View Full Version : Jilla || Ilayathalapathy & Mohanlal || Imman D

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14

10th January 2014, 04:19 PM
I stopped looking at behindwood reviews after ayirathil oruvan lool.

gane14
10th January 2014, 04:26 PM
Watched It. Sureshot hit.

Watching Vijay, Mohanlal in bigscreen is awesome.

Kajal total waste, choreography a big let down.

Felt like too much of fights in second half and could have trimmed.

Finally, A Neat Family and Mass entertainer.

Rogerusabe
10th January 2014, 04:48 PM
Behindwoods gives 2.75 for both movies. Oru .1 or .5 adhigam o kammiyavo kudukkala... Viewership poyuromonu payanthutaanga pola !

But have to agree avangalukum kastam thaan. BO report nenachu paarunga :rotfl:. They will try to give figures almost equal to be safe.

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 05:03 PM
Finally watched it back to back 2 shows.. Out and out MASS ENTERTAINER.. :thumbsup: thalaivar is terrific :smokesmirk: therika vidraru, never imagined if this film would be this level of mass.. this is not like thuppaki mass but vera vera level. movie lengthy yes but after climax you wont worry about it..
nesaa ne kavukala :notworthy: !!

10th January 2014, 05:05 PM
Ajay,

Saw your post that you ended up watching Jilla again. How did you feel during the second time? Little bored or the fun was intact?

10th January 2014, 05:07 PM
I thought Brahmandam was a part of Jilla. Was there any change in the middle or were his scenes removed?

One shooting spot still

http://gallery.oneindia.in/on-the-sets/jilla/photos-c29-e43114-p350406.html

10th January 2014, 05:08 PM
Ajay,

Saw your post that you ended up watching Jilla again. How did you feel during the second time? Little bored or the fun was intact?

Definitely not boring, but yes, the length was quite evident this time. Esp 2 songs.

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 05:17 PM
Udhayam theater :smokesmirk:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdnL000IIAEacsk.jpg

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 05:21 PM
At golden cinema dubai..
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-e.ak/hphotos-ak-frc3/s720x720/1503230_522629334518340_552044091_n.jpg

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 05:21 PM
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-h.ak/hphotos-ak-frc3/1517379_795800850435119_121460426_n.jpg

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 05:23 PM
Priya complex madurai..
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdmwP9sCEAAvKvN.jpg
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-h.ak/hphotos-ak-frc1/s720x720/65701_522671797847427_479816034_n.jpg

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 05:46 PM
Mohanlal ‏@Mohanlal
Getting excellent reviews abt Jilla n happy dat our Pongal Treat has been accepted as a entertainer..Thanks Neason, Vijay & d whole crew

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 05:54 PM
Maalai Malar : யானை ஊர்வலத்துடன் அசத்திய விஜய் ரசிகர்கள் !!

ecureuhapis
10th January 2014, 06:35 PM
intha reply yarukunnu avangalukke teriyum.. jilla has TWO midnight shows in midvalley (malaysia) and of the shows in a bigger capacity hall . and it's 95% full. :smokesmirk:

CEDYBLUE
10th January 2014, 07:09 PM
Watched it and loved it :)

In terms of fan response and festivity, my best viewing experience for any movie. Watched it in Udhayam 11:15 show this morning and boy it was some atmosphere.

Witnessed the Box carried in a chariot, the band, the milk sprayers, crackers....Whoa a first of the kind experience for me. Terrific.

Jilla's producer RB Choudary Sir came along with the PRO Selvakumar and conducted pooja on the Box before it was screened.

The movie opened to a raucous response and the carnival continued right through till the end of the movie. Unforgettable experience.

Overall, liked the movie which was MASS, just MASS. Naeson has delivered a MASS entertainer for Vijay and the screenplay had enough moments to celebrate.

Vijay, his body language and dialogue delivery were sheer delights and Mohan Lal's inclusion and presence gave a whole new dimension to the movie. Great casting. Kudos to Naeson.

The first half was a cocktail of great intro for both Mohanlal and Vijay, 3 decent songs, a couple of fights and humor to set things up for probably the biggest (in terms of mass appeal) pre-interval sequence for any Vijay movie. The pre-interval scene was a cracker and again was stupendously received in the theater.

The 2nd half had 2 to 3 hair-raising moments too but by and large gave an impression that it was lengthy.

Overall, the movie was a cracker. I would say, in comparison with all of Vijay's commercial movies, it is as good as Pokiri. I say this because it is much better than the likes of Tirupacchi, Velayudham, Sivakasi, Vettaikaran and the likes. Ghilli and Thuppakki are just peaks that cannot be scaled easily.

Right from the day the movie was announced, everyone of us knew it was a commercial script. We all were happy that Vijay is returning to his comfort zone after a long time. When i read a few reviews about how 'there is nothing new in the movie' or how it is a 'mass overload', i was like "come on, we knew it right from the beginning didn't we?"

Naeson, as Ajay says has exceeded expectations and has delivered a good movie watchable by neutral/family audiences as well. Job Well Done!

Let's celebrate this mass avatar of our Mass Master. He is the best in it and he proves it yet again.

By this time next month, Vijay would be busy with the ARM project. At 39, he looks super-fit to go on for another 10-15 years. Lots to look forward to. He looks in great shape.

Enjoy the moment in theaters, it is serious fun. I will be watching it again tomorrow in Abirami.

Overall, a wait worth every penny. Vijay and Jilla Rocks!

Russelldwp
10th January 2014, 07:17 PM
https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?ui=2&ik=4024115803&view=att&th=1437b5ab19f915b5&attid=0.2&disp=safe&zw

ஜில்லா மகத்தான வெற்றி - இது மக்களின் தீர்ப்பு - இளைய தளபதியின் உழைப்புக்கு கிடைத்த வெற்றி

2007 க்கு பிறகு மீண்டும் போட்டி பொங்கல் திருநாளில் வெற்றியை விஜயின் வசமாக்கிய உலக தமிழர்களுக்கு நன்றி

எத்தனை சோதனை வந்தாலும் சாதனை யாக்கும் சரித்திர தலைவன் விஜய்க்கு கிடைத்த மகத்தான வெற்றி

10th January 2014, 07:19 PM
Whoa a first of the kind experience for me. Terrific.

Way to go Cedyblue, what else a fan could expect. Glad that you had an wonderful outside and inside theater view experience. I hope you still got your voice intact for the Abirami show, LoL.

And a very good write up there.

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 07:31 PM
Watched it and loved it :)

In terms of fan response and festivity, my best viewing experience for any movie. Watched it in Udhayam 11:15 show this morning and boy it was some atmosphere.

Witnessed the Box carried in a chariot, the band, the milk sprayers, crackers....Whoa a first of the kind experience for me. Terrific.

Jilla's producer RB Choudary Sir came along with the PRO Selvakumar and conducted pooja on the Box before it was screened.

The movie opened to a raucous response and the carnival continued right through till the end of the movie. Unforgettable experience.

Overall, liked the movie which was MASS, just MASS. Naeson has delivered a MASS entertainer for Vijay and the screenplay had enough moments to celebrate.

Vijay, his body language and dialogue delivery were sheer delights and Mohan Lal's inclusion and presence gave a whole new dimension to the movie. Great casting. Kudos to Naeson.

The first half was a cocktail of great intro for both Mohanlal and Vijay, 3 decent songs, a couple of fights and humor to set things up for probably the biggest (in terms of mass appeal) pre-interval sequence for any Vijay movie. The pre-interval scene was a cracker and again was stupendously received in the theater.

The 2nd half had 2 to 3 hair-raising moments too but by and large gave an impression that it was lengthy.

Overall, the movie was a cracker. I would say, in comparison with all of Vijay's commercial movies, it is as good as Pokiri. I say this because it is much better than the likes of Tirupacchi, Velayudham, Sivakasi, Vettaikaran and the likes. Ghilli and Thuppakki are just peaks that cannot be scaled easily.

Right from the day the movie was announced, everyone of us knew it was a commercial script. We all were happy that Vijay is returning to his comfort zone after a long time. When i read a few reviews about how 'there is nothing new in the movie' or how it is a 'mass overload', i was like "come on, we knew it right from the beginning didn't we?"

Naeson, as Ajay says has exceeded expectations and has delivered a good movie watchable by neutral/family audiences as well. Job Well Done!

Let's celebrate this mass avatar of our Mass Master. He is the best in it and he proves it yet again.

By this time next month, Vijay would be busy with the ARM project. At 39, he looks super-fit to go on for another 10-15 years. Lots to look forward to. He looks in great shape.

Enjoy the moment in theaters, it is serious fun. I will be watching it again tomorrow in Abirami.

Overall, a wait worth every penny. Vijay and Jilla Rocks!

Excellent review brother :notworthy:

Dammy R
10th January 2014, 07:36 PM
Watched FDFS in Bangalore. Was in Hyderabad this week for a training and didn't think I'd get to watch it today...thankfully I got back last night and managed to see. As people have said here, I enjoyed the movie. Yes the movie is lengthy but to keep a 3 hour long movie engaging and racy is a task well done by Naeson. Vijay is effortless when it comes to this genre. As Ajay said, this is not the kind of movie that will please purists. Their reviews don't make a movie a success or failure. Trust me, the reception to the movie was electric. Normally if a movie isn't good you guage it at the end of the movie...and people were just shouting and chanting Vijays name. I am right now going to watch it again with family. Looking forward to watching it a bit peacefully at a mutliplex with family audience as I couldn't hear much first time. As far as songs...Jingamani was a let down in terms of visuals. Liked the dialogues and the scenes between Mohanlal and Vijay. This is sure gona be a money spinner...please don't go expecting a Thuppakki. .just go and enjoy Vijay in full form. Cheers!!

Rogerusabe
10th January 2014, 07:43 PM
intha reply yarukunnu avangalukke teriyum.. jilla has TWO midnight shows in midvalley (malaysia) and of the shows in a bigger capacity hall . and it's 95% full. :smokesmirk:

forget those papa guys. They dont have even enough theatres. Lets celebrate jilla :happydance:

10th January 2014, 07:46 PM
அதுக்குள்ளே புருஷனை பறிகொடுத்த பூர்ணிமாவை லால் கல்யாணம் பண்ணிப்பாருன்னும் கடைசில தற்கொலை பண்ணிகிடுவாருன்னும் அள்ளிவுட்டீங்களேடா..

Mr.GreyShirt
10th January 2014, 07:51 PM
அதுக்குள்ளே புருஷனை பறிகொடுத்த பூர்ணிமாவை லால் கல்யாணம் பண்ணிப்பாருன்னும் கடைசில தற்கொலை பண்ணிகிடுவாருன்னும் அள்ளிவுட்டீங்களேடா..

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 07:55 PM
Latha Srinivasan ‏@latasrinivasan
#jilla - out and out #vijay film. Hit for sure. Not too many dull moments in the film. Some characters just props.

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 08:01 PM
Gayathri Raguramm ‏@gayathriraguram
Mohan lal sir and vijay sir combo chance illa super ah iruku.

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 08:02 PM
Biggest opening ever in KERALA \m/
:smokesmirk:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5s3t8xj6DhU

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 08:09 PM
Jilla making headlines!! Historical opening in kerala !!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PFeoinuei4

10th January 2014, 08:10 PM
This 'Biggest ever opening in Kerala' is becoming too very repetitive/customary statement like 'Vijay looks young and fit'. We should probably avoid it henceforth.

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 08:11 PM
This 'Biggest ever opening in Kerala' is becoming too very repetitive/customary statement like 'Vijay looks young and fit'. We should probably avoid it henceforth.

Right bro!! its not suprising news at all.. whole kerala shaken..

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 08:13 PM
Only Kollywood @OnlyKollywood :
Official : #Jilla will be trimmed for 10 mins and the changes made will be effective from tonight show.

10th January 2014, 08:16 PM
Jilla to be trimmed by 10 minutes - Reports

10th January 2014, 08:22 PM
Sreedhar Pillai ‏@sri50 (https://twitter.com/sri50)
#Jilla (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Jilla&src=hash) -3/5. 1st half racy, 2nd half too long, climax twist & action scenes r good. Music of @immancomposer (https://twitter.com/immancomposer) a major + Kandaangi, Paatu Onu

​Sreedhar Pillai ‏@sri50 (https://twitter.com/sri50)
#Jilla (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Jilla&src=hash) – 3/5. Masala entertainer – 2 mass heroes @Mohanlal (https://twitter.com/Mohanlal) & Vijay hold the film together with their comic timing, bonding & bickering act.

10th January 2014, 08:22 PM
Jilla to be trimmed by 10 minutes - Reports

Good that they have reacted quickly

10th January 2014, 08:23 PM
Sreedhar Pillai ‏@sri50 (https://twitter.com/sri50)35s (https://twitter.com/sri50/status/421655697214816256)
#Jilla (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Jilla&src=hash) - 3/5 Vijay plays 2 his strengths & is going back 2 his core mass audiences. His scenes & dialogues with @Mohanlal (https://twitter.com/Mohanlal) r awesome.

Mr.GreyShirt
10th January 2014, 08:25 PM
People are saying the second half is too lengthy. Are they just filler scenes and can they be edited out?

10th January 2014, 08:34 PM
There are few scenes which have zero relevance to the subject and will have no impact if cut. A good editor couldve done wonders. Don Max (who came in as a replacement for Praveen-Srikanth) is to be blamed. I also noticed few times where the next scene comes all of a sudden even before the dialogue from the previous scene is fully heard. These are all basics.

Scotthvm
10th January 2014, 08:36 PM
Only Kollywood @OnlyKollywood :
Official : #Jilla will be trimmed for 10 mins and the changes made will be effective from tonight show.
wow super,apo negative ila ie lengthy.apo racy entertainerdhan ,ana hapyna.........iam very happy

10th January 2014, 08:40 PM
I thought Brahmandam was a part of Jilla. Was there any change in the middle or were his scenes removed?

One shooting spot still

http://gallery.oneindia.in/on-the-sets/jilla/photos-c29-e43114-p350406.html

Brahmanandam portions which were shot with #Vijay (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Vijay&src=hash) 4 Jilla is 4 Telugu dubbed version.

10th January 2014, 08:42 PM
Brahmanandam portions which were shot with #Vijay (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Vijay&src=hash) 4 Jilla is 4 Telugu dubbed version.

oh ok ..... When is that releasing?

tamilan99
10th January 2014, 08:43 PM
I was praying Jilla wouldn't be close to 3 hours and too much action fight scenes, and thats what happened. Family and general audiences dont want 3 hour movies. with the intermission break and song which in itself is a break makes people tired, bored and hard to sit through giving negative experiences.

Every freaking time directors and producers won't learn the lesson. keep the movie short as possible, why keep unnecessary scenes in movie, movies dont need 5 songs for the sake of putting songs.

Mr.GreyShirt
10th January 2014, 08:43 PM
Donmax has a pretty bad movie lineups in tamil including Sura :shudder:

tamilan99
10th January 2014, 08:44 PM

RB Choudary said he plans to remake Jilla with a Telugu hero.

tamilan99
10th January 2014, 08:45 PM
Donmax has a pretty bad movie lineups in tamil including Sura :shudder:

blaming Don Max on everything in not write. it all comes down to the directors, who has the final say.

Mr.GreyShirt
10th January 2014, 08:47 PM
blaming Don Max on everything in not write. it all comes down to the directors, who has the final say.

I'm not blaming him, I'm just judging his editing skills

CEDYBLUE
10th January 2014, 08:52 PM
Way to go Cedyblue, what else a fan could expect. Glad that you had an wonderful outside and inside theater view experience. I hope you still got your voice intact for the Abirami show, LoL.

And a very good write up there.

Thanks Mappi Ji :)

My voice always stays intact because i only 'watch' others celebrate and enjoy the hysteria :) Maybe, my ear drums needs a checking though :).

CEDYBLUE
10th January 2014, 08:53 PM
Excellent review brother :notworthy:

Thanks Kumaran :)

CEDYBLUE
10th January 2014, 08:55 PM

LoL, the desperation to somehow 'connect' a Vijay movie to a Telugu movie and tag it as a 'remake' is always there :)

10th January 2014, 08:58 PM
The desperation to announce the winner too soon is also evident

10th January 2014, 09:04 PM
TFU Kannan suddenly pamming.. :lol2:

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 09:06 PM
Sreedhar pillai a most senior critic eh genuine ah irukar in reviews.. TFUKKANNAN - a fan of tat star hiding behind the "critic" mask ne ena da pammura :lol:

Rogerusabe
10th January 2014, 09:10 PM
TFU Kannan suddenly pamming.. :lol2:

He is rotfl kannan.

Scotthvm
10th January 2014, 09:23 PM
telugula release panrangala.but today news paperla jillava remake panradhairukanga ie mahesbabu or ntr poturiundhanga,kanadala already vangitangalam and hindila kuda vangaraudha solirundhanga

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 09:29 PM
At rakki cinemas! https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-h.ak/hphotos-ak-ash3/999923_510578229055356_414761860_n.jpg

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 09:29 PM
Kolly360° ‏@Kolly360
France FDFS Clash
#Jilla- 2 Shows 840 entries = 12600€
#Veeram 1 Show 404 Entries = 6060€

selvamohankumar
10th January 2014, 09:30 PM
I could see desperation from opposite camp to say only their movie is hit and ours is average, they are bashing all the reviewers who are voting jilla better and requesting to be honest. I could see even in here in their thread saying senior reviewers must have guts to write true review, if at all their movie is good let it be why cant the other movie be hit? Why are trying to prove they are the winners, we know the truth.. In my place in US, the show was housefull for Jilla, 5 ppl watched veeram.. ithellam sonna nammava poranga.. Ithellam solli namma padam than better nu sanda podanuma inna.. Unga padam nalla iruntha parunga, epadiyum collections figures varum appo parunga!! Why within single day of release they want to be winner ;). On top they never watch Jilla and they want to prove veeram is winner, i saw a guy in twitter with veeram still on desperately saying movie is boring all sorts even before the first show was started..

Friend nu sonnalum, please engala friend ethukongo kejinom nu pesinanga.. Sari mothi parkalam irankina ipadi avanga padamtha pathi thuli kuda kandukama, nama padam slow, lengthy boring nu all sorts of talk to bring it down. Sort of a weird attitude though..

Anyways this is wat expected.. Jilla padam epadi irunthathu partha namaku theriyum... Masala padam, masala padam mari than irukum.. Steven speilberg direct panala, neason thanae panaru, second padathuku he has done enough justice. Worth the money i spent..

Family audience inna solrangu coming days theriyum :P athu varaikum summa, nanga than jeichom comedy la panna vendam...

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 09:44 PM
:lol2: box office ku newbie la apdi than bayapaduvanga.. Pongal 2007 repeat aayida koodathanu oru bayam than :lol: free ya vidunga!!

Mr.GreyShirt
10th January 2014, 09:45 PM
I haven't seen the movies yet even so some reviews make me wanna facepalm

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 09:45 PM
LALETTAN BOYS ‏@LALETTAN_BOYS
Maranamass all over kerala. Expecting record 1st day collection

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 09:46 PM
LALETTAN BOYS ‏@LALETTAN_BOYS
Maranamass all over kerala. Expecting record 1st day collection

10th January 2014, 09:53 PM
Loved the movie... Could have trimmed some dialogues !! That's the only negative for me... And :banghead: Censor Board... They disc suthify during Jingunamani song... :sad: Plus the stunts are a bit lengthy !! Needs some trimming seriously... Otherwise loved the movie.... And a big thank you to Imman.... Kept us hooked to the fights !!

10th January 2014, 10:02 PM
Seeing the movie tonight here.. all excited... Trimming news is it true? Are they really trimming 10 mins from the second half??

tamilan99
10th January 2014, 10:07 PM
Loved the movie... Could have trimmed some dialogues !! That's the only negative for me... And :banghead: Censor Board... They disc suthify during Jingunamani song... :sad: Plus the stunts are a bit lengthy !! Needs some trimming seriously... Otherwise loved the movie.... And a big thank you to Imman.... Kept us hooked to the fights !!

are you talking about double meaning dialogues?

Rogerusabe
10th January 2014, 10:14 PM
Pillai too playing safe. But sollama silatha nasuka solitaar :lol2:

Surprised part is jaldrawoods. May be thanks to jaldra is missed this time :wink:

Rogerusabe
10th January 2014, 10:32 PM
I could see desperation from opposite camp to say only their movie is hit and ours is average, they are bashing all the reviewers who are voting jilla better and requesting to be honest. I could see even in here in their thread saying senior reviewers must have guts to write true review, if at all their movie is good let it be why cant the other movie be hit? Why are trying to prove they are the winners, we know the truth.. In my place in US, the show was housefull for Jilla, 5 ppl watched veeram.. ithellam sonna nammava poranga.. Ithellam solli namma padam than better nu sanda podanuma inna.. Unga padam nalla iruntha parunga, epadiyum collections figures varum appo parunga!! Why within single day of release they want to be winner ;). On top they never watch Jilla and they want to prove veeram is winner, i saw a guy in twitter with veeram still on desperately saying movie is boring all sorts even before the first show was started..

Friend nu sonnalum, please engala friend ethukongo kejinom nu pesinanga.. Sari mothi parkalam irankina ipadi avanga padamtha pathi thuli kuda kandukama, nama padam slow, lengthy boring nu all sorts of talk to bring it down. Sort of a weird attitude though..

Anyways this is wat expected.. Jilla padam epadi irunthathu partha namaku theriyum... Masala padam, masala padam mari than irukum.. Steven speilberg direct panala, neason thanae panaru, second padathuku he has done enough justice. Worth the money i spent..

Family audience inna solrangu coming days theriyum :P athu varaikum summa, nanga than jeichom comedy la panna vendam...

pillai guts oda soli irundha :rotfl: .

10th January 2014, 10:34 PM
Dhananjayan Govind ‏@Dhananjayang (https://twitter.com/Dhananjayang)39s (https://twitter.com/Dhananjayang/status/421687610084315136)
#Jilla (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Jilla&src=hash) is a total mass entertainer with a deadly combo of Vijay & @Mohanlal (https://twitter.com/Mohanlal) ... both rocked in the film & enjoyed their screen chemistry:-)

GSV
10th January 2014, 10:43 PM
All reviews :thumbsup: :smokesmirk:

10th January 2014, 10:44 PM
@Eros,SL. Thanks to Printhan

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1554538_10153697306820375_1475663385_n.jpg

10th January 2014, 10:45 PM
Watched jilla after veeram :) again not bad..quite entertaining..3 hrs abit long though..one thing that was annoying was the over-the-top dialogues/screaming..

Rogerusabe
10th January 2014, 10:50 PM
Tammu fan you too playing safe? :lol2: . Just kidding

10th January 2014, 10:53 PM
Theres no reason for me to play safe...my opinions are always neutral.. :poke:

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 11:03 PM
Sibiraj Via Twitter : ‪#‎Jilla ‬Marana mass! Vijay anna and Lal sir chemistry was amazing! Anna's style and Lal sir's majestic appearance incomparable!Blockbuster!

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 11:05 PM
Jilla'ku positive reviews thara critics kita la poi oppaari vekkuthunga :lol2: ithungala ena solradhu :rotfl:

selvamohankumar
10th January 2014, 11:07 PM
Jilla'ku positive reviews thara critics kita la poi oppaari vekkuthunga :lol2: ithungala ena solradhu :rotfl:

Athu than en kelviyum.. Rendu padam nalla poga kudatha inna?

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 11:13 PM
SouthIndianMovies ‏@southindianmovi
#jilla alltime record collection for opening day in #kerala on the way..housefull shows reported in all theatres. 2crore plus expecting

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 11:13 PM
Sibiraj ‏@Sibi_Sathyaraj
#Jilla Marana mass! Vijay anna and Lal sir chemistry was amazing! Anna's style and Lal sir's majestic appearance incomparable!Blockbuster!

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 11:15 PM
BreakingViews ‏@BreakingViews4u
All Malayalam news channels covered #Jilla fans shows happened across Kerala

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 11:17 PM
Jilla theatre response at Kerala

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hds0QXYsxfg&feature=youtu.be

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 11:20 PM
Fans response at Kerala

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyHgyXvsJww&feature=youtu.be

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 11:21 PM
Mass at bangalore..
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-b.ak/hphotos-ak-prn2/s720x720/1504573_580898305320842_508975453_n.jpg

Kumaran.P
10th January 2014, 11:22 PM
Vjay at Devi Cineplex Earlier Today.
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-g.ak/hphotos-ak-frc3/1509044_10151960931641156_1186310946_n.png

tamilan99
10th January 2014, 11:24 PM
Watched jilla after veeram :) again not bad..quite entertaining..3 hrs abit long though..one thing that was annoying was the over-the-top dialogues/screaming..

is there too much fight scenes? is it a good family drama?
Vijay was good at underplaying in Thuppakki and Thalaivaa but heard he's back to old style in dialogue delievery?
be honest, you seem the give exact same review for both Jilla and Veeram?

SenGOEk
10th January 2014, 11:31 PM
JILLA RELEASE IN MALAYALAM NEWS CHANNEL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S-iw4vKjL-M

tamilan99
10th January 2014, 11:39 PM
please don't tell me Vijay's back to old style in dialogue deliery after underplaying in Nanban, Thuppaki and Thalaivaa?

11th January 2014, 12:12 AM
Pillai too playing safe. But sollama silatha nasuka solitaar :lol2:

Surprised part is jaldrawoods. May be thanks to jaldra is missed this time :wink:

Pillai is Vijay's well-wisher/family-friend. So he will give higher marks. This time, he played it safe, not sure why.

11th January 2014, 02:12 AM
Let Me Put This Way :

+ve's

¤ Vj - Mannerisms
¤ Mohanlal
¤ Comedy (Could have been much better)
¤ Songs (Intro,Kandaangi,Jingunamani)
¤ Biggest Plus is Imman's BGM :bow:
¤ Editing :clap: Don Max

-ve's

¤ Lengthy & drags at times
¤ Dialogues :( :( (For both Lal & Vj)
¤ Yeppa Maama Treatu disappoints
¤ Fight Scenes (Excess) Could have been crisp
¤ 1 particular Comedy Scene with Kajal

Final Verdict : Won't compare with previous movies but definitely not hitting the bull's eye.

Fav Scenes :

¤ Of course Vijay's Intro
¤ Climax Scene with Lal
¤ Soori Scenes (Except 1 or 2) Refraining from posting the exact scene as it'll be kinda spoiler
¤ Flashback scenes here & there. Sentiments :cry:

11th January 2014, 02:44 AM
Seeing the movie tonight here.. all excited... Trimming news is it true? Are they really trimming 10 mins from the second half??

Just returned from 2nd show. They did not trim.

Mr.GreyShirt
11th January 2014, 03:03 AM
Just returned from 2nd show. They did not trim.

How did you feel about the movie?

Freedom
11th January 2014, 03:04 AM
Let Me Put This Way :

+ve's

¤ Vj - Mannerisms
¤ Mohanlal
¤ Comedy (Could have been much better)
¤ Songs (Intro,Kandaangi,Jingunamani)
¤ Biggest Plus is Imman's BGM :bow:
¤ Editing :clap: Don Max

-ve's

¤ Lengthy & drags at times
¤ Dialogues :( :( (For both Lal & Vj)
¤.

Neenga Don max editing + nu solreenga. Indha thread uttu ellarum kilikaraanga?

Mr.GreyShirt
11th January 2014, 03:23 AM
It's their personal preferences. People were also praising the dialogues for both vijay and Lal

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 06:51 AM
Pillai is Vijay's well-wisher/family-friend. So he will give higher marks. This time, he played it safe, not sure why.

With so called critics in twitter, i feel he is the only person who gives compartively genuine review.

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 08:20 AM
#Jilla- Jan 11th Ad | Grand Success..
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bdqh3UwCcAAHi3T.jpg

11th January 2014, 08:24 AM
Rated 3.5/5 - Times Of India

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/jilla/movie-review/28650403.cms

It looks like Vijay has realized that he can be in mass masala films that are not only entertaining to his fan base but also to every segment in the audience. He did this earlier with films like Ghilli, Pokkiri and Thuppakki, and does it now with Jilla.

Shanker
11th January 2014, 08:25 AM
Watched it last night. It was a complete entertainer. In strictly fan terms, Jilla's mass almost equaled Thuppakki's class. Nice to see VJ do a fun movie after a serious film like Thalaivaa. It was not without it's problems however. Comedy could have been lots better. Kajal was basically wasted again. Songs choreography could have been better. Story wasn't anything special but the screenplay was racy enough. I enjoyed it completely in that 3 hours. Can't tell too much without giving important details away but Vijay has some pretty great dialogues.

And I think Sampath deserves special mention. Glad to see him back in Tamil cinema.

Shanker
11th January 2014, 08:26 AM
#Jilla- Jan 11th Ad | Grand Success..
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bdqh3UwCcAAHi3T.jpg

Wow, I did't say too much about Vijay because I did not want to spoil this. Looks like the cat is out of the back. I am surprised they managed to stop any leaks of Vijay in full Police uniform during filming.

Russelldwp
11th January 2014, 08:41 AM
Trichy venkatesa theatre

Russelldwp
11th January 2014, 08:45 AM
trichy oorvashi theatre

11th January 2014, 09:40 AM
Have they done the 10 min trimming? Which scenes were cut? Planning to watch the trimmed version.

tamilan99
11th January 2014, 10:11 AM
Have they done the 10 min trimming? Which scenes were cut? Planning to watch the trimmed version.

Sandheep Shanmugaraj ‏@Dir_San
#Jilla trimmed version from today. Final duration 2hrs 40mins .. 20 Mins trimmed !

not sure, how true.

tamilan99
11th January 2014, 10:13 AM
i hope its trimmed everywhere even overseas. Ajay, Can they trim it overseas since they get the movie through HDD?

tamilan99
11th January 2014, 10:18 AM
Sreedhar Pillai ‏@sri50 7m
#Jilla update - 9 minutes of the film trimmed, now running time = 2 hrs 40 minutes.

11th January 2014, 10:24 AM
Actually the Super Goods Film Documentary runs for 8 minutes. So it'll be 16 minutes I think !!

11th January 2014, 10:26 AM
Wow, I did't say too much about Vijay because I did not want to spoil this. Looks like the cat is out of the back. I am surprised they managed to stop any leaks of Vijay in full Police uniform during filming.

:yes: Good twists here & there kept me hooked to the film !

11th January 2014, 10:29 AM
tamilan99,

Trimming is possible and is easy in HDD prints. Using a software, the scenes are marked and are skipped during the playback.

11th January 2014, 10:39 AM
Actress Vidyu Raman tweets that 10 of her scenes were cut ! :shock: She was tweeting alot expressing her happiness about her role but seems little disappointed now !

tamilan99
11th January 2014, 10:44 AM
Actress Vidyu Raman tweets that 10 of her scenes were cut ! :shock: She was tweeting alot expressing her happiness about her role but seems little disappointed now !

they need to cut some action/fight scenes, unnecessary scenes and maybe even a song.

11th January 2014, 10:46 AM
What? Supergood film documentary? Are they showing it?

11th January 2014, 10:54 AM
What model phone is Vijay using in Jilla? Is it a Grand?

tamilan99
11th January 2014, 10:58 AM
What? Supergood film documentary? Are they showing it?

Ajay, did they play for you? where did you watch and how long was movie for you without break?

tamilan99
11th January 2014, 10:59 AM
was vidyu raman scenes uncessary? how long is the scenes?
i would find having too much and too long fight scene to be dragging.

11th January 2014, 11:02 AM
I watched it in Dubai and there was no Supergood films doc. The running time was around 3 hrs including a 10 min interval

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 11:16 AM
MALAIMALAR REVIEW

மதுரையில் மிகப்பெரிய தாதாவான மோகன்லாலிடம் அடியாளாக இருக்கிறார் விஜய்-யின் அப்பா. ஒருநாள் மோகன்லாலின் மனைவியை பிரசவத்துக்கு அழைத்துச் செல்லும் வழியில் போலீஸ்காரர்களால் விஜய்-யின் அப்பா சுட்டுக் கொல்லப்படுகிறார். அன்றிலிருந்து விஜய்-க்கு போலீஸ் என்றாலே பிடிக்காமல் போய்விடுகிறது.

தனது அப்பாவை இழந்த விஜய், மோகன்லால் வீட்டில் அவரது மகனாகவே வளர்கிறார். வளர்ந்து பெரியவனானதும் மோகன்லால் கட்டளையிடும் வேலைகளை செய்து முடிப்பவராக விளங்குகிறார் விஜய். மோகன்லாலுக்கு மஹத், நிவேதா தாமஸ் என இரண்டு பிள்ளைகள்.

மதுரை வீதியில் ஒருநாள் காஜல் அகர்வாலை பார்க்கும் விஜய் அவள்மீது காதல் கொள்கிறார். மஹத், நிவேதா தாமஸிடம் சென்று காஜலின் அழகை வர்ணிக்கிறார். இதனால் அவர்களுக்கு காஜலைப் பார்க்கும் ஆசை துளிர்விடவே, காஜலின் வீட்டுக்கு விஜய்யை கூட்டிக் கொண்டு செல்கிறார்கள். அங்கு, அவளை போலீஸ் உடையில் பார்த்ததும், அவள் மீது வெறுப்பு கொள்கிறார் விஜய்.

மறுமுனையில் மதுரைக்கு போலீஸ் கமிஷனராக வரும் வித்யூத் ஜம்வால், விஜய் வீட்டில் இல்லாத சமயத்தில் வந்து மோகன்லாலை கைது செய்து அழைத்துப் போகிறார். அவரை போலீஸ் ஸ்டேஷனுக்கு அழைத்துப் போகாமல் போலீஸ் வண்டியிலேயே 5 மணி நேரம் மதுரையை வலம் வருகிறார். அப்போது மோகன்லாலிடம் ரவுடித்தனத்தை விட்டுவிடுமாறு வித்யூத் ஜம்வால் கூறுகிறார். ஆனால், மோகன்லால் ரவுடிசத்தை விடமுடியாது என்பதில் விடாப்பிடியாக இருக்கிறார். இறுதியில், மோகன்லாலை எச்சரித்துவிட்டு நடுரோட்டில் இறக்கிவிட்டு போய்விடுகிறார்.

இதை அறியும் விஜய், போலீஸ் ஸ்டேஷனுக்கு சென்று தன் அப்பாவை கைது செய்த வித்யூத் ஜம்வாலின் ஒரு கையை வெட்டி எடுத்து விடுகிறார். இருந்தும், தான் கைதான அவமானம் தாங்கமுடியாத மோகன்லால் தன்னுடைய ஆள் ஒருவர் போலீஸ் பணியில் இருந்தால் இதுபோன்று நடக்காது என முடிவெடுத்து, விஜய்யை போலீஸ் பணியில் அமர்த்த முடிவெடுக்கிறார். ஆனால், போலீஸ் என்ற வார்த்தையே பிடிக்காத விஜய் இதற்கு மறுப்பு தெரிவிக்கிறார்.

மோகன்லாலின் விருப்பத்திற்காக வேண்டா வெறுப்பாக போலீஸ் செலக்ஷனில் கலந்து கொள்கிறார். இருந்தாலும் மோகன்லால், மந்திரியான சம்பத்தின் உதவியால் விஜய்யை கமிஷனராக ஆக்குகிறார். கமிஷனராகும் விஜய், போலீஸ் உடை உடுத்தாமல், போலீஸ் ஸ்டேஷனுக்கு போகாமல் மோகன்லால் வீட்டிலேயே இருந்து வருகிறார்.

இந்நிலையில், ஒருநாள் மஹத் தனது அடியாட்களுடன் சென்று ஒரு இடத்தை வாங்குவதற்காக அடி-தடி நடத்தி அந்த இடத்தை துவம்சம் செய்துவிட்டு வருகிறார். இந்த கலவரத்தில் அந்த இடத்தில் இருக்கும் சிலிண்டர்களில் உள்ள வாயு கசிந்து சிலிண்டர்கள் எல்லாம் வெடித்து சிதறுகிறது. அந்த இடத்துக்கு அருகில் உள்ள பள்ளிக்கூடம் இந்த தீயிற்கு இரையாகிறது. இதில், பல குழந்தைகள் பலியாகின்றனர். இதையெல்லாம் பார்க்கும் விஜய் இதற்கு மோகன்லால்தான் காரணம் என்று அவர்மீது கோபப்படுகிறார்.

எனவே, அதுவரை கமிஷனர் பதவியை ஏற்காத விஜய், போலீஸ் உடை அணிந்துகொண்டு மோகன்லாலிடம் சென்று இனிமேல் இதுபோன்ற காரியங்களில் இறங்கவேண்டாம் என்று சொல்கிறார். தன்னால் வளர்ந்தவன் இன்று இப்படி தன்னை மிரட்டுகிறானே என்று விஜய் மீது கோபம் கொள்கிறார் மோகன்லால். இறுதியில், உன்னால் முடிந்ததை நீ செய்துகொள். என்னால் முடிந்ததை நான் செய்கிறேன் என்று சவால் விட்டு இருவரும் பிரிகிறார்கள்.

இறுதியில், யாரை, யார் பழிதீர்த்தார்கள்? என்பதே மீதிக்கதை.

விஜய் காமெடி, டான்ஸ், ஆக்ஷன் என அனைத்திலும் வெளுத்து வாங்குகிறார். போலீஸ் கெட்டப்பில் இவரை ஏற்கெனவே ரசித்த ரசிகர்களுக்கு மீண்டும் ஒரு விருந்து படைத்திருக்கிறார். இவருக்கு போட்டியாக மோகன்லாலும் நடிப்பில் களைகட்டுகிறார்.இருவரும் சவால் விடும் காட்சிகள் ரசிகர்களை வெகுவாக கவரும். மோகன்லால் வில்லனாக மிரட்டுவதிலும், பாசம் காட்டுவதிலும் தனது அனுபவப்பூர்வமான நடிப்பை வெளிப்படுத்தியிருக்கிறார்.

காஜல் அகர்வால் போலீஸ் கதாபாத்திரத்தில் வருகிறார். விஜய்-க்கு பயிற்சி கொடுக்கும் காட்சியில் ரசிகர்களை கவர்கிறார். சூரி, வித்யூத் ஜம்வால் ஆகியோர் ஒருசில காட்சிகளில் வந்துபோனாலும் மனதில் நிற்கிறார்கள். சம்பத் கதைக்கு ஒரு திருப்புமுனையாக வருகிறார். மந்திரி கெட்டப்பில் வில்லத்தனம் காட்டும் இவருடைய நடிப்பு அபாரம். பூர்ணிமா பாக்யராஜ் அம்மா கதாபாத்திரத்தில் மிளிர்கிறார். விஜய் தம்பி, தங்கையாக வரும் மஹத், நிவேதா தாமஸ் இருவரும் கடைசியில் ஏக்கத்துடன் அழும் காட்சி கண்களில் கண்ணீரை வரவழைக்கிறது.

புதுமுக இயக்குனரான நேசன் காதல், காமெடி, சென்டிமெண்ட் என அனைத்தும் கலந்த மசாலாவாக படத்தை கொடுத்திருக்கிறார். ஆக்சன் காட்சிகளை படமாக்கிய விதம் அருமை. டி.இமான் இசையில் விஜய்-மோகன்லால் அறிமுகமாகும் பாடல் ஆட்டம் போட வைக்கிறது. அந்த பாடல் படமாக்கிய விதம் பிரம்மாண்டத்தை காட்டுகிறது. கணேஷ் ராஜவேலு ஒளிப்பதிவு ஆக்சன் காட்சிகளில் காட்சியோடு ஒன்ற வைக்கிறது. பாடல்கள் படமாக்கிய விதம் அருமை.

மொத்தத்தில் ‘ஜில்லா’ களைகட்டுகிறது

http://www.maalaimalar.com/2014/01/10122149/actor-vijay-jilla-tamil-review.html

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 11:20 AM
Gayathri Raguramm ‏@gayathriraguram
Jilla very very nice vijay sir super.

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 11:32 AM
Will be watchin in sometime. Will let u know about trimmed version

11th January 2014, 11:34 AM
Yes ! Highlighting their past history !

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 12:36 PM
Finally someone with guts :lol2:

TOI
Veeram- 3/5
Jilla - 3.5/5

500+ seat theatres la jilla release aagi kala katuthu theatre ilama 100 seat theatre padathuku scene :lol:

11th January 2014, 12:39 PM
Super :clap: padam paathachu....

Plain and simple story ...neat presentation
Lal etta sema screen presence...
3 song ultimate to see on screen... 1 was not placed riight... erunthaalum dance terrific :clap:
neraya interesting twists...
Soori comedy timing many places it has worked toa great extent....
cute sentiments throughout the movie...
Ilaya Thalapathy sema style, few scenes to highlight his acting :clap: cute romance as always...

half 2nd konjam trim panni erukalam (vendatha thangachi scenes...)
Kajal no work on screen..
a bit loud...
dialogs could have been better...

Ella padamum THUppaki mathiri erukanumnu ethir pakurathu thappu... I am happy, this is the Vijay I would like to see on screen :bow:

gane14
11th January 2014, 12:51 PM
Cinematography and costume selection were top notch, for me the best for Vijay off late..

Going for 2nd time again on sunday :-D

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 01:08 PM
Masalaglitz
veeram- 3.5
Jilla - 3.75

11th January 2014, 01:36 PM
Forgot to mention about Costumes... We've seen enough of jackets over shirts... Thalaivaa pls switch over to t-shirts... Each & every frame of you in t-shirts just bowl me over... So handsome !!

11th January 2014, 01:44 PM
Youth pierce with swords for Jilla in Tamil Nadu

Salem: Blood sputtered out of 18-year-old Aravindan’s back as six sharp swords pierced through his spinal flesh. Perched on a 30 feet high crane, Aravindan came out in a procession on the Salem streets showing no hint of pain. “All for my Thalaiva Vijay’s film,” gushed Aravindan, a construction worker. His teenaged relatives, S. Mohanraj a construction worker and V. Balu a plumber, too had poked their backs with swords to propitiate the Gods for their matinee idol Vijay.

The Vijay fans had offered to perform the traditional “alagu kuthuthal” (sword piercing) ritual if their favourite star’s movie Jilla had a smooth release before Pongal. “I had taken an oath before my village deity Mariamman that I would pierce my back with swords if Jilla is released today (Friday),” Aravindan said.

Aravindan’s family is traditionally engaged in assisting devotees to perform the “alagu kuthuthal”. On Friday, Aravindan and his friends had pooled in Rs 25,000 for the ritual and the procession. Vijay’s previous two movies were stuck in controversies and the releases were delayed, leading to financial loss.

Passersby on the busy Bangalore bypass were stunned as they saw the three youth hoisted on to a crane with sharp swords stuck in their back. They pierced their back at Narasodhipatti and went on a procession for about two kms before they reached the ARRS multiplex theatre. “I have been a Vijay fan for the last 15 years. I love his dance and acting. He is my hero forever,” said Aravindan, as the crowd of Vijay fans burst crackers and beat drums to mark the launch of Jilla. By Friday evening, Aravindan and his friends had already watched two shows of Jilla.

:arrow: DC

11th January 2014, 01:45 PM
Hindustan Times : 2/5 Praises Mohanlal's Acting !!

11th January 2014, 01:54 PM
Yeppa Mama treatu has been deleted

Dammy R
11th January 2014, 02:02 PM
Bangalore mirror gives 3.5 rating. Calls it a Mass and Class film...and a perfect Pongal movie that has all the trappings of a blockbuster.

aceqoxim
11th January 2014, 02:44 PM
Watched it. Loved it. Mark my words, this movie will be the official box office winner, especially due to his family audience base.

Where I watched? Every, MegaCGR. It was packed on a weekday afternoon show in France.

Coming to the movie, I don't understand the complaints about length in second half, if anything it was the first half I found a bit lengthy. Lal- bowled me over. His screen presence, that charisma and I loved how Vijay sometimes knew how to play second fiddle to his majestic command of screen. Soori was okay, Kajal- why was she there?, Poornima-adequate, Mahat- didn't annoy me as much on screen and pleasantly surprised me with his performance in his final sequence with Vijay, Thambi Ramaiah did what was expected of him, so did the sister.

Now coming to the man, I've loved since I was 3, as much as I loved all his mannerism and dialogue delivery, he still needs to emote better, it's pretty evident when he is performing next to a star like Lal. He did manage to hold his own in a few scenes with Lal, so I'm not even close to disappointed with his performance. He is capable of so much more as an actor, but we'll see that in his next pproject. If you guys loved Pokkiri, you'd definitely love Jilla. It's Vijay's commercial avatar again, what with his cute expressions that attracts kids and family, this pongal Jilla is the sureshot winner.

P.S. special mention goes to Imman. Usually songs are considered speed breakers for a racy commerical flick, but his songs were so pleasant and foot tapping that people in theater forgot to moan about it. His BGM definitely raises the standard of the film by few notches. Especially so in the climax fight sequence. Well done, Imman

Shanker
11th January 2014, 03:05 PM
Watched it. Loved it. Mark my words, this movie will be the official box office winner, especially due to his family audience base.

Where I watched? Every, MegaCGR. It was packed on a weekday afternoon show in France.

Coming to the movie, I don't understand the complaints about length in second half, if anything it was the first half I found a bit lengthy. Lal- bowled me over. His screen presence, that charisma and I loved how Vijay sometimes knew how to play second fiddle to his majestic command of screen. Soori was okay, Kajal- why was she there?, Poornima-adequate, Mahat- didn't annoy me as much on screen and pleasantly surprised me with his performance in his final sequence with Vijay, Thambi Ramaiah did what was expected of him, so did the sister.

Now coming to the man, I've loved since I was 3, as much as I loved all his mannerism and dialogue delivery, he still needs to emote better, it's pretty evident when he is performing next to a star like Lal. He did manage to hold his own in a few scenes with Lal, so I'm not even close to disappointed with his performance. He is capable of so much more as an actor, but we'll see that in his next pproject. If you guys loved Pokkiri, you'd definitely love Jilla. It's Vijay's commercial avatar again, what with his cute expressions that attracts kids and family, this pongal Jilla is the sureshot winner.

P.S. special mention goes to Imman. Usually songs are considered speed breakers for a racy commerical flick, but his songs were so pleasant and foot tapping that people in theater forgot to moan about it. His BGM definitely raises the standard of the film by few notches. Especially so in the climax fight sequence. Well done, Imman

Ah yes I forgot about Imman's BGM. It fits really well with the slow motion action shots. I also liked the religious chanting theme used for Lal.

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 04:09 PM
Done with 3rd time! The movie is racy , could see vijay's comic sense has improved a lot and his mass , charisma everything neatly executed.. few stunts were executed superb. I loved Verasa visuals among all..
lal was great , all majestic and roaring in many places..
while watching thalaivaa movie on 3rd time, Felt bit draggy in 2nd half . But jilla is still racy and kept me engaged till the climax..

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 04:15 PM
Soori WAS USED well. His timing comics evoked great laughter.
And Imman :notworthy: a major strength of the film. His bgm for both lal and thalaivar :goosebumps: :thumbsup: brilliant guy!
Vijay's costumes were top class.. and vijay's body language, change in modulation , walk etc are great to watch.. liked that vijay's walk after reporters and people thanked lal from out of his home.. great applause for vijay's mass scenes.. operation clean part was kickass!

11th January 2014, 04:19 PM
Yeppa Mama treatu has been deleted

This was not removed in today's noon show that I saw. Not sure if this is the right choice for removal given that fans were enjoying this song particularly. I feel the action sequence in the RK episode can be trimmed.

11th January 2014, 04:21 PM
How many of you noted the Goundamani step in Jingunamani song ? Could have been repeated a couple more times. Too short for the general audience to take note.

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 05:00 PM
SIMoviesUSA ‏@SIMoviesUSA
Btw battle of #Veeram & #Jilla opening Friday clearly belongs to #Jilla in USA.More than content audience prefer star combo of Vijay & Lal

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 05:21 PM
Positive Reviews Everywhere :smokesmirk:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdsDLCnCQAAvxMS.jpg

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 05:22 PM
Kerala 1st day collection said to be 2.61crs! Marana mass..

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 05:23 PM
BreakingViews ‏@BreakingViews4u h
Reports: #Jilla Kerala day 1 early estimates 2.5 crore *yet to confirm*

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 06:37 PM
Epa mama treat trimmed :(. Wish jingunamani was

11th January 2014, 06:51 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=lHj56yo78iE

GSV
11th January 2014, 06:53 PM
Finally watched.. totally enjoyed and liked it..
no dull moments till ending..Vidyu lekha scene ellam remove pannitaanga..
On contrary to most reviews, enaku second half la ellam scenum romba puduchidhu...No unwanted scenes(oru song ah thavira).. WOM was so good theatre la..
Thalaivar.. all area la ghilli.. home ground la kekkava venum :smokesmirk:
Dir.Nesan romba nalla panni irukar.. did not disappoint.. Song picturisation and choreography thaan big let down.. jingunumani song ah thookittu anga eppa maama treat song pottrukalaam..
Complete mass entertainer.. Kandippa close to BB or super hit.. :iamhappy:

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 06:59 PM
Hindi,telegu and kannada actors fighting for jilla remake rights.
Ofcourse Jeikara/hitagara padatha thaana remake panuvanga. :lol2:

GSV
11th January 2014, 07:00 PM
JILLA pongal for sure..

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 08:25 PM
Seems the trimmed version is working out big time.. a friend who complained about length when he watched first time is saying now movie is racy and engaging after watching the trimmed version.. :thumbsup:

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 08:41 PM
#Jilla has collected $60,000 on Friday in USA.

11th January 2014, 09:30 PM
Seeing many tweets and posts as if the there is a huge difference in the number of shows between Jilla and Veeram at Mayajaal ..... the difference is actually only 7 for tomorrow's shows and the gap actually seems lesser than Friday's number of shows

Tomorrow

Veeram - 42 shows
Jilla - 35

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 09:31 PM
RT @elkay14: @BreakingViews4u @,mithunraman yes ur right on target it is indeed 2,61cr in kerala day1 #jilla

11th January 2014, 09:33 PM
Seeing many tweets and posts as if the there is a huge difference in the number of shows between Jilla and Veeram at Mayajaal ..... the difference is actually only 7 for tomorrow's shows and the gap actually seems lesser than Friday's number of shows

Tomorrow

Veeram - 42 shows
Jilla - 35

I think they meant shows from Monday. Veeram 41 and Jilla 30 shows as of now.

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 09:33 PM
We have set opening day record collection in Kerala:smokesmirk:..Now it will be a dream for other actors to come close to this opening day record collection..

11th January 2014, 09:37 PM
I think they meant shows from Monday. Veeram 41 and Jilla 30 shows as of now.

Got it .... but will close up I think as more neutral reviews are coming up ..... Hindu la Bharadwaj Rangan has kalaichified both the movies :) and given the bottomline as

Bottomline: Well, if you’re a fan, do you really need a bottomline?

CEDYBLUE
11th January 2014, 09:42 PM
Got it .... but will close up I think as more neutral reviews are coming up ..... Hindu la Bharadwaj Rangan has kalaichified both the movies :) and given the bottomline as

Bottomline: Well, if you’re a fan, do you really need a bottomline?

Lol, i was looking forward to reading it tomorrow :)
I used to enjoy Malathi Rangarajan's reviews though :) She always had something positive to write about Vijay and his movies :)

11th January 2014, 09:46 PM
Lol, i was looking forward to reading it tomorrow :)
I used to enjoy Malathi Ranganathan's reviews though :) She always had something positive to write about Vijay and his movies :)

Malathi Rangarajan's reviews were closer to how I had felt when I watched those movies...They are never sarcastic ...... I even remember a slightly positive Review from her for Pudhiya Geethai :)

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 09:54 PM
Forget it. They get only 100 seat theatre. We are king of single screen big theatres.

11th January 2014, 09:56 PM
Malathi Rangarajan she is..

11th January 2014, 09:58 PM

yeah...copy pasted for Cedy's post :) corrected now

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 09:58 PM
Mayajal la oru matter eh ila... even after spreading fake reviews for jilla with fake accounts like tfukannan we lead in day 1 collection :smokesmirk: inime jaldrawoods kaapathuna matum than undu!

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 09:59 PM
King of Opening la always thalaivar than!! Proved now.

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:02 PM
தயாரிப்பாளருடன் பேசாமலிருந்த மோகன்லாலைப் பேச வைத்த ஜில்லா வெற்றி!

ஜில்லா படத்தின் வெற்றியை கண்கூடாக உணர்ந்த பிறகு, பல ஆண்டுகள் பேசாமலிருந்த தனது தயாரிப்பாளருக்கு போன்போட்டு பேசியுள்ளார் நடிகர் மோகன்லால்.
அரண் என்ற பெயரில் ஒரு படம் வந்தது நினைவிருக்கலாம். இந்தப் படத்தின் ஹீரோ மோகன்லால். கார்கில் போர் பின்னணியில் வந்த இந்தப் படம் மலையாளத்தில் கீர்த்தி சக்கரா என்ற பெயரில் வெளியானது. டப்பிங்கின் போது தமிழில் மோகன்லாலுக்கு குரல் கொடுத்தவர் ராஜீவ்.ஆனால் உண்மையில் இந்தப் படத்துக்கு தமிழிலும் மோகன்லாலே பேச வேண்டும் என்று விரும்பினாராம் படத்தின் தயாரிப்பாளர் ஆர்பி சவுத்ரி. ஆனால் மோகன்லால் பேச மறுத்துவிட, அவருக்கு தமிழில் குரல் கொடுத்தவர் நடிகர் ராஜீவ். இதனால் மோகன்லாலுக்கும் ஆர்பி சவுத்திரிக்கும் பேச்சுவார்த்தையே இல்லாமல் போய்விட்டதாம்.

ஜில்லா கதையை உருவாக்கும்போதே மோகன்லாலை மனதில் வைத்து உருவாக்கியதாக இயக்குநர் ஆர்டி நேசன் சொல்ல, அதற்கு விஜய்யும் சம்மதித்துவிட்டதால் அமைதியாக இருந்துவிட்டாராம் ஆர்பி சவுத்ரி.ஜில்லா படம் உருவாகும்போதுகூட, மோகன்லாலுடன் நேரடியாக எதுவுமே பேசியதில்லையாம் சவுத்ரி. எல்லாம் இயக்குநர் மூலம்தானாம்.இப்போது படம் வெளியாகி, உலகெங்கும் பெரும் வரவேற்பு கிடைத்ததும், மோகன்லாலே ஆர்பி சவுத்ரிக்கு போன் செய்தாராம். பழையதை மறந்துவிடுவோம் என்று கூறியதோடு, ஜில்லா மாதிரி வெற்றிப் படத்தில் நடிக்க வாய்ப்பு தந்ததற்கும், அந்தப் படத்தை கேரளாவில் விநியோகம் செய்ய உரிமை தந்ததற்கும் நன்றி தெரிவித்தாராம்.

இதனை தயாரிப்பாளர் ஆர்பி சவுத்ரியே இன்று நிருபர்களிடம் கூறினார்.

"மோகன்லால் ஜில்லா படத்தின் ஹீரோக்களில் ஒருவர் மட்டுமல்ல, கேரள விநியோகஸ்தரும்கூட. அதனால் அவருக்கு இந்த வெற்றியின் பிரமாண்டம் புரிந்திருக்கிறது. அதை என்னுடன் பேசும் போதும் கூறினார். ஜில்லா வெற்றி எங்கள் இருவரையும் சேர்த்துவிட்டது," என்றார் ஆர்பி சவுத்ரி.

http://tamil.oneindia.in/movies/news/jilla-success-renews-rb-chowdhry-mohanlal-friendship-191262.html

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:06 PM
First Day Box Office Collections of 'Jilla' and 'Veeram'

Vijay’s ‘Jilla’ and Ajith’s ‘Veeram’ released yesterday amid much hype and hoopla. Fans and Movie Buffs took to social-networking sites to share their views on the films.

So who came up trumps?

Here’s all you need to know about the response, budget and first day box-office collections.

Jilla:
‘Jilla’ received mostly positive reviews from reviewers and fans. The film runs up to 182 minutes (3hrs), this was considered be a downside for the film.
Sources say, the makers are now planning to trim the film by about 10 mins.

Budget: Close to 50 Cr
Screened in: over 1150 screens worldwide
(Released in more than 10 countries including India, UK, USA, Australia and Srilanka)
First Day Collections: 10 -12 Cr

Veeram:
‘Veeram’ also received positive reviews with reviewers who labelled it a family entertainer. Fans of the actor bragged about a particular Train Stunt sequence on all social networking sites.
Budget: 40 Cr
Screened in: over 790 screens worldwide
(Released in 13 countries including India, UK, USA, South Africa, Denmark, Germany, France, Belgium, Australia, Switzerland, Singapore, Canada, Holland and Sri Lanka)
First Day Collections: 9.3 C

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/140111/entertainment-kollywood/article/first-day-box-office-collections-jilla-and-veeram

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:08 PM
King of Opening.. Thalapathy da..:smokesmirk:

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:09 PM
Ajay ‏@uktamilbo h
We even spotted a White-English family enjoying #Jilla thanks to @rekhshc subtitles! Feels good to see Non-Tamilians enjoying our movies!

aceqoxim
11th January 2014, 10:25 PM
Ajay ‏@uktamilbo h
We even spotted a White-English family enjoying #Jilla thanks to @rekhshc subtitles! Feels good to see Non-Tamilians enjoying our movies!

Not a suprising incident. UK is Vijay's fort, kids and teens over there love him. I myself have dragged my mates (English) to Thalaivaa and Thuppaki. Some of them are more keen than me to watch his movie fdfs. They love and are amused by how we treat a movie release like it's a celebration.

Don't know what makes him click in UK but even mokka movies like Sura ran housefull for the first few days.

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 10:26 PM
R.B Choudhary : We are very happy with #Jilla. Distributors are too happy!

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:28 PM
‘ஜில்லா’வுக்கு பேனர் வைத்த கலாபவன் மணி!

ஒரு திரைப்படத்தை வரவேற்று கட்-அவுட் மற்றும் ஃப்ளெக்ஸ் பேனர்கள் வைப்பது, பாலாபிஷேகம் செய்வது போன்ற காரியங்களில் ஈடுபடுவது பெரும்பாலும் அந்தப் படம் சம்பந்தப்பட்ட நடிகர்களின் ரசிகர்களாக இருப்பார்கள்! ஆனால் கேரளாவில் நேற்று வெளியாகிய ’ஜில்லா’ படத்தை வரவேற்று (‘ஜில்லா’வுடன் எந்த சம்பந்தமும் இல்லாத…) ஒரு பிரபல நடிகர் ஃப்ளெக்ஸ் பேனர் வைத்து எல்லாரையும் வியக்க வைத்தார் என்றால் நம்புகிறீர்களா? நீங்கள் நம்பிதான் ஆக வேண்டும்! அந்த நடிகர் வேறு யாருமல்ல, ஏராளமான மலையாள படங்களில் கதாநாயகனாக நடித்தவரும், பல தமிழ் படங்களில் வில்லனாக நடித்தவருமான கலாபவன் மணி தான்!

கலாபவன் மணியின் சொந்த ஊர் எர்ணாகுளம் பக்கத்திலுள்ள சாலக்குடி! இங்குள்ள சுரபி தியேட்டரில் நேற்று ‘ஜில்லா’ படம் வெளியாக, காலை காட்சியை பார்க்க நிறைய ரசிகர்கள் கூடியிருந்தார்கள்! திடீரென்று ஒரு பேனருடன் அங்கு வந்த கலாபவன் மணியை பார்த்ததும் ரசிகர்களின் உற்சாகம் இரு மடங்காகியது! கலாபவன் மணி எடுத்து வந்திருந்த ஃப்ளெக்ஸ் பேனரை தியேட்டருக்கு முன் வைக்கப்பட்டதும் அங்கு கூடியிருந்த ரசிகர்கள் மகிழ்ச்சியுடன் ஆராவாரமிட்டனர்! கலாபவன் மணி வைக்கப்பட்ட அந்த பேனரில், ‘நட்சத்திர ராஜா’வான மோகன்லாலும், தமிழகத்தின் ‘இளைய தளபதி’ விஜய்யும் இணைந்து நடித்த ’ஜில்லா’ வெற்றிபெற இந்த சிறிய கலைஞனின் வாழ்த்துக்கள்’ என்று பொருள்படும் படி மலையாளத்தில் குறிப்பிட்டிருக்கிறார். மற்ற ஹீரோக்கள் நடித்த ஒரு படத்தை வரவேற்றும், அவர்களுக்கு வாழ்த்து சொல்லியும், முன்னணி நடிகராக இருக்கும் ஒருவர் பேனர் வைத்த இந்த சம்பவம் சினிமாவில் அனைவரையும் பேசவைத்துள்ளது!

http://top10cinema.com/article/tl/23794/jilla-kalabhavan-mani-put-the-banner

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 10:33 PM
This scene :2thumbsup:
Vijay's walking style :clap: gethu..
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-d.ak/hphotos-ak-ash3/s720x720/1525616_657740564264512_1518197787_n.jpg

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:35 PM
sivakumar ‏@bosssiva
@sri50 after trimming 2nd half looks very racy . Super duper hit . By boss siva TT area jilla distributor

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:37 PM
RBC:I had some issues wit lal sir due to Aran.But still he called n thanked me from dubai yesterday for givin him a big bb in tamil

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:41 PM
AndhraBoxOffice.Com ‏@AndhraBoxOffice
1st Day India Nett Collections

JILLA - http://andhraboxoffice.com/info.aspx?id=516&cid=6&fid=714
The other pongal release - http://andhraboxoffice.com/info.aspx?id=517&cid=6&fid=741

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 10:46 PM
Right now Vijay and Vikram are watching #JILLA in sathyam Cinemas together

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:47 PM
Kerala's opening day record collection before JILLA was Mohanlal's Casanova around 2.27cr.. Jilla has beaten that with 2.61cr collection in day1..:smokesmirk:

SenGOEk
Right now Vijay and Vikram are watching #JILLA in sathyam Cinemas together

Good friends indeed..

Kumaran.P
Getting reports that many big people and VVIP's from Tamil Cinema Industry are now watching #JILLA in sathyam Cinemas

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 10:49 PM
Kerala's opening day record collection before JILLA was Mohanlal's Casanova around 2.27cr.. Jilla has beaten that with 2.61cr collection in day1..:smokesmirk:

top gear pottu thooku ma :thumbsup:

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 10:50 PM
Vijay and vikram in sathyam cinemas #jilla

aceqoxim
11th January 2014, 10:51 PM
AndhraBoxOffice.Com ‏@AndhraBoxOffice
1st Day India Nett Collections

JILLA - http://andhraboxoffice.com/info.aspx?id=516&cid=6&fid=714
The other pongal release - http://andhraboxoffice.com/info.aspx?id=517&cid=6&fid=741

Shows who 'King of Opening' title aptly belongs to. :)

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:52 PM
Rajasekar ‏@sekartweets
In overseas Vijay's #Jilla is leading at the day one BO . Especially reports in UK and USA shows that Jilla is leading there :)

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 10:53 PM
Shows who 'King of Opening' title aptly belongs to. :)

ada suma irunga. Aparam lotus, jasmine, rose nu aluvanga

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 10:56 PM
இதுவரை வந்த விஜய் படங்களிலேயே அதிக வசூல் ஜில்லாவுக்குதான்!- ஆர்பி சவுத்ரி

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 10:58 PM
Rajasekar ‏@sekartweets
In overseas Vijay's #Jilla is leading at the day one BO . Especially reports in UK and USA shows that Jilla is leading there :)

Tha. . . . oram po annan vararu paru.
All area annan ghilli da :smokesmirk:

SenGOEk
11th January 2014, 11:03 PM
Rajasekar ‏@sekartweets
As expected #Jilla's first day Kerala collection is said to be the highest ever for a Tamil film. #Mohanlal- #Vijay's super star power!

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 11:15 PM
Person from Malaysia - Really heart melting tweets
Raam @ParamasivamR 12m
Bought extra 1 ticket for my beloved Dad. He passed away 7 years a go.He is the biggest supporter or fanatic of ‪#‎ Vijay‬. 1/3
Raam @ParamasivamR 10m
I believe he was with me watch the movie.Cant control my emotion when saw ‪#‎ Mohan‬Lal & Vijay on screen. Remind me of my Dad.Super sad. 2/3
Raam @ParamasivamR 8m
Anyway happy now. Feel satisfied.Hope my Dad blessing with me on my Birthday today.Jilla is my birthday gift.Thank you to the whole team.

11th January 2014, 11:19 PM
This TFUKannan gave 6/10 for Thuppakki,huh? :rotfl2:

Rogerusabe
11th January 2014, 11:25 PM

:notthatway: he is the best movie critic in India :lol: . Rotflkannan name suits better to him

Kumaran.P
11th January 2014, 11:28 PM
ya bro.. and he gave 7.5/10 for one utter flop movie of the year 2012 :lol2: adikadi kondaiya maraika maranthudraan :lol:

11th January 2014, 11:56 PM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1604953_638958919496127_1887949356_n.jpg

12th January 2014, 01:10 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1013453_638996499492369_1414462608_n.jpg

GSV
12th January 2014, 01:44 AM
throughout the movie, Vijay's araathu body language was so cool.. loved it totally.. :notworthy:

CEDYBLUE
12th January 2014, 02:08 AM

Oopsy Daisy.......corrected it now :)

12th January 2014, 02:46 AM
Bangalore Mirror Review

Rating: 3.5/5

http://www.bangaloremirror.com/entertainment/reviews/Movie-review-Jilla/articleshow/28648850.cms

CEDYBLUE
12th January 2014, 02:55 AM
Good to see balanced reviews from experienced writers :)

12th January 2014, 02:56 AM
Good to see balanced reviews from experienced writers :)

Am guessing Ananda Vikatan to give 42

CEDYBLUE
12th January 2014, 03:14 AM
The difference between all these self-confessed online reviewers who were in a mad rush to present 'the first ever review worldwide' and the ones with experience are glaring.

I am wondering if it is right for a reviewer to write something based on his own whims/fancies or likes/dislikes. Almost everyone of these guys take one side or the other and the review shows.

Shouldnt a good review be a balance of personal opinion, audience reaction/response, market potential, etc, etc? Correct me if i am wrong.

The one thing that amused me was 'there is nothing new in the movie', 'run of the mill entertainer', 'usual commercial stuff' kinda masterpieces from the kaushiks and sekars.

I mean, what else did they expect out of Jilla when it was well documented that it was a commercial mass entertainer.

Adox
12th January 2014, 04:04 AM
Review from Haricharan- He had one for veeram (in the other thread) w/ spoilers so I just skimmed through and saw the verdict.

‘Tha-Mo’ - JILLA

I am probably one of the few people from the industry who reviews Tamil films especially in English. I can probably be likened to the proverbial ‘Mathallam’. On the one side my review may inadvertently hurt quite a few in the industry and on the other hand whenever I compliment a film the viewer will possibly feel that I am being supportive and partial to X,Y, or Z owing to my proximity and attachment to a number of people in the Tamil tinsel world. Anyways, fortune favours the brave so here’s my take on ‘JILLA’

Back story: - Vijay, Mohanlal, Kajal Agarwal,Soori, Sampath, Poornima Bhagyaraj, Mahat Raghavendra, Niveda Thomas, Pradeep Rawat, Thambi Ramaiah, Vidyullekha, R.K, & Ravi Mariya among many others.

For the sake of R.B.Chowdry: - Special Appearance by Jiiva

Directed by: R.T.Neason, Camera: Ganesh Rajavelu, Music: Imman, Edit:Don Max, Producer: R.B.Chowdry, Distributed by: Gemini Film Circuit, Studio: Super Good FilmsBudget: NA

The story, backdrop and setting (Screen play) The theme is refreshing and different for Tamil cinema, a rowdy (Vijay) who hates cops is forced to turn into one owing to his undying love for his father who happens to be the local don (Mohanlal).

The first half forms the backdrop of the entire story. Mohanlal the don is constantly under fear of death. On the way to the hospital with his ailing wife (Poornima Bhagyaraj) his driver (man Friday) among others is killed by a cop. This is watched by the driver’s son (young Vijay) and from that day on wards he despises any and every one in Khaki. Mohanlal adopts the orphan as his own and loves the kid as much his own son and daughter.

Characterization of young Vijay, requires special mention as the director has gone to great but unbelievable lengths to showcase the young Vijay’s exceptional (stone throwing) skills to set in motion the inevitable conclusion ‘The Don’s favorite’! It definitely reminds one of Rajini/Mamooty (Thalapathy). The hero then moves to the next stage ‘falling love’ (the ‘usual’ fair skinned belle from the North masquerading as a small town girl for the umpteenth time). This time it is from Madurai and it is ‘Kajal Agarwal’. The biggest surprise being that she is a (?), a role normally bestowed upon Tamil female comedians. The instant ice and fire love factor forms the major light hearted scenes in this half other than Soori’s (Vijay’s childhood friend) comedy which brings a few smiles and cuts the lag to a certain extent. Vijay going to Kajal’s house is straight out of the film ‘Shivaji’.The action scenes involving ‘Royapuram’ Guna etc are used by the director to build Vijay’s macho image. The unbelievable car crashes, glass breaking, knife wielding, punching bag fight sequences form the other part of this half. The welcome relief here is that this half is devoid of the rather mushy love interludes by the hero and heroine. The three songs help the director to close the rather protracted first half.

The second half is the changeover of Vijay from a rowdy to a cop. Here the director uses the age old father son sentiment. Vijay’s change in attitude from bad to good is melodramatic, weak and cinematic. Vijay and Mohanlal are the only quotient in this half .This half drags on and on with the wedding, more fights and songs and finally the director puts paid to the agony with a cinematic and violent climax which leads one to believe that the leading heroes of Tamil cinema only listen or read the first half of the script and somehow end up getting entangled in a totally idiotic, gory and bloody climax with no sense or meaning. I think the censor board definitely needs to rethink on granting a rather symbolic U or U/A certificate to films with excessive dose of violence and gore!

The suspense factor, Kajal Agarwal’s intro in regular clothes. The brother in law factor.

The only surprise element, a minor glitch in the theatre heralded and brought the first half to a rather abrupt end. Here I would like to compliment diligent employee Uday of SPI cinemas who made it a point to talk and pacify each and every fan and viewer alike to explain the technical problem and the efforts being taken to sort it out during the interval.

Additional points of interest I think the time has come for ‘Hollywood’ to learn to shoot action sequences from ‘Kollywood’. Jokes apart! We have taken action scenes to such unbelievable lengths that every 10th minute we have an action block! The only problem being it can be superimposed or added to any film!

Vijay, has puts his heart and soul in this film. He has sung, danced, delivered punch dialogues, shown intensity in action scenes, shed tears, and has even made fun of himself but alas the script and screen play has wasted all his efforts and skill set.

Mohanlal I really wonder whether this film really needed him. He has literally duplicated Mamooty’s role in ‘Thalapathy’. He has been under utilized and wasted in this film. Any lesser known actor could have easily essayed this role. His dance motions in slow motion were in stark contrast to those of Vijay! Why do our directors prefer Malayalam, Hindi, or Telugu actors to do such insignificant and bland roles?

Kajal Agarwal, The fair skinned import from Mumbai (Sorry to keep repeating) is supposedly the glam quotient but fails to compliment this film in any manner whatsoever. As a (?) with painted nails and lipstick she looks like a model taking part in a fancy dress competition.

Poorinma Bhyagarj & Sampath whose presence was adequate, nothing more nothing less!

The not so convincing part Mohanlal sleeping and Vijay driving is repeat as in ‘VEERAM’ The Hindi dialogue spoken by Vijay as taught in the police academy. The flying fighting bouts which will make superman and batman blush. The box configured to hold the remains rather crass. The ‘adiyal’ chews off a part of the chair as he is bashed by the hero. Car and jeeps repeatedly keep turning over for absurd reasons. The naming of the police teams as Alpha, Delta etc. Police once again have been portrayed as the all time ‘dumbo’s’ of Tamil cinema. Sampath’s confession to the D.C. The hero shoots criminals at will. Melodramatic scene portraying Mohanlal throwing out and breaking things just to prove a point. Once again the ‘Iyer’ obsession.

Music by Imman is adequate and has played a definite role in this film. The song ‘Jingunamani’ and ‘Kandaangi’ (a way of adorning a sari) are catchy and hummable numbers. Vijay’s singing will earn him a place as a good playback singer. The back ground score was for most part adequate except for a few places totally out of place and comical. P.S. Though one seems to rehash of a song from the film ‘Devadayai Kanden’ and the other from ‘Thalapathy’

Don Max should have used his acumen more diligently to effect cuts to contain undue lag and boredom. In my opinion the film should have been 45 mins shorter.

Art director I somehow felt that this department was on its own trip and were oblivious to the needs of the script.

Choreography each song has a different back drop. As such each of them individually is colorful, what’s baffling is its relevance to the story!

Costumes bizarre! In fact in one scene Vijay wears maroon pants, black vest and a pair of blue shoes. The biggest ‘goof’ up he wears Khaki in one of songs!

Finally to sum it all up:
Left right & Centre:
On my right of right were 2 girls: ‘We do not like the film at all’.
Centre were two friends: ‘Not so nice but probably the second half would be better’.
My director friend sitting by my side: ‘Sorry! This film is not working for me’.

Bottom Line: The magic word ‘ThaMo’(Thalapathi and Mohanlal) was repeatedly used by the director but the genie never comes out of the bottle!

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/article/102155.html

Mr.GreyShirt
12th January 2014, 04:23 AM
2 girls-am athulla 2 friends-am athukkulla oru director-am :lol2:

I thoroughly enjoyed it. After I read some reviews regarding the fight scenes I thought it was gonna be just fight fight and fight but it was not. It was a really fun experience. The director knew what kind of movie this was and played around with it. Vijay and Mohanlal were awesome. Those two made the whole movie so much more fun to enjoy. Vijay as a cop was a pleasant surprise. I wished the director played around with "Jilla" character as the cop setup though. Would have been great but none the less it was entertaining. It had some great cinematography. Every mass and fight scenes were shown beautifully. I could definitely feel the length of the movie. Movies should never be made that long but hey, I didn't get bored at all. Neither did my family.

Movie is just fun action film from start to finish. Oh and those bgms :thumbsup: well done Imman. Especially the climax when both of them were fighting together.

12th January 2014, 05:07 AM
Jilla - Pongal treat.

Jilla is a very typical "leave your brain at home movie". It has some entertaining, sentimental, thrilling moments. As a Vijay fan I am 95 % satisfied with the movie

Vijay cakewalked in the movie with ease. His dialogues dlivery reminded me of Pokkiri movie.

The movie belongs to Vijay and mohanlal. Their scenes in 1st half are very enjoyable
Kajal is becoming lucky mascot for Vijay, the way she was introduced reminded me Jyothika in Mozhi.
I feel sorry for Soori, the belltower is hurt a lot.

I have to thank the director for not using Pradeep Rawat as villain for a change, evvolu naal thaan ivar villana nadippaar. Poornima madam is a relief too (competition to Saranya madam)

I liked 3 songs: Kandangi - visual treat, Paattu Onnu - powerful treat, Eppo Mama - dance treat.
BGM is good too. D Immaan delivers perfect.

Biggest weakness of the movie is the length. A marathon on 26 miles (42 km) takes about 2h.15mins to complete. Why are they so reluctant to deliver shorter movies in India?

Director neason played the safe bet and got the reward.

12th January 2014, 05:40 AM
Watched it. I like the movie... Regulars here would know from my posting that i had no hope for this movie but it proved me wrong.

I liked the second half much better than first half but these days all movies have twists for the sake of having twists and every important person having a flash back.

Loved mohan lals scree presense. Vijay pathi sollave venam... He is awesome..

What i dont like is that there was way too many fights, way too many unneccessary scenes, none of the songs stood out well in choreography.

Will discuss more later.

CEDYBLUE
12th January 2014, 07:16 AM
FIRST DAY, FIRST SUCCESS!! KING OF OPENING

Here’s all you need to know about the response, budget and first day box-office collections.

Jilla:

‘Jilla’ received mostly positive reviews from reviewers and fans. The film runs up to 182 minutes (3hrs), this was considered be a downside for the film.

Sources say, the makers are now planning to trim the film by about 10 mins.

Budget: Close to 50 Cr

Screened in: over 1150 screens worldwide

(Released in more than 10 countries including India, UK, USA, Australia and Srilanka)

First Day Collections: 10 -12 Cr

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/140111/entertainment-kollywood/article/first-day-box-office-collections-jilla-and-veeram

CEDYBLUE
12th January 2014, 08:44 AM

#Jilla Day 1 #Kerala - 2.61cr Gross, 2+cr NETT [Taking 20% ET as average] 1+ cr Distibutors share [taking 50% terms]

arulraj
12th January 2014, 08:45 AM
Watched the movie and enjoyed .....Vijay in top form ..... mohanlal proved his experience....Nesan presented a wholesome movie to all centres ...... Compared to last year hits singam 2 and aaaaarambam this jilla is a good package .... always vijay is not only king of opening also king of sustaining .....Now proved with the direct clash ....thank u nesan for a BB.:smokesmirk:

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 09:23 AM
Fans demand Yeppa Maama Treatu song back :
The fast-paced Yeppa Maama Treatu song from Jilla has been removed after the film’s release, as the makers have got feedback from distributors and critics that the movie is a tad too long. Many felt that the song, which features just before the film’s climax sequence, was hindering the speed of the on-screen flow of events. However, there could be a twist in this tale as well. “Yes, we have removed this song but in some theatres, some Vijay fans are crying hoarse and demanding to watch it,” producer RB Choudary tells us, “So, though we have removed the song now, we are planning to re-introduce it as soon as we get permission from the censor board.” The film’s director, Neason, says “After some fans in Coimbatore, Madurai and Erode, noticed that the song was missing, things went berserk. They demanded that the song be re-inserted and we’re trying to work that out now.

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 09:31 AM
Opening day Jilla collects $62600 in US
http://moviecitynews.com/2014/01/friday-box-office-estimates-25/

raagadevan
12th January 2014, 09:51 AM
Review: Jilla

http://www.thehindu.com/features/cinema/cinema-reviews/review-jilla/article5566222.ece?homepage=true

Mr.GreyShirt
12th January 2014, 10:12 AM
I think these reviewers have never seen any masala movies in their life. Not everything has to be serious. It's good to have some fun.

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 10:19 AM
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-b.ak/hphotos-ak-ash3/s720x720/1044027_730591696951685_1012525701_n.jpg

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 10:25 AM
Sreedhar Pillai :
#Jilla- Grosses 2.62 Cr on day 1 (Jan 10) in Kerala from 211 screens. Highest single day gross for any film in the state. :smokesmirk:

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 10:34 AM
Sreedhar Pillai :
@Mohanlal called up producer RB Chowdary 2 personally thank him 4 the huge success of #Jilla. @Mohanlal is on a roll with back 2 back hits.

bimmer
12th January 2014, 10:39 AM
Watched the movie. Very average. Liked Vijay's screen presence. 1st half ok but second half was dragging. Mohanlal does not have too much of scope and his dialogues were a little ameturish.

2nd half trimming may help elevate the drag. The film reminded me a little bit of Dheena

12th January 2014, 10:44 AM
Not a surprising gross in Kerala considering the fan following both Lal and Vijay have. And it was a brilliant move by Lal, buying the distribution rights instead of getting a fixed salary. 2.62 C, believe me, is huge..

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 10:49 AM
Not a surprising gross in Kerala considering the fan following both Lal and Vijay have. And it was a brilliant move by Lal, buying the distribution rights instead of getting a fixed salary. 2.62 C, believe me, is huge..

bro i feel this record collection will remain unbeatable for many many years !!

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 10:58 AM
DAY 1 BOX OFFICE COLLECTION http://cinemalead.com/news-id-day-one-box-office-collections-of-veeram-and-jilla-jilla-leads-jilla-box-office-12-01-144286.htm
Adichu thooku ma!!

12th January 2014, 11:59 AM
http://tamilnews24x7.info/?p=4387..jilla

Rogerusabe
12th January 2014, 11:59 AM
They dreamt cholar parambarayil oru MLA. But it was sothulayum adi vangiyachu sethulayum adi vangiyachu :rotfl2:

Rogerusabe
12th January 2014, 12:11 PM

reminds an advertisement. Enna aachu? Kolantha aluvuthu. Take it

Rogerusabe
12th January 2014, 12:15 PM
:smokesmirk:

http://behindwoods.com/tamil-movies/jilla/jilla-review.html

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/tamil/review/18098.html

http://www.sify.com/movies/jilla-review-tamil-15046942.html?source=sifyhome&slot=c1s2

http://tamil.thehindu.com/cinema/tamil-cinema/ஜில்லா-விமர்சனம்-ஸ்கிரீனன்/article5562496.ece

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/jilla/movie-review/28650403.cms

http://www.rediff.com/movies/review/review-jilla-is-a-commercial-entertainer/20140111.htm

http://www.ibtimes.co.in/articles/533865/20140111/jilla-review-vijay-mohanlal-positive-response-boxoffice.html

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 12:20 PM
At KG BIG cinemas Cbe!
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdwNamLCEAEvrCe.jpg

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 12:35 PM
Ram Muthuram Cinemas
Huge Opening Ever !!
Pic Taken After FDFS Show Of ‪Jilla!
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-c.ak/hphotos-ak-prn2/1506801_637905606269115_1593645665_n.jpg

12th January 2014, 12:39 PM
https://fbcdn-photos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/1484262_565432393547727_521035902_n.jpg

Not from a newly sprouted website but 'The Hindu'

12th January 2014, 12:50 PM
Jilla (https://www.facebook.com/hashtag/jilla) Climax shooting spot

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/1560563_639216062803746_353195076_n.jpg

Rogerusabe
12th January 2014, 01:07 PM
Baby Albert status today. And papa guys said its removed because of poor run :lol:

Rogerusabe
12th January 2014, 01:09 PM
Kerala Day 1[Gross] # Jilla 2.61cr ‪#‎Veeeram‬ 40
lakhs
And for those who said Its coz of Mohanlal sir!
Mohanlal sir's Drishyam which was released 3
weeks ago collected 77 lakhs on day 1!
If You Think Mohanlal is The Only Reason for
Jilla's Mass Collection ! Then u need to Consult
a Doctor !

12th January 2014, 01:35 PM
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/140111/news-current-affairs/article/youth-pierce-swords-jilla-tamil-nadu

Hope these so called fantards stop such nonsense. :evil:

12th January 2014, 01:40 PM
Kerala Day 1[Gross] # Jilla 2.61cr ‪#‎Veeeram‬ 40
lakhs
And for those who said Its coz of Mohanlal sir!
Mohanlal sir's Drishyam which was released 3
weeks ago collected 77 lakhs on day 1!
If You Think Mohanlal is The Only Reason for
Jilla's Mass Collection ! Then u need to Consult
a Doctor !

To add, Dhrishyam is one the highest grossing mallu film in the recent times and the best of 2013. And it was a solo release.

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 01:55 PM
Ajay anna in full form!! 8-) :)

Russellkuk
12th January 2014, 01:56 PM
same hindu tamil says otherwise

http://tamil.thehindu.com/cinema/tamil-cinema/%E0%AE%B5%E0%AF%80%E0%AE%B0%E0%AE%AE%E0%AF%8D-%E0%AE%A4%E0%AE%BF-%E0%AE%87%E0%AE%A8%E0%AF%8D%E0%AE%A4%E0%AF%81-%E0%AE%B5%E0%AE%BF%E0%AE%AE%E0%AE%B0%E0%AF%8D%E0%A E%9A%E0%AE%A9%E0%AE%AE%E0%AF%8D/article5563947.ece

http://tamil.thehindu.com/cinema/tamil-cinema/%E0%AE%9C%E0%AE%BF%E0%AE%B2%E0%AF%8D%E0%AE%B2%E0%A E%BE-%E0%AE%B5%E0%AE%BF%E0%AE%AE%E0%AE%B0%E0%AF%8D%E0%A E%9A%E0%AE%A9%E0%AE%AE%E0%AF%8D-%E0%AE%B8%E0%AF%8D%E0%AE%95%E0%AE%BF%E0%AE%B0%E0%A F%80%E0%AE%A9%E0%AE%A9%E0%AF%8D/article5562496.ece

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 02:02 PM
Marana Mass!!
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-h.ak/hphotos-ak-frc1/375688_511512718961907_1012269645_n.jpg

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 03:38 PM
Theriiiii
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-h.ak/hphotos-ak-ash4/t1/1004939_645088622203889_760543308_n.jpg

rpramod11
12th January 2014, 03:44 PM
I have removed tfu kannan from my twitter following list and added sevanthi .
One cannot believe this guy...I have lost full faith on him..

He is not a critic.He is ardent thala fan.How can we rely these kind of people...shame on tfu kannan..How he wrote that,veeram is a super duper hit in Kerala..Is he mad....

I have watched JILLA from STAR CINEMA MUSCAT on 10th with full house audience and I really enjoyed till the last scene.This movie is the best commercial movie of Vijay after POKKIRI with all ingredients in correct mix.Even Thuppaki I didn't enjoy this much..
I didn't miss any of the VIJAY movie since Kannukkul Nilavu in 2000 Pongal except Thalaivaa.

CEDYBLUE
12th January 2014, 03:53 PM
Read somewhere here that Jilla has only 14 shows from Monday compared to 40 odd for the current BlockBuster in Mayajaal.

Mayajaal site says Jilla 30 (4 Dolby Atmos shows) as against 41 (1 Dolby Atmos).
If i am not wrong 30 is an increase to Sunday?

Rogerusabe
12th January 2014, 03:57 PM
Looks like eppa maama treatu added back

12th January 2014, 03:58 PM
Read somewhere here that Jilla has only 14 shows from Monday compared to 40 odd for the current BlockBuster in Mayajaal.

Mayajaal site says Jilla 30 (4 Dolby Atmos shows) as against 41 (1 Dolby Atmos).
If i am not wrong 30 is an increase to Sunday?

:rotfl: ...... There is very little chance for either movie to become a blockbuster..... The opening has been divided and there is no tax exemption

Russellmvr
12th January 2014, 04:37 PM
All paper, media, BO reports clearly said the winner...

May be the current BB running in Hub only.. let them enjoy... so not break their heart. Jilla is unstoppable... !!

Scotthvm
12th January 2014, 04:42 PM
Finally someone with guts :lol2:

TOI
Veeram- 3/5
Jilla - 3.5/5

500+ seat theatres la jilla release aagi kala katuthu theatre ilama 100 seat theatre padathuku scene :lol:

late sonalum latest solitinga .ithu dhan jilla ,jilla on top

Scotthvm
12th January 2014, 04:47 PM
Hindi,telegu and kannada actors fighting for jilla remake rights.
Ofcourse Jeikara/hitagara padatha thaana remake panuvanga. :lol2:

nachunu soninga boss,i already posted remake rights paranganu

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 04:49 PM
As expected Family Audience support goes to JILLA !! #Winner
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdxnpYeCcAAAaVG.jpg

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 05:09 PM
As thalaivar in jilla says i yam very happyyy
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdxqEv5IgAAQKkR.jpg

Scotthvm
12th January 2014, 05:13 PM

ithelam romba overa iruku,they just want to spoil vijay image,but indha trickellam vela seyadhu,.thangamudiyala

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 05:21 PM
Is anonymouss=maniram ? #Justasking

Scotthvm
12th January 2014, 05:50 PM
Is anonymouss=maniram ? #Justasking
no yaar,iam from andhra near border.iam vijay fan.who is maniram,avaru ena post panaru

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 06:02 PM
https://m.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-d.ak/hphotos-ak-ash3/1512673_639311502794202_1259958133_n.jpg

GSV
12th January 2014, 06:05 PM
Maniram12*-- Whatta a man he is.. semaya pannuvaapla.. hubbing'a sonnen..

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 06:18 PM
^ /ferfaamance la avara adichika aalu ila !!/

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 06:20 PM
That scene where Thalaivar eats as a "4avathu manushan" in his own sisters marriage..drawn tears :cry2: , etharthamana nadippu :clap:

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 06:21 PM
Off late vijay's costume selection is great.. and he really looked super handsome and fit in the movie.. that beard, coolers wow da!

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 06:39 PM
As Expected #JILLA gets all 4 screens of Abirami Mega Mall From Monday .Mahesh babu film is replaced by #JILLA

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 06:40 PM
Reviews Part II :)
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdyAXjECAAEK4MG.jpg

maniram_1234
12th January 2014, 06:53 PM
Maniram12*-- Whatta a man he is.. semaya pannuvaapla.. hubbing'a sonnen..

Na thani aala anga poi matipa

12th January 2014, 07:11 PM
Heard that Mayajaal shows are increasing from Monday. What was the show count today?

12th January 2014, 07:13 PM
Jilla is a perfect festival film that has all the trappings of a blockbuster.

Rating: 3.5/5

http://www.bangaloremirror.com/entertainment/reviews/Movie-review-Jilla/articleshow/28648850.cms

12th January 2014, 07:14 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdyJDz-IAAAbsj4.jpg:large

CEDYBLUE
12th January 2014, 07:22 PM
Heard that Mayajaal shows are increasing from Monday. What was the show count today?

It is about 30 for Monday. Not sure about Sunday.

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 07:23 PM
Ramesh (Madhurai ThangaRegal Theatre Owner) : since Jilla released in this pongal, it becomes double pongal for fans. After a long time, whole family is enjoying the movie at theatres. We have opened a special counter for ladies since more ladies are crowding theatres.

Russellmvr
12th January 2014, 07:24 PM
Ethirththu ninnavan evanum Doosu-da :yes:

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 07:32 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdyIlHPIcAAC1WE.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdyIh7wIAAE2eXl.jpg

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 07:33 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdyI3azIAAA-B74.jpg
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdyJPQXIIAEeean.jpg

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 07:34 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BdyJ7DQIIAAlTCY.jpg

Kumaran.P
12th January 2014, 07:36 PM
Jilla success meet to happen in chennai tomorrow:)