22nd January 2007, 02:38 AM

Devoted Hubber

Nichiro's Poetry

I will be posting my poetry in this column . I am reposting my recent work as under. I request friends here to look for my Tamiz poems and help me repost so that all my works can come under one umbrella.
 Nichiro

22nd January 2007 02:38 AM

22nd January 2007, 02:48 AM

Devoted Hubber

Dear friends, 

Three of my Haikus are being posted today.

LONLINESS

My lonliness stays in this
 Room made of nothingness whose walls are
 Guarded by crowd of memories.

DEATH OF A GIRL CHILD

Tearful mother crushed small mouth
 Firmly to her milk oozing breast and
 The girl child was dead

INNOCENCE

where did my innocence go
 When I came to know the difference
 Between the right and wrong.

I am presenting you with THREE HAIKUS,

Punishment

Then God passed his sentence.
 "You'll suffer imprisonment till your last breath ".
 And thus "I" was born.

Sounds

Now scything sound of silence
 And moments dashing against eternity of nothingness,
 Torments my blissfully sleeping dreams.

Lonliness

My paper is now lonely,
 As thoughts have gone out with feelings
 On a long long journey.

PRAYER

God,"If I cannot move,

I'll ask for a capacity to dream,

Destination, then , will be under my feet ."

FREEDOM

Sun is setting slowly.
 The evening air is laden with
 The remnants of scattered sounds
 of children running
 around the corridors
 of nearby school.
 Those are the happy sounds.
 Much opposite of the ones
 when they walked in the school.

The soul , is now able
 to feel approaching
 Freedom for myself.
 The load of the baggage carried
 all my life
 Is being thrown away soon.
 Journey to unknown
 is what I am looking for
 with eager heart.
 Soon the hospital bed will be vacant
 The waves in the monitor
 will soon be a straight line.
 Let it be after the sunset.
 O lord..!!

Nichiro

Death Of A Noble Soul

There was a deathly silence all around,
 The speaker shed tears and said,
 "What a noble soul we have lost,
 All of us are orphaned now.
 Who shall we look to for inspiration?

This orphange and other schools
 will be Fatherless now.
 He was a true father
 Who showered fatherly love on you all.
 So devoted was he,
 To the cause of orphans,
 That he never married."

So spake people one after another.

The crowd marched past the body
 Of the departed servent
 With wreaths in hands round
 The casket which was gleaming mahogny.

There was a mound of flowers soon enough
 Having shed tears
 And bowing of heads
 And folded hands.
 The bigwigs left.

Slowly the crowd thinned,
 The reporters packed their bags
 And were departing last .

A girl , barely sixteen,
 Inmate of the orphange
 Stood at the gate with
 A child in arms, looking
 At people with vacant eyes.

A reporter asked the orphan girl,
 "Is this your child?
 She barely nodded.
 "Yes"
 "Who is the father who gave you
 This child?"
 Persisted the news man.
 "He is in that room,
 Dead........
 Lying in the big casket."

Nichiro

A poem for child labour activists.

...And they said, children's fingers make best products

In a dingy room
 Rows of children...
 Very young children,
 Weave coffin clothes for
 their childhood ......

A childhood,
 which died before they were born.
 And people call them Carpets.

Same nimble fingers have
 Lost sense of touch
 And mechanically, now,
 They roll tendu leaves
 They do not fill tobacco
 But each leaf roll is filled with
 Their childhood.

A childhood,
 Which died before they were born.
 And people call them Beedies.

In an isolated factory hall,
 Rows upon rows of children,
 Wearly roll papers,
 And fill them with
 Their childhood.

A childhood,
 Which died before they were born
 And people call them Fireworks.

Nichiro

Ps.
 Come, let's give back their childhood,
 And freedom to play and dream.
 Give up with determination,
 Smoke, carpets and crackers.
 Each one , teach one.

Wait For Freedom

Now I know that God has put
 My life in tears.
 with every cry and drops
 Of life running down the cheeks,
 My freedom seems very near.

Dark sun is spreading
 Its unfathomable blackness
 In front of my eyes.
 Soul of my very being
 Seems to be dangling like
 A spider from its web.
 My web, My own bondage.

I am just waiting
 For that gust of icy wind
 Harbinger of release.
 Release ? Ney... Freedom.
 I am waiting
 To be free from myself.

The hope is stronger
 Than Nihilistic truth.
 I know that the icy wind will come.
 Ah...That icy wind.
 Till then, I will dangle
 Like a question mark
 On my web.

GOD’S GIFT

God took the crimson hue
 Of rising sun From the Horizon,
 And put the shyness of
 A fawn on her cheeks'

He took the twinkle of stars
 Of which dreams are made,
 And Bright bolt of lightening to
 Put in her long lashed eyes.

Next he took the crests of
 Playful and snow white
 Warm summer sea waves
 To adorn her innocent bosom.

He stole the heady musk
 From the deer and
 Sheen of shining pearls
 And anointed her body.

God then borrowed the
 Sound of tinkling bells
 And mixed with some mischief
 And put it in Her laughter.

He took the pink colour of roses
 And a little kohl
 He mixed it with honey
 And smeared it on her lips.

Last he took a little dark secret
 From his creation of universe
 And lovingly hid it under her belly.
 For the mother of future.

Then he opened the door
 To send off her childhood
 And let her Youth in.
 Today she became sixteen

Nichiro

SAILING ON SANDS

Your week end results in weakened spirits,
 You go on a binge and forget the limits.
 When curtain of weekends falls for the week,
 You look for Aspirins and pot o' coffee you seek.

On top of this you read Nichiro's poems,
 They confront you like Red Indian totems.
 The conscience refuses to sit down and think.
 Nichiro has no work and is wasting his ink.

He talks of young girls and childhood they lost,
 Of women whose boats are too far from coast.
 He speaks of tears and the happiness not felt,
 How can such things not let hearts to melt?

We try to forget our pains and our woes,
 For people at work are always on their toes.
 Bosses are bossy and the collegues not kind
 All these results in getting people in bind.

But we live only for self and not for others,
 Our pains , our problems we think only as ours.
 Like ostrich which bury their heads in sands,
 We lock the conscience and never open till end.

Out there are those girls and women who have,
 No hopes for future, no love and who crave,
 For freedom from hell in which they find,
 Their wings are cut off and legs in a bind.

I am not a preacher, and I am not a saint
 I am a person who writes their complaint.
 If you want to do something, lend them your hand
 Write, think and spread this message my friend

Nichiro

Being An Indian

Being an Indian, is Appearing
 On front page of Times of India
 As common man of substance.

DEEWAR

Log kehte they ki Deewar ke oospaar,
 Anjaan log rehte hain,
 Bade khufnaak log hain woh.
 Pith pe waar karte hain.

Ek din humein tak mili,
 Diwar kudkar hum gaye oospaar.
 To hamne dekha,
 Ki wahan hamare jaisa hi ghar hai.

Wahi aangan,wahi khet, wahi khaliyan.
 Wahi Ma, Wahi bahan aur wahi dost.
 Wahi geet, wahi sangeet.
 Wahi gham the aur wahi Khushiyan.

Ek sakhsh ko ghar ke baahar dekha.
 Dekha to woh main hi tha.
 Main hi dono aur rehta tha.!
 To phir yeh deewar ka wazood kya tha?

Us deewar ki dono aur
 woh khaufnaak santari Kaun the ?
 Ek hi jaat thi magar Uniform alag the.!
 Aur us deewar pe siyasat kyon karte the ?

Kuch logon ko jinhe
 Hamne Mantri banaaye,
 Wohi log aaj santari ban baithe hain,
 Diwar ko khuda banakar.

Khudh unke bande ban firte hain,
 Yeh diwar hi badi badsurat bala hai,
 Jaan khaati hai logon ki,
 Khoon piti hai pyaas buzaane.

Diwar ke thekedaaron ne,Sab ke,
 Jeene marne ka intezaam kar rakha hai.
 Santari sab Insaaniyat kha chuke hain,
 Aur Diwar Insaano ko khati hai.

Koi muze batao,o mere humdum,
 In darindo ka kya karen?
 Jinhon ne Diwar ke naam par
 Siyasat ki kilein gaadi hui hai?

Khud to diwar ke naam par Apana aashiyana
 Banate hain,aur dono aur se Main,
 Is khun ki pyasi Diwar mein
 Dhire dhire Jinda chuna jaata hun.

Nichiro

"STILL BORN"

She brought forth her child
 With last heave to her tired womb.
 "Indhu saniyan, pombale pulle petthiiruukka" Achi cried.

The shout rang in darkness,
 Tearful eyes wanted to see first newborn
 And sing her first lullaby.

Her thighs were still quivering
 Blood soaked,child with her umbellical chord
 Hung upside down dripping blood.

"Itthe enna cheiyaunum?chollu Ma "
 "Indhaa aiyinoor rupa," Achi said with contempt
 seiya vendidhu sei...puranjadha?"

Midwife, gave the last look,
 Pressed the struggling newborn's nose and mouth
 Soon the feeble movements ceased.

A shallow pit was dug.
 Bundle of flesh who was a girl,
 Was buried. Declared "still born"
 Nichiro

STILL BORN II

Dear Girl child,
 The biggest irony is,
 People talk about ,
 People read about ,
 People discuss about ,
 People debate about
 The need
 To prevent female Foeticide
 As dinner discussion.

You come in,
 When all have left
 To collect the empty plates.
 And clean the mess.

Tomorrow,
 There will be another day,
 Another discussion.
 More beer glasses,
 More empty plates.
 And your subject,
 My dear child,
 Will be discarded
 Like The empty
 Sucked out bone,
 Left for the dogs.

Nichiro

MY SKY

I have carried
 The weight of my sky
 All along .
 Now I feel
 That the sky
 And me are both
 Alone in our company.

My Past, present
 And future, bound
 By a silken snake
 Is adding on
 To the burden.

My sky
 Has refused to share
 Its space with
 My hopes and Aspirations.
 And it has closed
 All the directions.

My innerself
 Is now impatient
 To sever its bond
 With this body
 And merge with
 My sky.

Let me find myself
 An iota of space
 Where my sky is not there,
 To let go
 Of my baggage.

Can I ? Will I?

Nichiro

MY SUN IS BURIED

They start their hunt
 Even before I am born,
 I am marked for death
 From the womb I am torn.
 My grave is never marked
 My journey
 Is of just minutes,
 From womb to tomb

If they let me live,
 They remove my path
 From under my feet.
 Then They destroy
 My destination.
 My feet have nowhere to go,
 I will never reach anywhere
 Because I will never
 Start for anywhere.

My day will never start
 As they have buried my sun.
 My eyes will have nothing to see
 As my Sun will never light up.
 And my Rainbow will have
 only black colour.
 What's my fault O Lord,
 Are all Gods men ?
 Why am I made
 unwritten history ?
 Is it because I am
 just a girl child ?
 Nichiro

SON

Tears started flowing
 from her vacant eyes.
 Her deeply lined
 sunken cheeks quivered
 with every sob that escaped
 Her chocked throat.

"God,"she said, "Do not give anybody sons"
 Look at me , a mother of three I am
 Rotting in this old age home."

How I wish I had at least
 A daughter who whould understand
 My pains and would be here
 To wipe my tears.
 A son is no boon
 And a daughter is no burden."

I just stood rooted
 Holding her cold hand.
 I couldn't even cry
 Because I too was a son
 Of my Mother.

Nichiro

YOG NIDRA

It is so quiet now.
 Drudgery of
 Dragging
 A life
 Shackled to
 A body
 has ceased.
 Peace has started
 descending
 Like white fleece
 In winter.
 Soon the snow
 Of eternal silence
 Will cover
 Nothingness,
 which sleeps after
 Ingesting the alphabets.
 No more
 Tick,,,Tock..Tick ..Tock
 sound of time
 Trudging besides me,
 shuffling on three feet.
 I rose high
 By light years
 As my frail Shoulders
 Let go the Atlas
 of my Ego.
 Now my palms hold
 No Past Present
 Or future.
 Eternity clothed in
 Black beckons me
 To sleep and merge
 With her.
 "Esto perpetua Esto perpetua"

Nichiro

HELPLESSNESS

It flows
 From the eyes
 Of Aged parents
 Left to die
 A slow death
 In old age homes.

It is heard in
 Slent sobs
 of those
 Innocent girls
 Rotting in
 Hovels like Kamathipura.

It is blackened gash
 On the twisted neck
 Of a hanging body
 of a young HIV wife
 of an unfaithful man.

Nichiro

HELPLESSNESS II

FUTURE AT CROSS ROADS

Her four year old
 Eyes were riveted
 To the signal lights.
 No sooner did
 The amber change to red,
 She trotted
 Towards the barely halting
 vehicles spewing smoke
 From the exhaust pipes.

She looked like a rag doll,
 With matted unkempt hair.
 Her small dirt smeared face
 Showed red rimmed eyes
 From which
 Twin furrows of dried tears
 could be seen.

She raised herself
 On toes and thrust
 Her one little palm
 Turned upwards
 with bent fingers
 And the other hand
 Feebly tapping
 Dark tinted closed
 Car window
 Begging for coins.

From the back seat,
 The fiery pedigree dog
 Furiously barked and
 lunged at the closed window
 Trying to devour
 Our Future,
 that was
 Begging the Present
 For her Today
 And Tomorrow.

Nichiro

Sounds of silence

O "Silence" ,
 Your alphabet
 Has only
 one consonant,
 Which has many sounds.

The sound of silence
 In a childless home
 Is different from
 A child sleeping
 In a mother's lap.

The sound of silence
 In a graveyard
 Is different from
 Empty labour room
 In a hospital.

The sound of silence
 Heard by a mute child
 Is different from
 The silence locked
 In a teacher's stick.

The sound of silence
 Just before the storm
 Is different from
 The deathly silence
 That prevails after the storm.

O "Silence ,
 Your alphabet
 Has only
 one consonant,
 Which has many
 Sounds."

Nichiro

part II

SILENCE!!!

Shhhhhh !!
 Let me be.
 I am
 opening wounds
 On my hurt soul
 And
 With the
 droplets of
 Pain that
 Oozes out,
 I am painting
 My poetry.

Nichiro

GOD'S ABODE

God said'
 "Only Naked people
 can enter Heavens.
 So remove all you are
 covered up with, then
 The doors of
 Heaven
 will open up for you.
 Those of you
 Who cannot ,
 Will form another line
 over there."
 He pointed to a small gate.

Soon the endless line
 Of hopeful pious souls
 Stood stark naked.

After some time,
 Leaving a heap
 of covers
 I went and stood
 At the small gate.

"Why are you at this gate?"
 God asked
 "O my Lord"
 I bowed and said,
 " I tried removing my covers
 one after the other,
 The covers which I had used
 To cloth my true self.
 At the end of it all,
 I saw an animal
 Underneath.
 So I came to this gate.

Come in My son"
 God opened the small gate
 "welcome to my home
 You will stay with me"

And what about others?
 I asked,
 "They Go to Heaven"
 He smiled.

Nichiro

BLINDNESS

I spent my time
 Looking for mountains
 When God had left
 Opportunities in
 Small pebbles.

I spent my time
 Looking for torrents
 For my parched throat
 When God had stored
 Water in clouds.

I spent my time
 Looking for blessings
 In abodes of worship
 When God had put them
 In Thankful eyes of
 Suffering and needy.

I spent my time
 Looking for time
 In watches and clocks
 when God had spread it
 All around me for ever.

Nichiro

HAND IN HAND

I trudge on an
 Endless unknown path.
 Many a soul I meet
 But who
 Shall walk till the end?
 Though weary,
 The task
 I must complete.
 Will you walk
 Hand in Hand along?
 Afraid as I am
 That you may go
 Your way,
 Yet I crave
 Your nearness.
 Will you walk
 To the life's end?
 Hand in hand?

Nichiro

RATIONAL STORY

"God", said my grandpa,
 Was made of Truth,
 And Goodness.
 He was all powerful.
 He had endless form.
 Un surpassed beauty.
 He was always with people
 As their Friend and Guide.
 With people's Love,
 He grew and remained Almighty.
 But he always had
 To depend upon
 People's Faith
 People's Goodness
 And their Truth,
 To be that way.

"Then why can't we
 See Him now?" I asked.

"Because," said Grandpa,
 "Now God is
 An ethereal form
 As collective goodness
 Faith and Truth
 Which people possessed,
 Have vanished .
 They can't see Him

Now they have established
 A new faith.
 A product of Unseeing eyes,
 Unfeeling heart,
 Unbelieving mind,
 And an absent conscience.

In that they believe,
 They call it
 "ATHEISM"

Nichiroojii

The Mountain

The old woman said
 Goddess of Fate
 wrote your future
 On your forehead
 On the sixth day after
 You were born.
 As is written,
 You will climb and cross
 Just one mountain
 To reach bliss
 And salvation that you seek.

"But O revered one,
 "Through the time
 Of life that I have lived
 I have undertaken
 This arduous climb
 Which never seems to end.
 This frightening mountain
 Seems to grow more and more
 With every step I climb.

When will this climb
 And my pains end?
 When will I cross the mountain?"
 What is the name
 Of this mountain?
 I asked with tired voice,

'It is up to you my son,
 when to end
 Your climb and cross over.
 "Spoke the old woman
 You are climbing a mountain
 Which is called Karma.

Nichiroojii

22nd January 2007, 12:23 PM

Devoted Hubber

Good ones there...Nichiro. Plz keep it goin Good ones there...Nichiro. Plz keep it goin  

Liberty is my religion. Liberty of hand and brain -- of thought and labor.  Liberty is the blossom and fruit of justice -- the perfume of mercy. Liberty is the seed and soil, the air and light, the dew and rain of progress, love and joy. 

27th January 2007, 05:14 AM

Devoted Hubber

Your Memories

I am wandering through
 The corridors of time
 Clutching the hand
 Of yesterday,
 Lest I miss
 The count of every moment
 I spent with you.

I could hear that
 Silent whisper
 When you were in my arms
 And spoke with
 your closed  eyes
 And Pounding heart
 That you were mine.

Now I am sifting the sands
 Of your memories
 Searching for moments
 When I did not think of you
 So that I can atone for
 Those times
 By burning my soul.

Nichiroojii

27th January 2007, 08:11 AM

Platinum Hubber

Eager to watch the trends of the world & to nurture in the youth who carry the future world on their shoulders a right sense of values. 

27th January 2007, 10:55 PM

amazingly beautiful    

Anbe Sivam   

28th January 2007, 04:42 AM

Devoted Hubber

PP Madam & Crazy,

Thanks for your kind appreciation.
 I, According to my horoscope , have entered a phase of " Unknown" which I am enjoying .
 This phase seems to bring torrent of poetic thoughts whch I immediately key down (now no more pen and paper).
 Keep encouraging me friends and also criticize whenever you feel you need to.

Nichiroojii

28th January 2007, 06:13 AM

Devoted Hubber

Inner Universe

Vortex of time playing
 Its banshee wail of
 crying of dyeing moments ,
 Is a witness to
 The ravage that my mind
 Has gone through
 With the unending births of
 Grotesque mutant thoughts.

The inner space that melts
 Into inky nothingness
 seems to devour reasons
 Of my being and my soul
 Which trembles
 With every moment
 That dies untimely death.

Could this vortes
 That harbours all the reasons,
 All the questions and
 All the answers
 Give itself rest and Let
 The cosmic spring Sprout
 The seed of new universe?

Nichiroojii

28th January 2007, 03:47 PM

Anbe Sivam   

28th January 2007, 06:39 PM

Devoted Hubber

Originally Posted by  Nichiro
 PP Madam & Crazy,

Thanks for your kind appreciation.
 I, According to my horoscope , have entered a phase of " Unknown".......
 Keep encouraging me friends and also criticize whenever you feel you need to.

Nichiroojii

Have I not appreciated u     Just scroll down and c who is first to reply! Just scroll down and c who is first to reply!

Liberty is my religion. Liberty of hand and brain -- of thought and labor.  Liberty is the blossom and fruit of justice -- the perfume of mercy. Liberty is the seed and soil, the air and light, the dew and rain of progress, love and joy.