View Full Version : Raja's Gems - the latest one you heard...Part 3

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14

Sureshs65
13th March 2012, 03:24 PM
V_S,

What freakout song. Amazing. Hearing it for the first time.

13th March 2012, 04:44 PM
Hearing it for the first time.

Sureshji, this is from the famous Kamalahasan movie "oru kaidhiyin diary" (story by Bagyaraj, directed by Bharathiraja), that also had 'ABC nee vAsi' & 'pon mAnE, kObam EnO' songs...featured two Kamals, Radha, Revathy & 3 villains :-) Malaysia Vasudevan acted as the main villain...

Haven't you watched the movie?

V_S
13th March 2012, 07:58 PM
Thanks Suresh ji! A freaky in all aspects. I posted that song as I was also hearing that song after many years. Also this song is easily shadowed by other two songs, that's why I used to have the other two songs in my playlists, but not this one. Now after listening to it, could not escape to other two songs, so addictive. :smile:

13th March 2012, 08:13 PM
What song is this for us youtube-denied?

V_S
13th March 2012, 08:21 PM
The song is Idhu ROsaa Poovu from Oru Kaidhiyin Diary. May be its because I didn't make the youtube video public, I have changed it now. Please try now. But it is not a video, just the song with some Maestro's clips.

skr
14th March 2012, 10:54 PM
A playlist of compiling 'Kanna' songs in Ilaiyaraaja's music resulted in so many treasures. Compiling the list. Do add more if you know :)

1 Kanna Vaa - Malargal Ninaikindrana
2 Kanna Unnai Thedugiren - Unakaagave Vaalkiren
3 Kannan Naalai - Ilamai Kolam
4 Kanna Varuvaaya - Manadhil Urudhi Vendum
5 Kannan Oru Kaikuzhandhai - Badhrakali
6 Kannan Vandhu - Rettai Vaal Kuruvi
7 Kannan Enna Sonnaan - Sainthaadama Sainthaadu
8 Vaa Vaa Kanna Vaa - Velaikaaran
9 Chinna Kannan Azhaikiraan - Kavikkuyil
10 Kekkalayo Kekkalayo Kannanadhu - Kasthurimaan
11 Kanna Nee Enge - Rusi Kanda Poonai
12 Radha Radha Nee Enge Kannan Enge Naan Ange - Meendum Kokila
13 Kannan Aruge - Kannan Oru Kaikuzhandhai
14 Kannan Vandhadhaaley - Thambi Pondaati
15 Kannanai Kaanpaaya - Manithanin Marupakkam
16 Kannanukku Enna Vendum - Dhanam
17 Kuzhaloodhum Kannanukku - Mella Thirandhadhu Kadhavu
18 Chinna Kanna - Magudam
19 Kanna Un Leela Vinodham - Nalladhoru Kudumbam
20 Kanna Kanna Unnaithane Naan Theduren - Jackpot
21 Kannana Kanna Unnai Enna Solli - Neethaana Anthakuyil
22 Kanna undhan kadhal Meera - Naan Sonnathe Sattam
23 Enthan kannil Yezhulagangal Varai Kanna Vaa - Guru
24 Kannan nee en isai nadha oviyam - Ivan
25 Kanna vaa kavidhai solven vaa - Maragatha Veenai
26 Kannodu Kannana En Kanna - Sippikul Muthu
27 Kanna Un Kannil - Unnai Nenaichen Paatu Padichen
28 Kelaayo Kanna - Naane Raja Naane Manthri
29 Alaipaayuthey Kanna - Ethanai Konam Ethanai Paarvai
30 Varuvaai Kanna - Pattakkathi Bhairavan
31 Kannane Nee Vara - Thendrale Ennai Thodu
32 Kannae En Kanna Nee - Gramaththu Minnal
33 Chinna Kanminikulle Vantha Chella Kannanae - Paattu Paadavaa

Sureshs65
15th March 2012, 08:40 AM
app,

I am aware of 'ABC' and 'ponmAne' but haven't heard this song. While I do know about the movie and Bhagyaraj's involvement, I haven't watched the movie. Somehow never been a great movie watcher. One of the few guys, who had lived in Hyderabad and not watched 'Sholay'!!! Even today people can't believe it. I have not watched most of the standards, 'Sholay', 'Maine Pyrar Kiya', 'QSQT','DDLJ' etc. So in a way my film watching is much worse than the song listening :)

15th March 2012, 08:48 AM
One of the few guys, who had lived in Hyderabad and not watched 'Sholay'!!!

Sivaji to Janagaraj : "dheivamE"

sArE, unga vazhi thanee vazhi :notworthy:

baroque
15th March 2012, 11:17 AM
end of the day ..., I just need a Song break to relax before hitting bed.

I am kind of in a mood for nostalgic with a touch of pathos longing.

துள்ளி திரிந்ததோர் காலம்... ஸ்ரீ.இளையராஜா's melodious ஹார்மோனியம் with தபலா is perfect tonight .

ஸ்ரீ.பாலா's சுகமான prelude ஆலாப் , interlude புல்லாங்குழல் passage , wonderful பாடல் வரிகள் .

heartwarming pensive mood in my மனசு tonight , sitting with my comfort drink ,ginger tea !
வினதா ✾◕‿◕✾

<span class="text_exposed_show">
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s36BwY2Twz4&amp;feature=related

15th March 2012, 12:11 PM
That's why Sureshji is an interesting character. That's why I invited him to be the guest of the month for interrogation. Ellorum support pannunga - ivarai kaiya pudichi izhuthuralaam...sureshji, accept the invite.

Sureshs65
15th March 2012, 05:33 PM

What is this interrogation and what it this invite? Where can I see it etc?

15th March 2012, 10:38 PM
Suresh gaaru - ikkadaki raNdi: meedhi ellorum inge vandhu interrogate paNNungo: http://www.mayyam.com/talk/showthread.php?8686-Guest-of-the-week-thread-BREAK-Begin-questioning-him-now!/page9

baroque
16th March 2012, 12:11 AM
eeramana rojavey ennai ......ILAMAIK KALANGAL.... bass guitar, whistle, K.J.Yesudas pathos with Vairamuthu varigal.

:musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uW5GOEM-R2g

Sureshs65
16th March 2012, 05:44 PM

I am OK if this is sometime in June :D Now too tight and probably not be in town for a week together. I guess June should be fine given that people are not waiting for me to answer their questions :D

17th March 2012, 01:07 AM
Due to my previous non-acquaintance (and hence the inability to post about), the following song won't get featured in the SPB-IR thread.

I heard the song for the first time today and loved it so much - so, it at least deserves a post here :-)

Don't miss this "kacha-mucha" song where SPB-IR combined to create a rocking dappAnguththu :

unintelligble pallavi words, song from the RVU movie 'uRudhi mozhi' that had another lovable PJ/SJ number 'adhikAlai nilavE' (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3843'&lang=en)

:wow:

baroque
17th March 2012, 02:17 AM
:bluejump:

kacha mucha songs by S.P.B , yaaravadhu viduvaalaa kekkaama?

S.P.B teasing compositions whoever the MD is always FUN!

yaaro pin paattu paada... T.R. or ae kutti munnaala nee pinnala naan vandhaala...Deva

or oadakkaara maarimuththu oattavaayi maarimuththu..... ARR or kitta vaadi aasai pullaa.....T.R
or mudhan mudhalaaga kadhal duet paada vandhene.....IR, more more riots with all MDS:bluejump:

energy parakkudhu!

good song break for me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6NleLonB204

Raja with Bala!

vinatha.

rajsmed
18th March 2012, 12:12 PM
Some of my favorite songs from my Youtube upload (sorry for the redundancy):

Nalla Naal - Podu Thanthanatham Adi Thammarutham

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GOdhghdKCA

Nalla Naal - Vetta Veli Pottalile Natta Nadu Raavinile

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5sra_aAcZk

Azhagiya Kanne - Naan Irukkum Andha Naal Varaikkum

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMAg2y1w9gE

Azhagiya Kanne - Pala Jenma Jenmaandara Bandhangal Theerpal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jU0AnE0iSEQ

Azhagiya Kanne - Hey Maama Kobamaa..Unnai Thaane Nambi Vandhene

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWbYr2Grgvk

rajsmed
18th March 2012, 12:15 PM
Hi app_engine:

Here's the Adhikaalai Nilave Alangara Silaiye song from Uruthi Mozhi that I uploaded long time ago on Youtube. Here's the video in case you haven't come across it yet:

Uruthi Mozhi - Adhikaalai Nilave Alangaara Silaiye

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTnP1lrCKoo

San_K
18th March 2012, 01:13 PM
Vettaveli pottalilE is my most favorite song in "Nalla Naal". I heard this song recently only (few years back in a TV). Ketta vudan kapppunu pidichathu. Ofcourse this has elder sister "Maaman Machan" and younger sister "Kattukkule".

The connection equation is like

"Searching + Mystery" Raja ==> "Mystery + Ghost" Raja ==> "Ghost + Funny" Raja

Hail raja :)

19th March 2012, 11:26 AM
Hi app_engine:

Here's the Adhikaalai Nilave Alangara Silaiye song from Uruthi Mozhi that I uploaded long time ago on Youtube. Here's the video in case you haven't come across it yet:

Uruthi Mozhi - Adhikaalai Nilave Alangaara Silaiye

Beautiful album...hearing it for the first time :D always a pure joy to find yet another musical memory to cherish
Adhikaalai, Anbu Kathai, Amirtham all are great, thank you for shining light upon this gem. :ty:

19th March 2012, 04:27 PM
Hi app_engine:

Here's the Adhikaalai Nilave Alangara Silaiye song from Uruthi Mozhi that I uploaded long time ago on Youtube.

nanRi, sir! First time watching...who is the actress?

19th March 2012, 09:52 PM
nanRi, sir! First time watching...who is the actress?
one film only actress named "Sandhini"

wizzy
20th March 2012, 07:48 PM
Oh Yendan from unnakagavae vazhgiran.. entha Bass'ku naan adimai :bow: :bow: the song is too good to be even spoiled by the picturization :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V13GQViKtFI

Sureshs65
21st March 2012, 01:53 PM
The past few days, this has been on loop. I like the Raja version more than KJY/Swarnalatha version.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSKzIpUtHGM

Divine22
24th March 2012, 02:00 PM
Blissfully addicted to this one :) / Visualization Grrrrr!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GGekCjufNWY

Sureshs65
24th March 2012, 05:16 PM
Unable to come out of the magic of this song for the past few days:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7ejcjHlqJw

24th March 2012, 08:23 PM
Enna Kutham on loop.

A vintage pathos, celestial interludes and soul stirring charanams :bow:

Devaraagam
24th March 2012, 09:45 PM
I started listening the album kannukullae...totally forgot the songs and will back with good number from that album :)

Devaraagam
24th March 2012, 09:51 PM
nice experience to listening engey nee sendralum from kannukullae with full volume in head phone. majestic orchestration.

Devaraagam
24th March 2012, 09:54 PM
oh..it seems movie got released and able to find video of engey nee sendralum..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtEY9sswfvY

Hmm...only IR music cannot made good video :)

Devaraagam
24th March 2012, 09:59 PM
Listening audio (engey nee sendralum) alone gives me good visuals..

Devaraagam
24th March 2012, 10:17 PM
Now moved to Kattumarakan..one of the nice album and poor narration by P.Vasu and RR done by Deva. yet another album dominated by Mano in the singers list.

MY picks are

1. akkarai illa enga
2. kathum kadal
3. vetri vetri.

Now a days I am missing the lovely chorus in even IR (very rarely it comes out like dhoni ..thanthanatha.....the one I liked recently)

Devaraagam
24th March 2012, 10:53 PM
Now moved to my evergreen album "Annanukku Jey". wonderful rendition of SPB, MV, Chitra. I used to forget everything when I start listening this album.

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00050&lang=en

1. annanukku Jey - SPB alumbu to the core...
2. Sokkanukku - Nice melody and soulful rendition from chitra and uma ramanan
3. enakkuoru Magan - SPB with different mood and how he can give shows the feeling with 100%.
4. ponnumani - Nice rythem and tempo
5. solai Ilangiliey - none other than MV can't justify this song.

what to do..oriental released only the above 5 songs in the CD.

tvsankar
24th March 2012, 11:50 PM
Dear Devaragam,
Welcome back. Thanks for Enge nee sendralum song link..........

rajsmed
25th March 2012, 11:28 AM
Now moved to my evergreen album "Annanukku Jey". wonderful rendition of SPB, MV, Chitra. I used to forget everything when I start listening this album.

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00050&lang=en

1. annanukku Jey - SPB alumbu to the core...
2. Sokkanukku - Nice melody and soulful rendition from chitra and uma ramanan
3. enakkuoru Magan - SPB with different mood and how he can give shows the feeling with 100%.
4. ponnumani - Nice rythem and tempo
5. solai Ilangiliey - none other than MV can't justify this song.

what to do..oriental released only the above 5 songs in the CD.

I uploaded all the songs from Annanukku Jey long time ago on Youtube. I think that many of my earlier uploads may have gone unnoticed by IR fans like you. Here are the 3 hit songs from Annanukku Jey that I uploaded almost a year ago. Enjoy!

Annanukku Jey - Solai Ilanguyile Azhaga Thol Irangum Kaaviriye

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fVyIDrlefQ

Annanukku Jey - Ponmani Ponmanikkum Naane

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kCFa9gle4Ak

Annanukku Jey - Sokkanukku Aasai Pattu Sokki Nikkum Meenatchi Naan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OL4c8CuMFy0

Devaraagam
25th March 2012, 02:55 PM
rajsmed, already I have subscribed your youtube. courtesy by Sureshs65. you have very rare collection of songs.

tvsankar
25th March 2012, 04:54 PM
rajsmed,
thanks for the links.......

tvsankar
25th March 2012, 05:49 PM
asa kiliyae asa kiliyae... Mano. i like it.

Flute. Very Best.......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Y99FRjqIf4&feature=BFa&list=UUyZyV-Z-za5n1-glIY-xv5A&lf=plcp

Devaraagam
26th March 2012, 09:29 AM
Rajmsed, you collapsed my imagination of ponnumani (annanuu jay) which I had earlier. OMG :-) after hearing such a compsitionan how directors can visualise patheticallt ?

baroque
27th March 2012, 10:53 AM
countryside இளையராஜா's புல்லாங்குழல்!
நாதஸ்வரம், clarinet , வயோலின் , folkish தபலா இளையராஜா'ச மெலடி for ஜானகி and ஜெயச்சந்திரன்!
indeed ராஜா! உங்க இசை மட்டும்தான் வாழ்க்கையில் பிரமிப்பா இருக்கு! thanks for blessing us ராஜா!:musicsmile:

http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=205022&amp;mode=100&amp;rand=0.5982422560794114

Shank
27th March 2012, 11:06 AM
Folks, sorry for the digression....I have been searching for this for a long time, super excited to have found it. Just had to share it before I even listened to it.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=AptDF611O9o

Sureshs65
28th March 2012, 11:55 AM
Thanks Shankar for the link. Now to go and watch it.

29th March 2012, 09:39 AM
ஒரு தெம்மாங்கு பின்னணியில் சோக கீதம். காதலன் காதலிக்கு காற்றிலே தன் ஏக்கத்தை ஏற்றி தூது சொல்லி பாடுகிறான். அந்த மைய இழையோடு காதலுக்கு துணையாக இருக்கும் வயதானவரின் இளமைக்கால காதல் குதூகலங்களையும் பதிந்து விட்டு போகணும். சோகத்தின் ஆதாரமாக ஒரு மகிழ்ச்சிக்கான தாளக்கட்டை தேர்ந்தெடுத்து தனக்கே உரிய முத்திரையில் ரொம்ப அழகா இந்த பாழுங் கிணறை தாண்டியிருக்கிறார் ராஜா! "காம்பினுள் பசும்பால் கறந்தால் அதுவா சாதனை? கொம்பிலும் நான் பால் கரைப்பேன் அதுதான் சாதனை!" என்ற வைரமுத்து வரிகள்தான் உடனே ஞாபகத்திற்கு வருகிறது. இப்ப உள்ள இசையமைப்பாளர்களிடம் இந்த சூழ்நிலையை சொல்லி பாடல் தரச் சொன்னால், ஒன்றுக்கு இரண்டாக கிடைக்கும் :)

திரியை சுவாரஸ்யப்படுத்தலாம். எந்தப் பாடல் என யூகித்தால் e-கைகுலுக்கல்கள்!

29th March 2012, 10:34 AM
Venki, it is

Erikkari Poongatre - ThooRal Ninnu pOchu... one of my all time favorites... :D

grAhamathil pAduREn thaniyA
rAgathil sEranum thuNaiyA

rajkumarc
29th March 2012, 10:54 AM
Kaiyetha Kombatho from Vinodhayathra. Can there be a song any sweeter than this? I seriously doubt that. Right from the prelude the sweetness is sustained in the tune, orchestration in every second. Simply love KJY's rendition and I like Manjari's version as well which has its own innocence. Vinodhayathra is a late discovery for me even though I have heard IR's more recent Malayalam works.

Divine22
29th March 2012, 12:08 PM
RR, that was fast :mrgreen:

Gregorysab
29th March 2012, 05:36 PM
Munnam Seidha: http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3959'&lang=en from Vanaja Girija! What an unusual song! One of the instances where Raaja used programmed loops without much any variations. But the tune is indeed beautiful! i wonder which raagam is this. need to play and check!

Sureshs65
29th March 2012, 10:15 PM
rajkumar,
Aaaha. If it were not for 'kunnathe' I would easily said that 'kaiyetha' was the best female solo of MFM in the first decade of this century. It is class. Whenever I get into debates about 80s Raja and the current Raja, I always point to this song and ask, "Is it any less than the 80s beauties"? :) I personally like Manjari's version more (that was used in the movie as well). Jesudas sounds a bit strained. Overall a song to die for.

Sureshs65
29th March 2012, 10:17 PM
Who would ever think that an unheard of movie with a quirky name as 'Maamiyar Veedu' would contain such an outstanding gem. Been in a loop for the past few days. (And the tabla love app_eng will fall in love with this for sure, if he hasn't heard it already!!)

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR1889'&lang=en

29th March 2012, 10:33 PM
Who would ever think that an unheard of movie with a quirky name as 'Maamiyar Veedu' would contain such an outstanding gem. Been in a loop for the past few days. (And the tabla love app_eng will fall in love with this for sure, if he hasn't heard it already!!)

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR1889'&lang=en

Yes, Sureshji - a great song and I've heard many times before but without knowing the name of the movie :-)

KJY-SJ-IR, not a single song in this combo I can dislike:-) (tablA additional bonus)

29th March 2012, 10:37 PM
Munnam Seidha: the tune is indeed beautiful!

Fell in love with the munnam seitha thavam song only recently (within the last couple of years) and not at the time of arrival! pullarips melody!

Devaraagam
29th March 2012, 11:43 PM
Sureshji..you can consider the following solos from Manjari along with "keyatha"

1. Aatrin karaiyorathu(rasathantram)\
2. Ponna Porantha (chidambarathil oru appasami - reamke of srinivasan's malayalam movie)

1st April 2012, 04:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24rCvSxnh5Y

1st April 2012, 07:43 PM
Manjari - add Kekkaliyo from Kasthurimaan. She had the addl task of compensating for Tippu's Meh singing in this. Ambum kombum also spirited singing.

rajsmed
4th April 2012, 01:13 AM
Hey everyone,

I recently uploaded this very rare and hit song from the combination of Maestro Ilayaraja - S.P.Balasubramaniam - P.Susheela - S.Janaki. The song is "Naan Oru Ponnoviyam Kanden Ethire" from "Kannil Theriyum Kathaigal". Enjoy everyone!

I will be uploading many more rare and hit Ilayaraja songs over the next few days.

My channel is www.youtube.com/user/rajsmed

Please share your comments on Youtube! I always find it encouraging when people share their unique take on Maestro's songs! Best wishes!

- Rajesh

Tamil Movie Song - Kannil Theriyum Kathaigal - Naan Oru Ponnoviyam Kanden Ethire

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smV4gxkBkuM

rajsmed
4th April 2012, 10:01 AM
More rare and hit songs from recent uploads:

Tamil Movie Song - Dhuruva Natchathiram - Poovendrum Ponne Endrum

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PQcISGPKMM

Tamil Movie Song - Naan Sonnathey Sattam - Athikaalai Neram Kanavil Unnai Paarthen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A356Lovv9Bk

Tamil Movie Song - Parvathi Ennai Paaradi - Chinna Poongili Sindhum Thenmozhi Inikkum Nannaal Ithu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T07pmlcQ_g0

Tamil Movie Song - Bhagavathipuram Railway Gate - Kaalai Nera Kaatre Vaazhthi Sellu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g83t-hSw4KQ

San_K
5th April 2012, 01:00 AM
Poovendurm Ponne Enrum

What a song saarji enna oru paadal aiya. Arumai. Ilaiyaraja's polymorphism :)

Thanks rajsmed, listened continuously 5 times this song alone

Alva, palkova ellam thinna thinna thigattum, Kadhali kooda oru kattathula veruppagalam, but ivaru songs mattum een ippadi katti izhukkuthu

tvsankar
5th April 2012, 02:29 PM
San k,
nejama.. romba nalla comments .. Raja music pathi. ss.. ellam thigatum.. bore adikum. indha raja songs matum
bore adikadhu........ yarum vendam. namakaga naamae kaekalam.............

Raja's songs.....They are our Permanent Friends.

Divine22
6th April 2012, 01:53 PM
Excellent uploads Rajsmed !!!

''Poo Endrum Ponne Endrum'' ~ Lovely rare song, Sugamaane Paadal :bow: :bow:

''Athikaalai Neram'' ~ Saranraj kku ippdi ore song aah ? Raaja sir, Unge karunaiye karunai :)

Same goes for Saravanan for "Chinna Poongkili'' ~ Soothing rendition & song , and I have nvr watched this movie, Probably won't watch it anyways ..

7th April 2012, 09:04 AM
For past few days, and also for coming days..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0heiukbzv1E

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y7Z_xQ7Gy40

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QzyRkDqiKI4

எங்கிருந்தோ அழைக்கும் உன் கீதம்
என்னுயிரில் கலந்தே அது பாடும்
சேர்ந்திடவே உனையே
ஏங்கிடுதே மனமே

10th April 2012, 08:06 PM
iLamanathu pala kaNavu from Selvi - http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3258'&lang=en

This has been the song on my lips (konjam kashtam dhaan, irundhaalum) for the past few days. Apart from the bass guitar, the Raaja flute esp. in the prelude (best enjoyed with closed eyes, forming your own imagery - can be quite difficult if you have seen the video though) is stunning.

10th April 2012, 09:43 PM
Naai paattu :lol: me and VoIP use to listen this for whole day. Whatte saang ya :notworthy: There is also an instrumental version for this.

12th April 2012, 08:54 PM
"NenjukkuL poo manjangaL nee itta nEram" from "SAttai illAdha bambaram" - borne out of Raja's most innovative phase. What impress me are the trumpets on a roll, fancy guitar , Janaki and the groovy beats, all depicting a kind of nonchalance and foot-loose ness. The flute tid bits is the fringe benefit.

Vairamuthu might have cursed Raja under his breath for this googly of a sandham, more so for Raja himself coming up with opening line with his fav nenjam manjam kottAvi invoking edhugai monai, while gleefully welcoming SG's nursery rhyming rendu kannam chandhana kinnam, pournami neram pAvai oruthi

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3173'&lang=en

kiru
13th April 2012, 12:57 AM
iLamanathu pala kaNavu from Selvi - http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3258'&lang=en

This has been the song on my lips (konjam kashtam dhaan, irundhaalum) for the past few days. Apart from the bass guitar, the Raaja flute esp. in the prelude (best enjoyed with closed eyes, forming your own imagery - can be quite difficult if you have seen the video though) is stunning.

Awesome song.. wonder how many such gems are lost from limelight !!! One of the few things I observed with rhythm instruments is IR's use of ratchets/Guiros .. I did not even know what they were called. Googled for rhythm instruments and found the right sample and instrument name.
See - http://www.compositiontoday.com/sound_bank/percussion/guiro.asp
Other instruments that I noticed are the headless tambourine/traditional cabassa (beads).

13th April 2012, 01:18 AM
iLamanathu pala kaNavu from Selvi - http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3258'&lang=en (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR3258%27&lang=en)

kastam dhaan...i mean watching the video...now i understand why the mention of dogs...
how grateful i am their contribution stopped with just visuals...
haven't heard this song in ages...still keeps its freshness...great find =)

14th April 2012, 12:57 AM
Kick ass bass lines! Mottai's another veri kondu aadal song!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_Pjf5RlVy8

for better audio -> http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR2064%27&lang=en

14th April 2012, 08:08 PM
Didn't know where to post this, but since witnessing your magnificent craft in writing, V_S Sir I have a humble request... Please could you kindly share your thoughts on:

Poovar Senni Mannan and Puttril Vazha Aravum Angen from Thiruvasagam

Lajja Title Credits

Nee Partha

The Music Messiah (Note: not the album, just the title piece. It's number 7 on the album.) http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3580'&lang=en

Whenever you're ready, take your time.

V_S
15th April 2012, 09:52 AM
Sure Sunil. Thanks. :smile: Every composition you quoted are juicy ones. Whenever I find some devoted time, definitely will try to write about them.

16th April 2012, 06:13 AM
Janani Janani from Enrdendrum Raja 2011 - http://soundcloud.com/vijeeth/janani-janani-endrendrum-raja - Great Goosebumps every Morning! Better than Original Track!

I have enabled downloading too.

16th April 2012, 11:32 AM
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR3149%27&lang=en

Anbu Mugam Thantha Sugam...

IR, sweetly rhyming, sweeping interludes with viola perhaps?

16th April 2012, 06:38 PM
Paadu paatteduththu from En Arugil Nee Irunthaal - http://www.thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00132&lang=en

Rambunctious song spoiled by the choice of singers. I don't hate Mano like some of you do here, but he is definitely a misfit. I don't even know what to say about Uma R in this song. Especially the way she sings 'Jolly' is :lol: Great song though. First time for me. I have listened to Oh UnnaalE Naan peNNaanEn before.

AravindMano
4th May 2012, 04:42 AM
pon veyililE - oru yAthramozhi. If they name tracks in English as well, I would have called this as Wings Of Violins. The way the first interlude breaks open and the way the violins spread their wings between kAlthaLagaLum.. kai vaLagaLum.. louly. The primary take away from this song for me.

The pallavi rather begins nothing extraordinary but that turn at kuRumbERum kuruvAlan is so sweet that it gets me every single time humming along. This song came in 1997? Even after twenty years of making melody - making a pleasing lovely melody again, vAngittu vandha varam. Second interlude has synth and loops and all.

Not liking this Sreekumar. Chithra is sweet as ever.

Sureshs65
4th May 2012, 12:25 PM
AM,

The whole of 'oru yathramozhi' is stupendous. This song, 'thaimavin thanalil', 'erikanal kaatril' and 'majulum'. My wife's aunt had come once to Blore visiting and after she heard the songs, she asked for the tape. I gave it to her. I was lucky that I got another copy of the tape. I heard 'kaakala kannamma' song was major hit in Kerala. My wife's favorite album as well.

Sureshs65
5th May 2012, 11:34 AM
'siru kootula' from 'Pandinaattu Thangam'. What an amazing beauty. To think such songs went unappreciated brings blood tears.

http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR2533'&lang=en

skr
5th May 2012, 10:35 PM
Siru Kootila is such a stunning Kalyani..
First time hear for me and im just loving it ..

The beats in tisram , Chitra's rendition and the orchestration make it such a beauty ..

skr
5th May 2012, 10:36 PM
An absolutely fantabulous composition , his 70s compositions are just so special , soaked in melody with a hindustani touch .
I guess this must be his 1st composition where he has used Misram.
Once you stumble into his 70s its difficult to go beyond this phase :-)*
Vintage magic of the highest order ..

Chella Pillai Saravanan - Pen Janman (1977)
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR2679'&lang=en

baroque
5th May 2012, 11:29 PM
yeah....so sweet!
this composition is M.S.V style composition.
wonderful compostion, SKR.

5th May 2012, 11:32 PM
'siru kootula' from 'Pandinaattu Thangam'. What an amazing beauty. To think such songs went unappreciated brings blood tears.

Enna solreenga ji :-) Siru koottula was a big hit at the time of arrival and still *mildly* popular. Chitra the sweetest :-) :-) The Santoor/keyboard/flute call-response in the first interlude is something to die for.

tvsankar
5th May 2012, 11:54 PM
suresh,
thanks for the pick.. indha paatu vandha apo .. kalyanam agi Hosur vandhen.. Radio and tv.. No tamil. only kannada. enga kitayum audio system kedaiyadhu.. enga veetu pakkathil oru tea shop vandhadhu.. apo enga area vil no sound pollution....

indha tea shop il.. IR songs.. pudhusu elalm padinadhu. apo indha paatai kaeten. maru naal.. nanaum en hubby um koviluku ponom. anga
ivaroda friend vandhar.. engalai pola avarum oru Raja fan.. engalai parthu sonnar.. pudhusa padam .. Pondi naatu thangam.. paatu ellam romba nalla iruku.. veetuku vango rendu perum nu invite panninar.. paataiyum paadi kaatinar. naan sonnen. iniki than tea shop la indha paatu ellam
kaeten nu.haahhaha.
veetuku vandhadhum.. en hubby sonnar. paatu kaeten nu solliko. edhuku tea shop nu solre nu. naan sonnen. paatu kaeten nu sonna epadi nambuvanga nu. hahahha.

apadi kashta pattu RAja songs kaeta kalam adhu. adhanal, romba special indha paatu elalm suresh.

6th May 2012, 01:57 AM
Thamks skr for the link to "chellla piLLai". I was humming this song few weeks back and very badly wanted to listen. But had no clue of the movie name.
I agree with Nerd when he says PAndi NAttu Thangam songs were popular , esp "Un manasula pAttu thaan" and "siru kootula"
Very interesting tea kadaiyil varum Geetham Usha. I too find it amusing why men get paranoid when they spot us in the vicinity of tea kadai as if it is only their birthright and idhula oru vethu presteeeege vera like the guy who stayed close to my hostel chided me "enna idhu kanda tea kadaila ellaam poi tea saaptundu. cha!! naa vena enga veetlendhu dhino paalo ,coffee yo anupparen". Avanukku enna theriyum enga hostel magimai or the pleasure of drinking Raja's songs along with Road side tea and bisxuits.

Sureshs65
6th May 2012, 06:23 AM
Nerd / Thumburu,

My bad. I heard this song only a couple of months the first time (I have hear 'en manasula' earlier) and assumed this was not popular. Haven't heard it in Hyd. I now stand corrected.

Usha Madam,

Like app, you must also start one thread wherein you can post in your life experience along with the song. I am sure it will be interesting.

thumburu,

" pleasure of drinking Raja's songs along with Road side tea and bisxuits." Roger that.

6th May 2012, 02:13 PM
+1 Suresh. US(usha Sankar) kitta neRaiya stories irukku. adhuvum 1976lErundhu. Janaki-IR history ivana kaila koduththu thread ArambichuralAm. OptionlAm thara vENAm. Thread aarambichudunga

kiru
7th May 2012, 10:19 AM
"I too find it amusing why men get paranoid when they spot us in the vicinity of tea kadai as if it is only their birthright and idhula oru vethu presteeeege vera " - ha ha you folks should start a "Women for SideWalk Tea Shops" org :-) My wife would join too .. I had the exactly same reaction when my wife said she used to drink at a tea shop near her cramming center while preparing for the Nursing Boards exams in Chennai. You women folk should not misunderstand us men.. just some traditional chivalry and caring for our woman that is all :-)
I love the masala tea at the "gundamma" tea shop near Gandhi mantapam (Adyar Road ?).. and the young fellow used to keep track of how many biscuits each person is grabbing from the glass jar .. there was no music though. But the music with tea was there in my home town..

Sureshs65
7th May 2012, 10:30 PM
Listening to the songs of 'Chinnapadas'. Never gave it a keen listen earlier and as usual regretting it now :( 'paaku vethalai'. 'paadum bhakta meera' and especially 'vaanam thodadha'. Super songs all.

http://thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00099&lang=en

7th May 2012, 10:34 PM
Listening to the songs of 'Chinnapadas'. Never gave it a keen listen earlier and as usual regretting it now :( 'paaku vethalai'. 'paadum bhakta meera' and especially 'vaanam thodadha'. Super songs all.

http://thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00099&lang=enfirst kaettappo, indha padam IR illainnu nenaichutten... :sad: though, I liked vaanam thodatha & paakku vethala... :)

kiru
8th May 2012, 03:57 AM
yeah....so sweet!
this composition is M.S.V style composition.
wonderful compostion, SKR.
Yes, I feel many songs of IR in the 70s had a MSV influence. I guess it takes a while to evolve your own style.
I also like this song very much.
For others, we are talking about -

Chella Pillai Saravanan - Pen Janman (1977)
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer...9'&lang=en

8th May 2012, 10:00 AM
Ich Liebe Dich - by S.Janaki in pudhupAttu :musicsmile:
Lyrics, anyone?

Gregorysab
8th May 2012, 01:35 PM

http://thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00099&lang=en

Vaanam thodadha is my favourite!!! A song that I would put in the same level as "Ninnu Kori Varnam", though many might disagree! Vaanam Thodadha has amazing executed interludes, brilliant stuff on keyboards and great bass-work! A song, that is complete mismatch with picturisation because song is ahead of its times, in my opinion.

8th May 2012, 08:48 PM

Unbridled, free-flowing stunning beauty in kalyani. What a flow. BTW, first time kekkareengala? :shock: Not that i don't have my share of misses, but neenga 2000-a vittu veliya vandhu konjam pin nokki paakkanum :twisted:

V_S
9th May 2012, 12:40 AM
You might have listened to Oh Vennilaave, Oru KiLi Uruguthu, Thaamarai Kodi and Oomai Nenjin Osai from Aananda Gummi with SPB and SJ doing a cakewalk, but this song is not mostly heard even those days. Once you hear, it will be your dearest. I am not sure if it is a title song. The opening santhoor and sober flute tells us what this song is going to be. One of Raja's best solo. The solo violin and flute in the interludes tells us the whole story. :notworthy: Simple and friendly tune yet Raja brings the depth with his phenomenal singing and drowning orchestration. What a singer! Very under-rated singer of all time.

I was searching for a good quality, found one recently from Love is Pain album. Aptly titled and some great songs in this album.

Thindaaduthey Rendu KiLiyE
http://www.mediafire.com/?xim3ufgj37iwssr

9th May 2012, 10:40 AM
engirundhE azhaikkum - from en jeevan paadudhu

I like IR's version better than Lata Mangeshkar's.
adhukku enna?

San_K
9th May 2012, 11:42 AM
En Jeevan Paduthu (song) - KJJ :notworthy: enna oru swing in tune

Sureshs65
9th May 2012, 11:54 AM
Unbridled, free-flowing stunning beauty in kalyani. What a flow. BTW, first time kekkareengala? :shock: Not that i don't have my share of misses, but neenga 2000-a vittu veliya vandhu konjam pin nokki paakkanum :twisted:

:lol: varuvaan, varuvaan. indha payyan medhu then varuvaan.

After reading app's post on 'rocku muthu rocku' in the SPB thread, hearing this high energy song now:

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR3184'&lang=en

Sureshs65
9th May 2012, 07:14 PM
Nice writeup by Raj. The very definition of innovation this song is:

http://ragamanjari.blogspot.in/

9th May 2012, 10:44 PM
P_R - lata mangi version pdichA dhAn adhisayam. Lata should have stopped singing in 1979 or so .

11th May 2012, 07:30 PM
Thaavi Thaavi Pogum CD Quality is escapism at its best :D

11th May 2012, 08:06 PM
Recently "made" a few CDs with biggest hit songs of post-IR MD's, for kids' sake.

Carefully planted one number of rAsA in each of them, for my sake, as an "antidote" and also to continue the same CD after dropping them off (if feeling too lazy to change the CD) :lol:

'isai mEdaiyil' antidote this AM to 'vA vA vA - neeththAn en kuRinjippoo' of 3 :-)

This SPB-SJ wonder should rank among the "all-time-great-top-songs-of-IR"!

Fantastic melody, superb singing and outstanding orchestration!

"Cool sounding" too, even after a quarter century! (The song may not even have great recording - I doubt if stereo even - but what a terrific rhythm arrangement for the saraNam - exclusive rAsA style! Pallavi may have old-sounding-bango-rhythm but very effective to make it a "running" kind of song...add some freaky chords and rAsA special melodic bass...killer song!)

11th May 2012, 08:09 PM
engirundhE azhaikkum - from en jeevan paadudhu

I like IR's version better than Lata Mangeshkar's.
adhukku enna?

Ir version will sound a bit slow but same bliss!

flau, whats wrong with Lata's version?!? I hear this daily for past month. Posted in twitter too and semma response!

11th May 2012, 08:30 PM
WOW! WOW!! WOW!!!

What a bliss!

this Wet-Tears-Epics innum ennenna greats irukko?! :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWeE8auckU0

15th May 2012, 05:31 AM
WOW! WOW!! WOW!!!

What a bliss!

this Wet-Tears-Epics innum ennenna greats irukko?! :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWeE8auckU0

ennaiyaaa, guitar vaasikkara idathhula flute vaasikkara aala kaamikkiraainga! flute vaasikkara idathhula drums aala kamikkaraainga! some comedy show!

Sureshs65
15th May 2012, 11:04 PM
After a long time hearing this beauty now:

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR0438%27&lang=en

Gregorysab
16th May 2012, 12:31 PM
After a long time hearing this beauty now:

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR0438%27&lang=en

Good one (though i dislike that absolutely-flat-voiced-expressionless-Preeti-Uttam..). The arrangements are actually more techno in measure, than usual Raaja, surprisingly.

Sureshs65
16th May 2012, 12:41 PM
Kamal,

Yes, Preet isn't the optimal voice for this song. And lot of techno in this. The other song from this movie, 'arumbu thalire' is a beauty as well.

rajkumarc
17th May 2012, 07:45 AM
I was listening to Vegam Vegam from Anjali with my 4yr old. I told her a little bit about the background of the song with the kids flying in a bi-cycle and all that. At the end of the song, I asked her how do you feel about the song. I was stunned by the answer - "Appa, I felt like I'm going on a magic journey". I feel the same too whenever I listen. Amazing song this one and my favorite from Anjali. I can never listen to this without hitting the repeat button a couple of times.

aceqoxim
17th May 2012, 07:51 PM
Neethane naalthorum naan pada karanam. IR and Swarnalatha.

Swarnalatha will live forever in my heart. I take a humble bow.

Sureshs65
18th May 2012, 05:33 PM
Stardust,

Well said. Swarnalatha has some absolutely outstanding songs with Raja.

Sureshs65
20th May 2012, 09:27 PM
Now listening to this superb 1978 Malayalam beauty. His first film in Malayalam and what a song it was:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_kw4KUKLlw&feature=related

Sureshs65
20th May 2012, 09:43 PM
For those who want to listen to Raja's 80s work in Malayalam, I have created a playlist in youtube. You can check it out here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ij4cEQhPIHU&feature=BFa&list=PL3CFD2ADCF7A99413

22nd May 2012, 12:33 AM
Raja-Malayalam-80s by sureshs65 (http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL3CFD2ADCF7A99413)

Raja-Malayalam-90s by sureshs65 (http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLCB6413342E7A8373)

மிக்க நன்றி சுஜேஷ்ஜி!

Actually, Suresh can sell these links for good bucks!

23rd May 2012, 01:08 AM
malarE malarE ullAsam - un kaNNil neer vazhindhaal.
enna oru gentle song ! :musicsmile:

23rd May 2012, 11:26 AM
malarE malarE ullAsam - un kaNNil neer vazhindhaal.
enna oru gentle song ! :musicsmile::ty: P_R for reminding this fantastic song!! absolute bliss :D

rajkumarc
23rd May 2012, 12:26 PM
Ennullle Ennulle from Valli sung by Swarnalatha. Goosebump stuff, doesn't fail to leave you in awe every time you listen. Beyond the eroticism, this song invokes an inexplicable feeling of both bliss and sorrow, don't know why. Swarnalatha's best song IMO.

Kind request to V_S to write in detail about this song, whenever you can sir.

KV
23rd May 2012, 08:18 PM
Nothing but wind - peace packaged in musical pieces. :musicsmile:

V_S
23rd May 2012, 08:25 PM
rajkumarc,
Thanks. :smile: I will definitely write about it. I know there are lot pending from my side. I am little slow, please bear with me.

Yesterday I was listening to this stunner non-stop for atleast an hour. It brings back lot of good memories. The film itself is revolutionary in concept considering it was filmed in 80's, but badly executed. Since IR was there and one of my favorite actress Saritha acted, I happened to watch it, but don't remember much now. Radha Ravi and Pandiyarajan starrer. When I was listening to the song, I went into search mode to find the video and found this title song. Spectacular visuals! With bullock carts and reddish soil, we can feel the smell of our land and with Raja's voice pitching in, what more authentic native composition can we ask for?

One of the beauty of the song is in first interlude, where Sasirekha (I think) sings a phrase only with bullock's sound and no other instrument
at the background. How could he even think of such an idea. :notworthy: Remember they cry randomly with no rhythm or pattern, and how he used it effectively is the hallmark of the genius.

Wonderful composition; Chittukkuruvi paaru from Vaazhga VaLarga.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=owxzYr7wR3c (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owxzYr7wR3c)

Since this song didn't capture many hearts that time, he wanted to reinvent and glorify the song again in 90s, which became a blockbuster of a song. I believe you can find that song.

P_R,
From the SPB thread and your recent shares, looks like you are having a bigger treasure of interest in songs. Please share more with us. Malare Malare Ullaasam is a great find! Thanks.

23rd May 2012, 10:10 PM
Great Song V_S. You are a great poster. P_R is a great moderator. This is a great forum.

Sureshs65
23rd May 2012, 10:34 PM
Sakala,

More than me, you should thank the guys who uploaded the videos on youtube. They have been doing great service for us. I just collated it, that's all. Probably the easier of the jobs :)

23rd May 2012, 10:53 PM
Suresh - you are a great youtube compiler. Youtube is a great service. You are a great collator. Sakala is a great consumer of youtube collations. This thread is a good repository for collators, consumers and youtube.

Sureshs65
23rd May 2012, 10:59 PM

:lol: nee baanchan dora. vadileyya raadhu dora. edho chinna pillalam, teliyaka cheppesam.

23rd May 2012, 11:02 PM
theliyaka cheppinA, thelisi cheppinA, cheppinandhukku anubavinchAli mashtaru. Idhigo:

Your sense of humour is great suresh65. YOu made a great joke! I still laughing over the floor. ha ha ha

23rd May 2012, 11:29 PM
Suresh - you are a great youtube compiler. Youtube is a great service. You are a great collator. Sakala is a great consumer of youtube collations. This thread is a good repository for collators, consumers and youtube.

Jenma saabalyam adainthen. My purpose of hubbing got justified only now. Ithellaam ennoda last jenmaa punniyaa!

24th May 2012, 12:20 AM
Your sense of humour is great suresh65. YOu made a great joke! I still laughing over the floor. ha ha ha

:kaNNil thaNNeer:

24th May 2012, 10:35 AM
தேன்மொழி எந்தன் தேன்மொழி - மனோ!

இரு இடையிசைகளிலும் ஒலிக்கும் வயலின் - சொர்க்கம் !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP8YM0Z0M_4

24th May 2012, 07:32 PM
'manjaL poosum manjaL poosum' from chakkarai dEvan - first time complete listen, previously used to skip...

:shock: that I've missed such a lovely song for so long :-(

MV-SJ, great combo and what a lovely melody (I'm sure it called for singers of such calibre to render a tough song like this! pA-rA, the writer who is supposedly learning to play piano and finding rAsA's songs the most difficult, can have this song as an exercise :wink: The "karuppu" keys are often resented by my 19 year old and this song sure has many of them as per my siRRaRivu :lol2: )

The song that followed this in the van's HDD completely reset the whole thrill - another song that I used to skip and today wanted to give a complete listen - 'allA un ANaippadi' from chandralEkhA :-(

What could have been a great number had been thoroughly massacred by three elements : male singer (1st prize), tsk-tsk sound in percussion (2nd prize) and female singer (3rd prize). No wonder rAsA ceased to be the trend-setter during 90's :oops:

24th May 2012, 08:16 PM

:lol: nee baanchan dora. vadileyya raadhu dora. edho chinna pillalam, teliyaka cheppesam.
oka chinna mano vishayam meeku indha pedhdha impact ichchindhaa Plum gaaru.
koncham neellu thaagesi nidhra padi tharavaatha randi manchi matalu unnayi maatlaadaaniki.

24th May 2012, 10:06 PM
jaiganes gaaru - tagE alavAttu lEdhu. manakku birandhi visjy yanni eedanE, ee bevars mAtalnE. ainA nEnu pOtlAdEdhi oka dharma pOrAttam, samAjAnni thippi ultA chEsE poRattam. Ee samAjAnni vadhalanu. andharu nA dhArikki rAvAli. oche varakku vEdham vaayisthAn.

25th May 2012, 03:00 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VCZvtyNay2U

25th May 2012, 11:29 AM
ooradangum saamaththilE - pudhuppatti ponnuththAyi :musicsmile:

Swarnalatha :clap:
Uma Ramanan :-|

25th May 2012, 11:42 AM
rAkku rAkkammA hO hoi pOttu thAkkammA
nOttam pOttammA hO hoi vAttam pOkkammA

(kaaattilE kammangkAttilE
paattilE vandha pAttilE)

SPB and SJ - the best pair ever :clap:

IR - unMaiyila ivarukku theriyumA, idhellAm endha range-ku vElai senjittu assaultA kadandhu pOyirukkArnu.

25th May 2012, 12:02 PM
unnai edhirpArththEn - vanaja girijA

kiravuso - add to the Swarnalatha list.
Pretty challenging song and she nails perfectly.

25th May 2012, 12:13 PM
oththaiyila ninnadhenna - vanaja girija
What a simple and lovely song
Chithra ? Resume' -la prominentA pOttukkalaam.
But I couldn't help thinking how it would've been if SJ had sung.

25th May 2012, 12:31 PM
konjam sangeetham katruththA - veetla visEshanga

avarukku ippadi oru pAttu pOttOm-nu nyAbagam irukkumA?

25th May 2012, 12:42 PM
ooradangum saamaththilE - pudhuppatti ponnuththAyi :musicsmile:

Swarnalatha :clap:
Uma Ramanan :-|

Its in my playlist for more than 1000 days. I love listening this song while driving in nights especially after tough day at work. The flute in the interlude :clap:

Uma Ramanan, I hate her voice. Sriranga ranganathan song-aye spoil pannirupaanga.

San_K
25th May 2012, 12:52 PM
konjam sangeetham katruththA - veetla visEshanga

avarukku ippadi oru pAttu pOttOm-nu nyAbagam irukkumA?

ha ha good question. Naan kooda ippadi ninaichathundu :)

San_K
25th May 2012, 12:54 PM
Uma ramanan, I dont hate her. For those who hat her, try Oh Unnale Naan Pennane song, lovely lovely

Sureshs65
25th May 2012, 02:19 PM
For some reason, am unable to come out of this beauty for the past 3 days. Listening continuously.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=D_kw4KUKLlw

25th May 2012, 03:07 PM
feeyaar, excellent songs from 90s!

I remember a line from Kalki review, for Veetla viseshanga. They have written a -ve review. For music, this is what they wrote

"பாக்யராஜ், உங்களோடு சேர்ந்து தொலைந்துபோன இளையராஜாவையும் தேடிக்கண்டுபிடித்து கூட்டிவாருங்கள்"

அடே அடே, என்னே ஒரு இசை ஞானம்!

25th May 2012, 05:43 PM
Dhoni and Mayilu CD rips (thanks again to V_S sir). The CD elevates each and every song quite a bit, esp. the Dhoni songs. Even Chinna KaNNilE sounds so delightful. And AravindMano, plis to listen to viLaiyaatta padagOtti. ShreyaG voice auto-tuned nnu solliputteenga, she sounds so natural and fantastic on the CD-rip. Mayilu songs are OK too the biggest problem being the choice of singers. Dhoni is certainly the album of the year so far. Now, NEPV kamaan yaa :-)

baroque
26th May 2012, 02:48 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1E3HW8OPD8

Residents of USA,

MEMORIAL DAY WISHES!

PRIDE & TOGETHERNESS!

Vinatha.

27th May 2012, 06:31 AM
vaanam keezhE vandhA enna :musicsmile:

As B(K) would say - lightA theerthAm saaptu kEttu pAththirukkELA??

28th May 2012, 02:59 AM
azhagaaga siriththadhu andha nilavu - December PookkaL

ennamO ellAm eppOyO senju mudichittu pOyittApla.

V_S
28th May 2012, 09:55 AM
adhe adhe! How many countless gems like this! Songs to be composed in 10 year span, he had composed in 6 months/1year and with numerous varitey. Insane stuff of a genius!

Arvind Srinivasan
28th May 2012, 04:09 PM
http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZZ6cfm0AS0

Poomalai vangi vandhaan- Kanada at its best. This has to feature as one of Ilayaraaja's best classical song. Splendid music which is lead by some marvelous singing by KJ Yesudas. Due credit should be given to the lyricist as well as the lyrics complemented the song brilliantly. Ilayaraja + KJ Yesudas = divinity......

29th May 2012, 01:19 AM
Due credit should be given to the lyricist as well as the lyrics complemented the song brilliantly.

pEr sonnAl enna :-)

Vairamuthu excelled in SB :-)

29th May 2012, 01:37 AM
Veerathaalaattu - what a delight of an album!

29th May 2012, 01:49 AM

idhula 'paadariyaen padippariyaen' eludhurappo IR-VM'kulla sangadam aachunu engayo padichaen...
VM recent timela avlo form'um illa... i wish he gets back to his good form... idhu orasa orasa theyura kalai illayae... minnura kalaidhaanae...

29th May 2012, 01:51 AM
As B(K) would say - lightA theerthAm saaptu kEttu pAththirukkELA??

:shock: edhunaa simulationaa?

lydayaxobia493
29th May 2012, 09:05 AM
idhula 'paadariyaen padippariyaen' eludhurappo IR-VM'kulla sangadam aachunu engayo padichaen...

இளையராஜா வைரமுத்து பிரிவுக்கு என்ன காரணம்?
என்று நிறைய நண்பர்கள் கேட்க நாங்கள் ஆராயந்ததில் எங்களுக்கு கிடைத்த சில தகவல் உங்களுக்காக. ஈகோ பிரச்சனையா? கொஞ்சம் அலசித்தான் பார்க்கலாமே!

இளையராஜாவின் இசையில் தொடர்ந்து பல பாடல்களுக்கு பாடல் எழுதும் வாய்ப்பு என பிஸியாக சென்று கொண்டிருந்த இந்த பயனத்தில் விரிசல் விழத்தொடங்கியது;

வைரமுத்து பிற இசையமைப்பாளர்களின் படங்களுக்கும் அதிகமாக எழுத்தொடங்கிய போதுதான். அதுவரை ஒலிப்பதிவின் போது சரியான நேரத்திற்கு வந்து தேவைப்பட்ட நேரத்தில் பாடல்வரிகளின் திருத்தத்திற்கு பெரும் உதவியாக இருந்த வைரமுத்துவால் சரியாக ஒலிப்பதிவிற்கு வரமுடியாமல் போனதால் உரசல் உண்டாகி அது நாளடைவில் ஒருவரை ஒருவர் சமயம் கிடைக்கும் போது தாக்கிக்கொள்ளும் அளவிற்கு பெரியதாகியது.

அடுத்ததாக பாடல் வரிகளில் இளையராஜா தலையிட்டு மாற்றச்சொல்வது; அந்த விரிசலை மேலும் பெரியதாக்கியது.

உதாரணமாக “சிந்து பைரவியில்” வைரமுத்து எழுதிய பல்லவியை மாற்றிவிட்டு கிராமிய பாடலில் இருந்து இளையராஜா எடுத்து போட்ட பல்லவிதான் “பாடறியேன் படிப்பறியேன்” என்ற பல்லவி. இந்த கிராமிய பாடலின் பல்லவியை “புதிய வார்ப்புகள்” படத்திலும் நீங்கள் கேட்கலாம்.

விரிசல் பெரிசாக பெரிசாக ஒருவர் பலவீனத்தை இன்னொருவர் இனம் கண்டு தாக்க அது மனஸ்தாபமாய் உருவெடுத்தது, உதாரணமாக வைரமுத்துவிற்கு எப்போதுமே ஒரு படத்தில் உள்ள அனைத்து பாடல்களையும் தானே எழுதவேண்டும் (படத்தின் கேஸ்ட்/ரெக்கார்டில் போட்டோ, டைட்டில் கார்டு, போஸ்டர் விளம்பரத்தில் தனித்து தெரிவது) என்பது விருப்பமாய் இருக்கும். இதை அவரே பலமுறை தெரிவித்துள்ளார்.

இந்த சூழலில் தாய்க்கொரு தாலாட்டு படத்திற்கு முழுப்பாடலையும் எழுத வைரமுத்து ஒப்பந்தமாகிறார் பாடல்கள் எல்லாம் ஒலிப்பதிவாகி படமாக்கப்பட்ட பின்னர்; ரீ-ரெக்கார்டிங்கின் போது மேலும் ஒரு பாடலை சேர்த்து அதை கவிஞர் வாலியை வைத்து எழுதச்சொல்லி; பாடல்கள் – வைரமுத்து என்ற டைட்டில் கார்டை பாடல்கள் – வாலி,வைரமுத்து (ஒரு பாட்டு எழுதினாலும் வாலி சீனியர் ஆச்சே வாலி பெயர்தானே முதலில் வரவேண்டும்) என்று மாற்றுகிறார் இளையராஜா. இளையராஜா இவ்வாறு நடந்து கொள்ள என்ன காரணம்? இந்த படத்தின் பாடல் கம்போஸிங்கின் போது “இளமைக்காலம் – என்ற புதியபறவை” பாடல் ரீமிக்ஸின் வரிகளில் “பழைய பாடல் போல புதிய பாடல் இல்லை” என்று வரிகளில் வைரமுத்து வார்த்தை ஜாலம் புரிந்து இளையராஜாவை கோபப்படுத்தியதே காரணம்.

இதே போல்தான் சிந்துபைரவி டைட்டில் கார்டிலும் பிரச்சனை; “தென்றலது கண்டதுண்டு திங்களது கண்டதில்லை, மனம்தான் பார்வை” என்ற வாலி எழுதிய இரண்டு வரிகளுக்காக, வாலியின் பெயரை தியாகராஜசுவாமிகள், பாரதியார், ஆகியோருடன் சேர்த்து ஒரு டைட்டில் கார்டுடாகவும், பாடல்கள் – வைரமுத்து என்று வைரமுத்திற்கு தனி டைட்டில் கார்டு போட்டு பிரச்சனையை பாலச்சந்தர் சமாளித்திருப்பார்.

கடைசியாக இவை எல்லாம் சேர்ந்து ஒரு நாள் “இசை பாடும் தென்றல்” படப்பாடல் கம்போஸிங்கின் போது மோதலாக வெடித்தது. “எந்தன் கைக்குட்டையை யார் எடுத்தது” பாடலுக்கு வரியை எழுதி வைரமுத்து இளையராஜாவிடம் காட்ட, “என்னய்யா பாட்டு எழுதச்சொன்னா, உரைநடை எழுதியிருக்க? இப்ப பாரு நான் எழுதுறேன்” என்று தான் எழுதிய பாடலை இளையராஜா வைரமுத்துவிடம் காண்பிக்க, வைரமுத்து “prose மாதிரி இருக்கு” என்று கூறிவிட்டு கோபமாக அந்த அறையில் இருந்து உடனடியாக வெளியேறிவிட்டார். அதன் பின்னர் எத்தனையோ போர் எவ்வளோவிதமாக சமாதானம் செய்தும் பலனேதும் இல்லை.

இப்போது கூறுங்கள் இளையராஜா வைரமுத்து பிரிவுக்கு என்ன காரணம்?

Possessiveness.

Arvind Srinivasan
29th May 2012, 10:22 AM

:lol: oru vegathulla ezhuthinathaala vittutaen....

Arvind Srinivasan
29th May 2012, 11:23 AM
Another song that's grown into me for the past few months. I've liked the song before. But for over the last two or three months or so, I make it a point to hear the song at least once a day. Great music, wonderful singing and even more wonderful lyrics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TL2Q0Bkvi7Y

விரல்களைத் தாண்டி வளர்ந்ததைக் கண்டு
நகங்களை நாமும் நறுக்குவதுண்டு
இதில் என்ன பாவம் எதற்கிந்த சோகம் கிளியே - vaali...:notworthy:

IR , Vaali and SPB for a great song- :notworthy: :notworthy:

San_K
29th May 2012, 12:38 PM
இளையராஜா வைரமுத்து பிரிவுக்கு என்ன காரணம்?

கடைசியாக இவை எல்லாம் சேர்ந்து ஒரு நாள் “இசை பாடும் தென்றல்” படப்பாடல் கம்போஸிங்கின் போது மோதலாக வெடித்தது. “எந்தன் கைக்குட்டையை யார் எடுத்தது” பாடலுக்கு வரியை எழுதி வைரமுத்து இளையராஜாவிடம் காட்ட, “என்னய்யா பாட்டு எழுதச்சொன்னா, உரைநடை எழுதியிருக்க? இப்ப பாரு நான் எழுதுறேன்” என்று தான் எழுதிய பாடலை இளையராஜா வைரமுத்துவிடம் காண்பிக்க, வைரமுத்து “prose மாதிரி இருக்கு” என்று கூறிவிட்டு கோபமாக அந்த அறையில் இருந்து உடனடியாக வெளியேறிவிட்டார். அதன் பின்னர் எத்தனையோ போர் எவ்வளோவிதமாக சமாதானம் செய்தும் பலனேதும் இல்லை.

Idhula வைரமுத்து gopappada enna irukku? இளையராஜா sonnadhula enna thappu irukku?

29th May 2012, 12:46 PM
Nice meesik song. 8-)

rAkku rAkkammA hO hoi pOttu thAkkammA
nOttam pOttammA hO hoi vAttam pOkkammA

(kaaattilE kammangkAttilE
paattilE vandha pAttilE)

SPB and SJ - the best pair ever :clap:

IR - unMaiyila ivarukku theriyumA, idhellAm endha range-ku vElai senjittu assaultA kadandhu pOyirukkArnu.

29th May 2012, 12:49 PM
:shock: edhunaa simulationaa? :roll:

29th May 2012, 07:38 PM
:lol: SS, P_Rum rowdy dhaan :mrgreen:

29th May 2012, 09:14 PM
:lol: nambavE maatrAingaLE

Hooked to veerthalaaattu. Lovely song.

Vaadipatti - http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR3999%27,%27SNGIRR4000%2 7&lang=en
Gangai is fun!

29th May 2012, 09:26 PM
Here is SuddhasAveri in all her resplendence - “ sugham sughame” – “Naan pOtta savaal” . When Vani and MV exhibit such pure joy and relish while singing, is it any surprise that the listener partakes in the whole scheme ?
Raja lavishly spreads the santhoor right from the start, interludes , line endings in the charanams. I miss this badly apart from flute in the current Raja. Santhoor always marked an early Raja number for me – sAmakozhi, chinna kannan, aathu mEttula ...
Those unhurried days, we were fortunate – 3 exotic interludes without accounting the bonus prelude, replete with flute, violins, guitars , santhoor , humming , all of them getting their due in an uncluttered way

http://www.raaga.com/player4/?id=154722&mode=100&rand=0.1728347057006313

tvsankar
30th May 2012, 01:39 AM
Nice thumburu. paatu vandha podhu.. avvalava pidikalai. ana ipo pidikum........ yenu theiryadhu............

tvsankar
30th May 2012, 01:45 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGFIe3YdbfY&feature=related

Vaarthai ilali.... just feelings............ from IR............. from SJ...................... kashta pattu.. indha paatai kaeta naatkal.
padam parka mudiyamal ponadhu,.

Thanks to RajsMed.

1st June 2012, 11:42 AM
alli sundhara valli laali - kaNgaLin vaarthaikaL

I very very vaguely remember it hearing it back then. Vijay padam dhaanE?

Not sure it's a gem, but a nice song nevertheless :musicsmile:

1st June 2012, 11:48 AM
ponnin thiruvONa thirunaaLum vannallO - http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR1633%27&lang=en
I remember this one. I think I am listening after a decade. Lovely song :musicsmile:

1st June 2012, 11:58 AM
Take it from me: this will be funnest song you will listen today http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR0507%27&lang=en
aththiripAchchA kaththirikkOlu chinna ramasamy

1st June 2012, 07:02 PM
:lol: SS, P_Rum rowdy dhaan :mrgreen:

Oh is it?? :shock: we will meet soon!

Last song Mandhira punnagayo manjal nilavo :musicsmile: beautiful!

1st June 2012, 08:44 PM
paakku koNdA (sakkarai dEvan) was sung by V.S.Raghavendra.
If I'm not wrong he is the actor who plays the role of the judge in sindhu bhairavi, right?

http://thiraipaadal.com/singer.php?SGRID=Raghavendra%20V.%20S.&lang=en

V_S
1st June 2012, 09:02 PM
alli sundhara valli laali - kaNgaLin vaarthaikaL

I very very vaguely remember it hearing it back then. Vijay padam dhaanE?

Not sure it's a gem, but a nice song nevertheless :musicsmile:
Not watched this film. wiki says it has Vikram, Karan and Prema. Lovely song, but not the thamizh one. P_R please listen to the kannada version, Hallli lavaniyalli from Nammura Mandara Hoove (www.youtube.com/watch?v=32S3qjLk4t8) by SPB.

Great picks again, especially pAkku kondA, frequent in my playlist.

2nd June 2012, 01:55 PM
Yes, KAngalin Vaarthaigal is Bikrom. And I think some Muktha Srinivasan parambarai feller as the hero, with Bikrom as second hero. Obviously, Arunmozhi pAdinadhAla gemnu solla manasu varAdhu. Kanandala kELungo. Kannadala kELungo. P'aadagar Thilagam' pAdi iruppAr. Gem enna Navarathna maalainE solvEL.

Raghavendra indeed is the Sindhu Bhairavi Judge, Azhagu Malar Ada Jadhi feller ellAm avaru dhAn. Onsappanatime, TS Ramani endra PEril isai kooda amaichirukkApla.

2nd June 2012, 01:56 PM
indhALu kaaris seyarasum kEkkrApla. VeerathaalattulErundhu sakkarai thevanum thEdi kEkkaRApla. saivamA asaivamA?

KV
2nd June 2012, 01:57 PM
Onsappanatime, TS Ramani endra PEril isai kooda amaichirukkApla.
:shock: that's some news! info database'nga neenga! :clap:

2nd June 2012, 02:40 PM
Thanks for the kannad link V_S. Nice!

Raghavendra indeed is the Sindhu Bhairavi Judge, Azhagu Malar Ada Jadhi feller ellAm avaru dhAn. Onsappanatime, TS Ramani endra PEril isai kooda amaichirukkApla.
Is he the one who sang the sakkarai devan.
I see thiraipaadal lists the singer is V.S. Raghavendra not T.S.Raghavendra. orE confees.

2nd June 2012, 02:41 PM
indhALu kaaris seyarasum kEkkrApla. VeerathaalattulErundhu sakkarai thevanum thEdi kEkkaRApla. saivamA asaivamA?
madappaLLi-la puLiyOdharai vaangi saappuradhu dhaan
France pOnRa mElai naadugaL pOnA escargot saappudaradhu dhaan

Sureshs65
3rd June 2012, 11:38 PM
An album which I rate on par with classics like 'Kalapaani' and 'Guru'

'Oru Yathra Mozhi': http://www.in.com/music/album/oru-yathramozhi-44517.html

I have no words to describe it. so just go and listen to it.

4th June 2012, 08:29 PM
kaNmaNi - what a lovely album

aasai idhayam
Oh en dEva dEviyE
nEtru vandha kaatru
udal thazhuva thazhuva nazhuvi pOgudhE
Luz-la J bus-la

4th June 2012, 10:50 PM
Feeyar to note: nERRu vandha kARRu i thambi karthikeyan :)

Suresh - Yatramozhi is my favourite too. Right down to Erikkanal kARRil(MSV) and manjolum rAthri. Nobody - just nobody - else can do majolum rAthri. idhellAm andha feel-ai accurateA koNdu varalai it is just a generic poignant music that would have suited any poignant situationnu sonnA, epdi othukkaRadhu?

5th June 2012, 09:46 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvWJjfoz7Ms

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiuoFMnjZYA&feature=relmfu

two gems from this unheard of 1984 film!

5th June 2012, 10:43 AM
Oh! Good I say.
Light and lazy - seem to be his signature, no? Or so I am inclined to opine based on reading what equa wrote. kadaisila ennaiyin idhula ellAm izhuththu vitruveenga pOlayE... I am not a man like this sir. kEttuttu aduththa pAttukku naanbaattukku pOyittu irundhavan.

avanukku oru mp3 player/thiraipaadalai koduththu - loop 'ngradhai ellAm introduce paNNi. enna maadhiri design idhu?

KV
5th June 2012, 11:55 AM
en pEru meenAtchi (http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs='SNGIRR1455'&lang=en)(from kalyana kacheri) -
irir123 sila varusham munnaala post pannappo modhOvatti kEttu paithyam pudikka vechcha paattu. :fun: :madness:
basslines and drums :thaarumaaru:
jaanu ma, the bhaava raani :muah:

V_S
7th June 2012, 09:18 AM
Thanks a lot skr and the uploader for Hello Jai Hind songs. :clap: Truly mesmerizing songs. After long long time, getting in touch with Marathi people through this soundtrack. Beautiful language. Listening one by one slowly. I am hooked into Hariharan's Ganjalelya Saavaleela. A haunting one! The short prelude followed by Hariharan's gentle start suffixed with brilliant vibrating violins. Hariharan's Marathi pronunciation is very good. Charanam is more pleasant. A blinder of a tune.:notworthy: Visuals very captivating. Brilliantly done! With the video, the composition gets complete. In first interlude @1.27 please hear how Maestro brilliantly changes the scale. In the second interlude, when he says, 'I don't want to die eating medicines, I want to die eating bullets', observe the background score there. Stunning! The flute is answering and nodding his views followed by that female humming (no words to describe the beauty :notworthy:) ]. All this sets up a mellow atmosphere in the family, yet Maestro also brings the crowded mileu of Mumbai through his music, extremely well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4ycEcONzdY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=v4ycEcONzdY)

I don't know how Maestro comfortably gets into Marathi way of life and their region, right from the first note in his first film. Maestro's fantastic and memorable Marathi debut!. Hariharan sir, Sabaash! I am literally in tears listening this composition.

7th June 2012, 09:47 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4ycEcONzdY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=v4ycEcONzdY)

bAshai puriyAttiyum pAttu nallA irukku :-)

However, I get this 'engEyO kEtta' feel :oops:

7th June 2012, 10:56 AM

ijjit?!? Kaarthikeyar unofficial songs oru list podungappaa!

skr
7th June 2012, 06:00 PM
Everything about this song is just a sheer delight ..Salad days , IR in replete WCM form ..The sounds of the marching drum , those violins traversing across octaves , the flute prancing joyfully , the la la chorus in the background , the sounds of the bell ,major scale blues, S Janaki's brilliant rendition all transport you to Euro Land in a whisker . 3 and a half minutes of sheer ecstacy and joy.This is Western Classical Music or rather World Class Music at its most enjoyable form.

Azhagiya Malargalin - Ullasa Paravaigal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0LYChweXgU

7th June 2012, 06:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NUxAtpl9XzE&feature=relmfu
is this called destiny? appdi dhaan irukkanum.
raaja innaa sufi meesik pannikeeraarunra maadhiri sonnaapala ingittu..
his awesome "aalamadangalum" in pazhassiraaja notwithstanding, his recent marathi song which was
uploaded recently proves that cometh the moment, cometh the music for him - whatever the form necessary for the song be..
inimel yaarachum kai neetti pesina ... kaiyya kadichupuduven aama..

7th June 2012, 06:38 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvWJjfoz7Ms

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiuoFMnjZYA&feature=relmfu

two gems from this unheard of 1984 film!
the second song finishing with the chorus singing in a shifted scale and shifting it one more - all this has been done in 1984 (the closing feel is goan music genre).
and there is a group that goes around the web posting that all this kinda flourish began in thamizh film music only after 92.

KV
7th June 2012, 06:48 PM
pazhaya panjaangam. sellaadhu sellaadhu.
post 92 vingnyaanam ennamaa valandrikku saar. pakkuvam-deficiency. nimbalki puryaad.

7th June 2012, 07:17 PM
and there is a group that goes around the web posting that all this kinda flourish began in thamizh film music only after 92.

AvLo kappithanamaa pesuravanga ellaam naama yen consider paNNanum?

7th June 2012, 08:25 PM
WOW!! GODAWSOME ALBUM! ALL 4 SONGS ARE PATTAYA KELAPPIFYING! And MAN THIS IS IN 1984!! - Vellai Pura Ondru :clap: :notworthy:

http://thiraipaadal.com/album.php?ALBID=ALBIRR00722&lang=en

Thanks irir123 for posting this!

KV
8th June 2012, 06:01 PM
Been completely hooked to the compilation albums ‘solla solla’ and ‘fire star’ for the past few days (nandri v_sji, wizzman).
What a daring, varied and absurd assortment of songs! It’s one thing to take immensely popular numbers, package as an album and pass it off as ‘hits’; the motive being, quite apparently, only commercial. Picking songs that aren’t well-known (some, even among Raaja fans, I’ll bet) based on the musicality of each song, revving up the sound quality to delicious levels and cutting an album – now, that’s wholesome dedication! Redefining awesomeness! :clap: :clap: :clap:

‘Solla solla’ is a live instruments arusuvai virundhu. :bow:. Guitars (electric, acoustic), bass, drums, trumpets, flute, tribal drums and more; wicked concoction of all this with the man’s classy tunes. Dheiveega malam! You-gotta-hear-it-to-believe-it brilliance! :green green words:

‘Fire star’, on the other hand, is freaky, funky exploration of synth; early expeditions of the man in this territory I imagine. One can sense a degree of crudeness, a lack of ‘refinement and distillation’ in the songs and sounds; but in some strange way, that’s what works for the album. Kitsch - exactly how the company is marketing it.

I’ll bet my buck that there’s a theevira raaja rasigan (and someone with a fine taste of music) at the core of this ‘underground group’. Enquiry commission pOdunga pa! Here’s someone who can be the perfect caretaker of the Man’s priceless creations of art. :reverence:

wizzy
8th June 2012, 09:21 PM
^Fire Star is a different beast..The work they have done on Pala Raathiri track :bow:..I have traversed through its sonic transformation from rm to this one..unbelievable work on the bass around 56sec.. vaaipillamai..buy/steal a good IEM to feel the difference ;-)

baroque
8th June 2012, 10:24 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9hHq2lYof4U

I tumbled down on IR-Kamal composing session of this song , have been listening to the composition back to back...

WOW!

Kamal sir,

இசையில் நாங்கள் தெய்வத்தை காண்கிறோம்!

V_S
8th June 2012, 11:14 PM
Yes KV and wizzy. I am totally in shock how in first place they picked up these rare gems instead of the popular ones and second, how did they achieve this much perfection in quality. Through them, we come to hear all these nuances which we have never heard. Every composition takes us to new world, but I have to tell this one, second#, Rani Mangamma by Mano is brilliant as ever. Very freaky!

baroque
8th June 2012, 11:21 PM
V_S,

Can you please point me to the direction of the compilation, these guys are talking about?

sorry, enga erukku link?

baroque
9th June 2012, 10:02 AM
thanks V_S.

http://www.dustedmagazine.com/reviews/6526

Arvind Srinivasan
9th June 2012, 01:40 PM
A repost from the Song of the Open Road thread

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wz6a3X4ZVvA

அம்மாடி நீதான் இல்லாத நானும்
வெண்மேகம் வந்து நீந்தாத வானம்
தாங்காத ஏக்கம் போதும் போதும்..

இந்த வரி ஒன்றே போதுமே நான் இந்த பாடலை மீண்டும் மீண்டும் கேட்டு ரசிக்க

10th June 2012, 02:20 PM
I don't think it's a 'gem'. But a song sung by IR I like a lot and find myself revisiting often these days,
kaNNiyila sikkAdhaiyyA kaanangkuruvi http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR2973%27&lang=en

Devaraagam
10th June 2012, 04:22 PM
Not watched this film. wiki says it has Vikram, Karan and Prema. Lovely song, but not the thamizh one. P_R please listen to the kannada version, Hallli lavaniyalli from Nammura Mandara Hoove (www.youtube.com/watch?v=32S3qjLk4t8) by SPB.

VS, Kangalin Vaarthaigal songs were released by hmv or just changed as after/before saregama. the quality of recording on the cds/cassets were worst to the core, still whenever I hear the songs..I cannot digest that. since the kannada version has better quality and singers :) (just because of SPB) nowadays I am staying with it.

tvsankar
10th June 2012, 06:11 PM
Nammura Mandara Hoove
have very sweet Nostalgia. paatae kaekama.. Marriage life pochu.. from 89......

during 94. think so. oru audio set........ original cassette vanganam. pudhu padam vanganam .. ipadi nenachu nanaum sankar um
shop ku ponom.. apo anga indha padam dhan irundahdhu.Hosur nala,, kannada and telugu.. udane kidaikum. tamizh apvuam kashtam dhan.
indha Namuur Mandara Hoove. vangi... late night la kaeta sandhosham..... solla vaarthai ilali... edho periya assert kedacha madhirii.

tvsankar
10th June 2012, 06:27 PM
enaku romba pidicha paatu... indha padathula idhu dhan...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yaf8-Vz03ag&feature=relmfu

tvsankar
10th June 2012, 06:34 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEXY8eyL-RY&feature=relmfu

indha paatum dhan............. padam parkamal.. paatai kaeka asai pada vaikum oru Isai kadavul.........

paatai kaetalae.. endha area.. enna nu oru idea koduthuduvar..indha IR....

indha paatum andha type dhan.. paatai kaetadhum.. manasil vandha ennam.. Mudhumalai pakkam.. kannada border....

andha area cultture...... tamil and kannada culture kalandhu......... ipadi oru feelings.. Isaiyil unarthuvadhu..... peirya vishayam.....

Reality and Nativity.. idhu dhan namma IR..................

Devaraagam
10th June 2012, 09:12 PM
rajkumarc,
Thanks. :smile: I will definitely write about it. I know there are lot pending from my side. I am little slow, please bear with me.

Yesterday I was listening to this stunner non-stop for atleast an hour. It brings back lot of good memories. The film itself is revolutionary in concept considering it was filmed in 80's, but badly executed. Since IR was there and one of my favorite actress Saritha acted, I happened to watch it, but don't remember much now. Radha Ravi and Pandiyarajan starrer. When I was listening to the song, I went into search mode to find the video and found this title song. Spectacular visuals! With bullock carts and reddish soil, we can feel the smell of our land and with Raja's voice pitching in, what more authentic native composition can we ask for?

One of the beauty of the song is in first interlude, where Sasirekha (I think) sings a phrase only with bullock's sound and no other instrument
at the background. How could he even think of such an idea. :notworthy: Remember they cry randomly with no rhythm or pattern, and how he used it effectively is the hallmark of the genius.

Wonderful composition; Chittukkuruvi paaru from Vaazhga VaLarga.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=owxzYr7wR3c (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=owxzYr7wR3c)

Since this song didn't capture many hearts that time, he wanted to reinvent and glorify the song again in 90s, which became a blockbuster of a song. I believe you can find that song.

VS, recent time..i m listing this song frequently as the lyric completely abt sittu kuruvi and they way IR rending, I liked but did not noticed the beauties mentioned by you. whats the song came 90'S?

Moreover I thought since the songs are available in indian cinema, we are getting lot of emotions and genre in songs when compare to other part of the world.

nishasiva
11th June 2012, 12:50 PM
Watched Sainthaadamma Sainthaadu movie yesterday.

The song 'Nenjukkul Poomanjam...' is not a part of the movie. Can somebody clarify whether this song belongs to this movie or some other movie.

12th June 2012, 04:15 AM
Non - Ilaiyaraaja song

Rishton Ki Khusboo from Swami (2007) I would easily pass this off by Raaja Saab if I didn't see the credits and I assume all fans won't be disappointed

V_S
12th June 2012, 04:49 AM
VS, recent time..i m listing this song frequently as the lyric completely abt sittu kuruvi and they way IR rending, I liked but did not noticed the beauties mentioned by you. whats the song came 90'S?

Moreover I thought since the songs are available in indian cinema, we are getting lot of emotions and genre in songs when compare to other part of the world.
Absolutely true! Especially we Indians are truly gifted to have ears to listen and appreciate every music around the world, which I hardly find that in other countries. That's the reason music directors are finding way difficult to satisfy we listeners. Glad you asked about the 90's composition. I found KaNNu pada pOguthaiya from Chinna Gounder is very close to this song.

V_S
12th June 2012, 08:17 AM
Nammura Mandara Hoove
have very sweet Nostalgia. paatae kaekama.. Marriage life pochu.. from 89......

during 94. think so. oru audio set........ original cassette vanganam. pudhu padam vanganam .. ipadi nenachu nanaum sankar um
shop ku ponom.. apo anga indha padam dhan irundahdhu.Hosur nala,, kannada and telugu.. udane kidaikum. tamizh apvuam kashtam dhan.
indha Namuur Mandara Hoove. vangi... late night la kaeta sandhosham..... solla vaarthai ilali... edho periya assert kedacha madhirii.
Nicely written Usha ji, especially that 'solla vaarthai ilai, edho periya asset kedacha madhiri'. :thumbsup: Exactly! there are many compositions like this, where words are lost, as we dissolve in it; there is nothing to talk.

13th June 2012, 03:52 AM
dheemi dheemi (shivA 2006)

What a song!

One has to listen to this number immdiately after listening some 20 "regular" hindi hits to feel like 'wow, what a difference' :-)

K
13th June 2012, 01:54 PM
"Innisai mazhai" Songs, listening in Original ACD, wow thalaivar Adichi Dhool Kelapi Irukaar, Variety of music and Instruments, this album is totally unrecognized GEM.

KlamRoyA
13th June 2012, 01:57 PM
Oh paapa laali, Kaaviyam paadava, Oh priya... No words to describe.. only :musicsmile:

Idhayathai thirudathe / Geethanajali is sure one of the Top 10 albums of IR sir...:thumbsup:

Dubbing padam naalum, tamil paadal maathiriye irukkum.. only mani movies fossible.. :)

13th June 2012, 05:50 PM
The sound is so close to "enna solli paaduvadho" which is also one of my alltime fave.
Here the tune is taken to a very addictive level by isai rasaayana vallunar Mr.Raasappu.

Divine22
13th June 2012, 08:47 PM
'What an alluring song.....seductive singing..simply intoxicating preludes & interludes... :bow: :bow:

http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR0974%27&lang=en

layman10
14th June 2012, 03:02 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdURRk4n38c&feature=relmfu Hello Jai - end credits

baroque
16th June 2012, 08:12 AM
long long long long long ago good old raja's endrum vaanaveliyil isaikkum kuyil naan....
piano, guitar, amazing violin, flute:musicsmile:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPaGfJlejxc&amp;feature=relmfu

16th June 2012, 02:21 PM
http://www.thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR1469%27,%27SNGIRR1470%2 7,%27SNGIRR1471%27&lang=en

Devaraagam
16th June 2012, 05:03 PM
IR reduced the difficulties of director and dialogue writer. see this 10 min portion ..3 line dialogue and 1 song remaining portions are completely controlled by BGM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFFM26aeUFU

KlamRoyA
17th June 2012, 10:13 AM
The forgotten song frm IR sir.. nt sure it was hit during release..
One of the best song frm Raja sir..:bow:

KIZHAKKALA SUVATHU PAKKAM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlEWXS5UmAo&feature=player_detailpage#t=94s

Sureshs65
17th June 2012, 11:49 PM
Listening to 'Angel Angel' and 'Hare Rama Hare Krishna' here. 'Angel Angel' is a song to die for. Sort of the song which anyone would want to sing to his/her Angel.

http://musicmazaa.com/kannada/audiosongs/movie/Hare+Rama+Hare+Krishna.html

baroque
17th June 2012, 11:57 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LggayXONwiU

EARLY ILAYARAJA'S MASTERPIECE!:thumbsup::musicsmile:

baroque
18th June 2012, 01:11 AM
For Bharadwaj Rangan and Me, :-D

Ranga, For us, our love for Shri.Ilayaaraja's sangeetham !:musicsmile:

jodi nadhigal paadahai vilagi serndhana...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snJ_MUCJFXY

Everything about this composition, I love!:clap:

vinatha.

18th June 2012, 08:35 PM
Revisited some segments of MMKR yesterday..
The scene where Crazy venkatesh and ponnambalam follow madhan and then get diverted to follow Kaameshwaran - Kamal and crazy in full form is a given.
But a close scrutiny of music opens up a revelation!!
While the "madhan follow" scene is in progress - the music is all jazz and brass - cool..
Then Kaameshwaran crosses path - small shift in the BGM as the followers contemplate- then they begin following kaameshwaran - now the music is all funky carnatic - flute violin and mridhangam full flow - ending in the signal - the "closing theermaanam" - is a carnatic delight with morsing joining in...
It appears as if Kamal and Raaja had a script level discussion on how this scene is going to be edited - but it is not the case - Raaja simply scored for the completed and edited scene and it came out extempore - Just like that and that is pure genius all abound - from Kamal writing it, crazy dialoguing it up and Raaja completing it.. Immense delight.

baroque
20th June 2012, 06:12 AM
nice, Jai!

tonight will pull my MMKR - DVD and enjoy the scene!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QaPGaM_pysA

:bluejump:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpCscxxRU6E

MIRUNDHANGA rajavin virundhu!:bluejump::bluejump:

baroque
20th June 2012, 08:04 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2TpyC8Qi7w

KV
20th June 2012, 07:57 PM
Sitting at office, immersed in work, with my headphones on. 'Solla solla' starts playing. The bassline kicks in. Automatically, even before I can realize, I swear, and it's so loud that it draws stares from the adjacent cubes. NSFW! :oops:

21st June 2012, 07:52 AM
All known songs but when heard in some random mixed order, it creates an exciting effect which could not be described!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0_rMvHkYws

Divine22
23rd June 2012, 04:20 PM
Jolly, cheerful song, ~Nanthavanatil vantha raasakumari~ :cheer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?gl=US&v=PIddCTIZ2us

25th June 2012, 03:27 PM
Holy shitake, just revisited. What fantastic combination of John Barry-esque brassy orchestration and funk....arrrr....you don't get this kinda stuff anymore....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1yiVrSO2G8

25th June 2012, 03:28 PM
Hearing on loop: vandhAL vandhAL rAjakumAri http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR2497%27&lang=en

How simple, how lovely.
The grandeur, without a lot of drama - oru mAdhiri subdued tone-um irukku, in-the-presence-of something larger-than-life 'nRa mAdhiriyum.

Brilliant!

San_K
25th June 2012, 03:53 PM
^^ one of few songs where raja used same music for both first & second (or all) interludes

expecting some Mano bashers on the scene :lol:

AravindMano
25th June 2012, 04:55 PM
Has P_R been given a card yet?

Sureshs65
25th June 2012, 06:23 PM
AM,

Going by what he tweets, I think he is the one who has to give us the cards :lol:

25th June 2012, 06:55 PM
yaar naanu? :lol2:

AAK Indran: sindhu bhairavi raagathE sivaranjani raagathOda mix paNNi, ataanaa raagathE avarOhaNathula pudichi thodaila aadhi thaaLam pOtta kidaikkiRa raagam kalyANiyA, kAmbOdhiyA? karakarapriyAvA, shanmugapriyAvA...illai SriPriyAvA?

SriRamachandramoorthy: unakku niRaiya vishayangaL therinjirukkuppA

25th June 2012, 07:26 PM
'jAnE dO nA' (aka jotheyalli aka vizhiyilE maNi vizhiyil mouna mozhi pEsum annam) on loop :-)

What a lovely prelude!

seekkiram NEPV release paNNungappA, want to hear such new arrangements from rAsA!

Gregorysab
25th June 2012, 07:39 PM
'jAnE dO nA' (aka jotheyalli aka vizhiyilE maNi vizhiyil mouna mozhi pEsum annam) on loop :-)

What a lovely prelude!

seekkiram NEPV release paNNungappA, want to hear such new arrangements from rAsA!

Completely agree! Thats a beautiful piece!

kiru
25th June 2012, 10:07 PM
Hearing on loop: vandhAL vandhAL rAjakumAri http://thiraipaadal.com/tpplayer.asp?sngs=%27SNGIRR2497%27&lang=en

How simple, how lovely.
The grandeur, without a lot of drama - oru mAdhiri subdued tone-um irukku, in-the-presence-of something larger-than-life 'nRa mAdhiriyum.

Brilliant!

I suspect KarthikRaja arranged this.

Sureshs65
26th June 2012, 01:27 AM
If someone says that Raja in the 2000s lost it and you beat that guy up, then you can use this song to argue for justifiable homicide

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ox0gJGCasZc

baroque
26th June 2012, 01:47 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jj04zZyBue0&amp;feature=fvsr

Ilayaraja & Vairamuthu & SPB:smokesmirk:

Devaraagam
26th June 2012, 01:51 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jj04zZyBue0&feature=fvsr

Ilayaraja & Vairamuthu & SPB:smokesmirk:

When we are expecting the album of NEP. Wy are you teasing us by quoting this song?

baroque
26th June 2012, 04:22 AM
From the other thread...
my post!

I hope IR of 2012 will give couple of compositions in NEPV for me to revere or go awe like Ninaivellam Nithya or Agni natchathiram!:musicsmile:

when I admire needhane pon vasantham...NN,
I admire Kavingar Vairamuthu and Bala equally and thank them for being there for IR!:ty:

I am a content fan, IR!

where did I tease you?

It's my wish to IR to give me at least couple of songs like this for me to cherish rest of my life!

If he gives, I am a content fan, IR! that's what I have posted.

Everything about that composition including Vairamuthu's varigal and Bala's singing, I adore, so I am grateful to them.

(If team of NEPV gives couple of songs for me to cherish), I am content fan raja. that's all.

ever since I read somewhere, singer Karthik works at NEVP & all those live mega orchestration etc.. I longingly ukkandhu erukken, super aa onnu rendu kedaikkumnnu!:-D

baroque
26th June 2012, 04:33 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52lDnAYzCUk

EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS SONG SINGING, BGM,LYRICS,SITUATION, I LOVE!

V_S
26th June 2012, 05:43 AM
Holy shitake, just revisited. What fantastic combination of John Barry-esque brassy orchestration and funk....arrrr....you don't get this kinda stuff anymore....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1yiVrSO2G8
Superb pick grouch! :clap: For that brisk arrangements, the melody is a little sober one, especially the start after that racy prelude. That's the unpredictability! Crazy and freaky interludes with phasers, horns, bass guitar, acoustic drums. The rock guitar with trumpet during the first interlude is top notch! Sound of guitar in second interlude is never heard before. P Susheela's voice and singing is icing on the cake. Ultimate experience! Thanks grouch!

Gregorysab
26th June 2012, 12:36 PM
Listening to Ponveyilile from Oru Yaatra Mozhi. A stunning composition. Raaja achieved a fine balance between acoustic instruments and electronic stuff, more in Malayalam films I think, compared to Tamil films (in the 1997-2004) period. Even the melodies were better in Malayalam. There were exceptions in Tamil, but the Malayalam films in the period are a class of their own (compare the synth in this song with the synth in aalaapani seiyum song or even the hariharan song in nilave mugam kaattu - This malayalam song shows more of intrinsic character of raaja's school of thought). The way the strings section breezes through the charanams in this song - classy! The harmonies used by Raaja in this song are so different from the tamil songs he dished out in that period. The pace of the song and its melodic quality - beauty! Raaja :2thumbsup:

San_K
26th June 2012, 12:52 PM
Nee Thoongum Nerathil - 2003 Ilaiyaraja

http://www.raaga.com/channels/tamil/moviedetail.asp?mid=t0000475

What a song, wonderful feel it gives. One of the best Hariharan songs ever. This and Iniya Naal are delightful compositions. Another song, Ilaiya nathi, was also a hit. Ofcourse I like all the songs. Album was hit despite the movie bombed at BO.

San_K
26th June 2012, 12:56 PM
Forget to add in above post

Sadhana Sargam listened 20 (less or more) times this song after it was composed since she bowled over by this scientilatting composition. Another favourite of mine is Jodikkili

Currently listening the superb 1000 crore sun song. IR + HH combo songs are just brilliant

Sureshs65
26th June 2012, 01:04 PM
San_K,

The 1000 crore sun song is super but the best song in that album, 'sky seeing land' by Raja.

26th June 2012, 01:18 PM
V_S :thumbsup: Very impressed with Susila, not her usual style.

kiru
26th June 2012, 10:54 PM
Listening to Ponveyilile from Oru Yaatra Mozhi. A stunning composition. Raaja achieved a fine balance between acoustic instruments and electronic stuff, more in Malayalam films I think, compared to Tamil films (in the 1997-2004) period. Even the melodies were better in Malayalam. There were exceptions in Tamil, but the Malayalam films in the period are a class of their own (compare the synth in this song with the synth in aalaapani seiyum song or even the hariharan song in nilave mugam kaattu - This malayalam song shows more of intrinsic character of raaja's school of thought). The way the strings section breezes through the charanams in this song - classy! The harmonies used by Raaja in this song are so different from the tamil songs he dished out in that period. The pace of the song and its melodic quality - beauty! Raaja :2thumbsup:

Absolutely.. agree with you.. This song is something that you can dissolve your soul into..

kiru
26th June 2012, 10:55 PM
San_K,

The 1000 crore sun song is super but the best song in that album, 'sky seeing land' by Raja.

Is there a mp3 or wav rip somebody can share with me ? :-)

baroque
26th June 2012, 11:31 PM
sober mood of AVAL APPADITHTHAN - ILAYARAJA'S compositions, I couldn't snap out, Rasa!

panneer pushpangaley.....maund...kamal hasan sings for minimalistic ilayaraja, gangai amaran varigal, my cd says:musicsmile:!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pKs59QhGwXE

baroque
26th June 2012, 11:50 PM
Raja :musicsmile:

MOUNAME NENJIL NAALUM.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ke-ByL3s_hI

tvsankar
26th June 2012, 11:56 PM
kiru,
idhu dhan enaku kedachadhu... mp3 version kedaikalai.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-dOI5nkO3U

27th June 2012, 12:55 AM
'engE irundhAy isaiyE' (I think the movie's name is ajanthA) - duet KJY & some female singer whose voice cannot be identified :oops:

Once upon a time I copied this into a CD (based on hub reco ofcourse) but never before could get past the initial portion :oops: 'eppadi irundha KJY ippadi AyittArE' painful feeling prohibited me from listening to the song in full in my earlier attempts, hand reaching out to the skip button invariably.

Like the lazy manner in which one day I allowed 'bus Ek tamannA hai', today I let this song continue and was stunned by the 'smooth-jazzy' second interlude!

Once again up-ping expectations for NEPV :wink:

baroque
27th June 2012, 02:09 AM
singer Manjari sings with Yesudas, App_eng.

Remember ponmudipuzhaiyarathu, Vinodhayathra.. malayalam albums.

She is the one singing oru chiri kandal..... and kaiyetha kombatho

27th June 2012, 02:13 AM
singer Manjari sings with Yesudas, App_eng.

Remember ponmudipuzhaiyarathu, Vinodhayathra.. malayalam albums.

She is the one singing oru chiri kandal..... and kaiyetha kombatho

O, chEchchiyA :oops:

I had 'kaiyeththA kombaththu' too on the same CD and played during the same "lazy lunch drive" :oops:

(BTW, "chEchchi" is used for any married lady, not necessarily elder sis)

baroque
27th June 2012, 02:16 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVRQ6fxQMqc

App_eng,

she sings with Karthik in kasturimaan

I got only cassettes of ponmudipuzhaiyaradhu and achuvente amma.

Gregorysab
27th June 2012, 10:23 AM
My current playlist is actually a compilation of my favourite songs of Raaja in the last 10 years. I compiled this mp3 cd with songs in the 2002-2012 period. Ofcourse I could not put all albums/songs but selected the best of each album. Compiling this cd was a difficult task because of the 700MB limit on mp3 cd :-) I had to ignore some of the songs despite liking them equally as few others. But nevertheless, it is a good compilation. enjoyable!

kiru
27th June 2012, 10:24 AM
kiru,
idhu dhan enaku kedachadhu... mp3 version kedaikalai.

Thanks Usha