have crossed it or atleast close to it. I'm guessing Yennai Arindhal is a strong contender to cross the 100 cr. barrier. Lets see. Now its not a crime to compare Endiran's record but Endiran overall gross is about 300 cr. and VR is in excess of 225 cr. I posted some links yesterday. Unless the overall Kaththi gross breaches the 200 Cr. mark, there's no point in comparing it with Endiran. Yes in a few countries, it stands second barring the US where it is yet to beat Kochadiaan and break into top 5. As it stands now, its about 1/3 to 1/2 or endiran's collection assuming it has made 130 cr. to date. Mind you I'm not saying it cannot but not yet.
- I'd certainly like to hear updates about Kaththi but not in the format presented. Something like what Cedy put up was interesting to see/read. Not like 7 pages of 'Vettri theatre' 3rd day night show collections or 'Serangoon theatre' singapore 5 th day afternoon show collections kind of thing. A nice chart of how its doing with a little comparison would just make it more readable. Just a perspective on it being a public thread.
- Yes all the comparisons were made on a thread dedicated to Kaththi but just commented on some of over the top comparisons.
I have seen posts simply writing off Kochadiaan's box office performance. The movie may not have garnered enough profits for SS standards but certainly an average grosser to say the least. The numbers are available in most sites like behind woods etc.
We'll take a look at its overall gross and see how it compares with the others soon.
20th November 2014, 09:17 PM
Bill,
I dont know if you are a long timer in hub or a newbie. If you are the latter, let me tell you that it will take time to separate a sarcastic post from a straight forward one. There was a post from a hubber called 'cinema' which said Kaththi crossed Endhiran in 5 days, blah blah. That was a sarcastic post and taking that seriously and replying is a waste of time.
100 crores is a big number for a non Rajni film. That was why a genuine 100 crore collection by Kaththi was well explained by Cedy in BO thread with relevant proofs. I did the same when Thuppakki released. Only when a film does exceedingly well in all territories, 100 crore mark can be breached. And Kaththi wont breach the 200 c mark as it is nearing the sunset.
Not all hubbers are Cedy. There are people who may not post as interesting as him but definitely the message can be deciphered. Hub is all about that only,right? At least I am happy that this thread doesn't speak about other actors and focuses on Vijay alone..
Last edited by ajaybaskar; 20th November 2014 at 09:24 PM.
I learned long ago, never to wrestle with a pig. You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it.
- Bernard Shaw
20th November 2014, 09:23 PM
And regarding Kochadaiyaan, the standards set by his films are quite high in terms of collection and its not surprising that Koch is considered an average fare. Even Rajni mentioned in Lingaa audio release that they incurred some losses. That is why it is not mentioned in BO analysis.
- Bernard Shaw
20th November 2014, 09:31 PM
Devoted Hubber
Mr Billu
Kochadayan s a disaster. Average for a Rajni movie means its a disaster. Understand the difference between top actors and normal actors box office performance.
Kaththi crossed 100 cr just by the tamil version itself and not like Endhiran. Kaththi telugu yet to be released. VR collections are still in doubt!
20th November 2014, 09:51 PM
Ajay, Your point taken. I'm not a 100% newbie but sure I didnt recognize those sarcastic trolls. Anyways.
Chatriayan - guess I'll have to ask Kamal to talk to you directly since you're not convinced about VR's box office performance despite all the links posted. Cant wake up someone pretending to sleep. What to do ? Again let me tell you the bulk of Endiran collections comes from Tamil. Not much from Hindi and a little from Telugu. Summa ethavadhu saaku kattadheanga sir. Breaching 200cr. is not a joke. Vijay doesnt enjoy a strong Telugu market for you to think that it'll somehow boost his overall Kaththi collections.
Lets give it a break guys and see how everything stacks up from now moving forward ?
20th November 2014, 09:58 PM
Bill,
The fault is not entirely with Chatriyan here. Hub has lost many Rajni and Kamal fans over the years who were good with numbers. So like how Ajith fans or Vijay fans who come up with links to prove their BO might, there are none in the senior camp and I guess that doesn't even matter to them anymore.
- Bernard Shaw
20th November 2014, 10:00 PM
Devoted Hubber

bill4u
Ajay, Your point taken. I'm not a 100% newbie but sure I didnt recognize those sarcastic trolls. Anyways.
Chatriayan - guess I'll have to ask Kamal to talk to you directly since you're not convinced about VR's box office performance despite all the links posted. Cant wake up someone pretending to sleep. What to do ? Again let me tell you the bulk of Endiran collections comes from Tamil. Not much from Hindi and a little from Telugu. Summa ethavadhu saaku kattadheanga sir. Breaching 200cr. is not a joke. Vijay doesnt enjoy a strong Telugu market for you to think that it'll somehow boost his overall Kaththi collections.
Lets give it a break guys and see how everything stacks up from now moving forward ?
Instead of asking Kamal to call me ask him or Pooja to call media and let them know as i said earlier they keep excluding VR from 100 crores club even after Pooja announcing it on stage. Please do it quick else Kamal or Pooja will be upset.
Endhiran's dubbed version was released as Robot in US,UK, India etc and it did make a lot of difference to the gross collection. Vijay hasn't got a market in Telugu and reaching 100 crores for this generation actors is very tough. This is a great achievement and lets see if Ennai Arindhal and Masss does achieve this target.
20th November 2014, 10:09 PM

Chathriyan
Endhiran's dubbed version was released as Robot in US,UK, India etc and it did make a lot of difference to the gross collection. Vijay hasn't got a market in Telugu and reaching 100 crores for this generation actors is very tough. This is a great achievement and lets see if Ennai Arindhal and Masss does achieve this target.
Nope. Robot didnt do that well as I thought it did. I was corrected by another hubber HH on that. A little more in Telugu for sure. So not what you thought. Yes, 100 Cr. is hard and no body denies both Thuppakki and Kaththi have done really well. Not sure about Maass at this point but EA is a strong contender.
20th November 2014, 10:13 PM
bill, why bother? this so called star couldn't give a hit for god's sake and had to depend on ARM to deliver a decent hit. hit paarkathavanga oru above avrage film'i hitu hitu, mega hitu nu kuuvi kuuvi thaan vitpaanga. seriousa edukkama sirichitte poyitrukkanum.
Surya was giving hits after hits and they were crying that he works with big directors and put his success down to working with big directors. ippo vaai kuusama average hit ellam mega hitu athukku vijayna thaan endu sollitruppaanga. shankar movie kuuda kaathu vaangichu
The amount quoted by ARM was 23 C which was more than the combined collection of pongal releases. You should know by now where they stand given their history of breaking enthiran record since velayudam. Vijay na vaai kuusama Velayudam broke enthiran's record and I don't know how to feel about it endu sonnaaru.
Then duppaki beat enthiran collection endu kuuvinaaru
then Jilla broke Duppaki record naaru
Now back to breaking enthiran record
ARM posted fake numbers within few days and it even shocked the fake box office analysts. The analysts were claiming different numbers and the numbers were not even close to each other. Avangalukku enna podurathunu theriyala. Then ARM shocked everybody. Have you seen a director being so desperate?